We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Day in the Black Hills”
Review of GeoFunTrek Tours

GeoFunTrek Tours
Ranked #1 of 2 Tours in Keystone
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: For those seeking a high-quality, day-long guided tour in the Black Hills and Badlands of South Dakota with exceptional guides - GeoFunTrek Tours is the answer! Specializing in Custom Tours, Private Tours and Traditional Family Tours, we bring the region to life in ways that are fun and memorable. We will work with you to design and deliver your personalized "Dream Tour". We use a rich mixture of local knowledge, history, geology, paleontology, poetry & folklore to take you places that few experience. Our tours are unique, intimate, and emotionally satisfying. We have the knowledge and experience to craft truly exceptional tours that you will enjoy and remember for years to come. Join us in the comfort and safety of a Sprinter van or Honda Pilot SUV for a day to remember.
Reviewed 27 July 2014

The 'Heart in the Black Hills' tour was the highlight of my trip to South Dakota. It was an all-day tour where we visited Mount Rushmore, Crazy Horse Memorial and Custer State Park. John conveyed a great deal of knowledge on the geology, wildlife, history and Native American culture of the area. I'll definitely contact GeoFunTrek the next time I return to the Black Hills or Badlands of South Dakota.

2  Thank Don E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeoFunTrek, Owner at GeoFunTrek Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Don,

It was wonderful to spend a day in a geologically-diverse area like the Black Hills with someone who understands the forces and processes that shaped this magnificent area. Keep in touch and hopefully some day we can go to the Badlands.

Thank you,

John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (126)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

95 - 99 of 126 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2014

John and Cynthia provide an excellent experience in the Dakotas. Their engaging personalities make the whole experience worthwhile, and their expertise concerning the state and national parks cannot be matched.

From the moment they pick you up to the moment they drop you off, the pace, sights, and stops are all up to you - I feel their itinerary is unmatched and I suggest you sit back and relax in their capable hands. Under their guidance, you choose how you best want to view the parks and sights. No question I asked was unanswered; the insight and obvious enthusiasm for their world of the Dakotas is remarkable and welcomed.

This friendly, knowledgeable, and accommodating couple can make your visit a wonderful experience.

Thank JohnKMiamiLakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeoFunTrek, Owner at GeoFunTrek Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

John,

I must admit, it was quite a wonderful day in the Badlands! Rarely have so many different animals make their appearance right on cue. The badger was most gracious to make his/her appearance and stalk the prairie dogs for our enjoyment. Keep up your style of travel that yields such great experiences.

John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

My husband and I took our almost 13-year-old granddaughter on a weeklong trip to the Black Hills of South Dakota. Touring the Badlands with John Esposti of GeoFun Trek was a great recommendation from the staff at Black Hills Vacations. John is a geologist and great teacher and successful in communicating at many levels. A unique touch is his recitation of poetry sprinkled about during the longer stretches of driving! There was one other couple in the van - a comfortable number of people in total. We stopped at Wall Drug in Wall, SD for lunch - You have to see it to believe it.

Thank KR S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeoFunTrek, Owner at GeoFunTrek Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Thanks for the wonderful review. It was a pleasure to spend time in the badlands with you and your granddaughter.

John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

John Esposti is a veritable fount of knowledge; geology, history, culture, anthropology, paleontology, and poetry (!), all of which he freely dispenses and shares in the most friendly, interesting way. He knows this area like the back of his hand and he goes out of his way to make the tour just what you want. Although his background is technical, he explains what you are seeing in plain language that makes these ancient formations speak to you. His communication is superb to all levels of his guests regardless of age. Just a fabulous experience.

Thank BernieDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeoFunTrek, Owner at GeoFunTrek Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

It never ceases to amaze me how much the Badlands affect visitors (and myself) in so many amazing ways. Thank you for sharing your experience with me and other guests. Come back and see us again some time and we will visit more amazing places in this great land of ours.

Take care and travel safely,

John Esposti

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Our tour into the Badlands of S D with John was called "Sunbeams and Moonbeams". It was the highlight of our entire trip to the Mt Rushmore area! He had so much knowledge to share about this amazing location. He knew where to take us for sights that were breathtaking. We were able to hike into the Badlands as well, and view the stars, planets, and satellites in the dark! We saw wildlife everywhere. The most spectacular part was watching the sun go down in the Badlands knowing how lucky we were to witness this amazing moment! It's something most people will never see. Go to the Badlands with GeoFunTrek!

2  Thank E W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeoFunTrek, Owner at GeoFunTrek Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Dear E W Family,

It was a treat for me to get back to the Badlands and see so many wonderful features. The real treat was the night sky. Mother Nature never fails to deliver, in one way or another. Good luck with all your future ventures and trips.

Travel safely,

John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed GeoFunTrek Tours also viewed

 

Been to GeoFunTrek Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing