We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE way to do experience the Black Hills”
Review of GeoFunTrek Tours

GeoFunTrek Tours
Ranked #1 of 2 Tours in Keystone
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: For those seeking a high-quality, day-long guided tour in the Black Hills and Badlands of South Dakota with exceptional guides - GeoFunTrek Tours is the answer! Specializing in Custom Tours, Private Tours and Traditional Family Tours, we bring the region to life in ways that are fun and memorable. We will work with you to design and deliver your personalized "Dream Tour". We use a rich mixture of local knowledge, history, geology, paleontology, poetry & folklore to take you places that few experience. Our tours are unique, intimate, and emotionally satisfying. We have the knowledge and experience to craft truly exceptional tours that you will enjoy and remember for years to come. Join us in the comfort and safety of a Sprinter van or Honda Pilot SUV for a day to remember.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“THE way to do experience the Black Hills”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We spent the day with John touring the sites of the Black Hills and it was a fantastic experience. None of us (family of 4 - 2 girls (6 &9)) had been to the area before and John helped me determine what we could see on our day together and it worked great. He was easy to communicate both before and during our tour. John is a wealth of information -- I got a kick out of watching other tourists at Mt. Rushmore begin gather around us to listen in to his descriptions. He knew the ins and outs of the area. For example, we wanted to see buffalo in Custer State Park but John had called ahead and knew that they were not visible from the road that day so he took us to another spot for us to see them. We got so much more out of our trip to the sites (Mount Rushmore, Crazy Horse, Needles Highway, Keystone) than we would have on our own and would highly recommend including Geofun Trek in your travel plans.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank JKN_ATL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeoFunTrek, Owner at GeoFunTrek Tours, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Jennie,

It was a pleasure to share this region with you and your family. Finding the bison can be a challenge, but there are many ways to find them. It never ceases to amaze and satisfy me when a day unfolds and it all works out in the end. Take care with your future travels and we hope to see you again some day.

John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    0
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Des Moines, Iowa
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Day in the Black Hills”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

The 'Heart in the Black Hills' tour was the highlight of my trip to South Dakota. It was an all-day tour where we visited Mount Rushmore, Crazy Horse Memorial and Custer State Park. John conveyed a great deal of knowledge on the geology, wildlife, history and Native American culture of the area. I'll definitely contact GeoFunTrek the next time I return to the Black Hills or Badlands of South Dakota.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Don E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeoFunTrek, Owner at GeoFunTrek Tours, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Don,

It was wonderful to spend a day in a geologically-diverse area like the Black Hills with someone who understands the forces and processes that shaped this magnificent area. Keep in touch and hopefully some day we can go to the Badlands.

Thank you,

John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Lakes
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
81 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Expertise coupled with interpersonal relations”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

John and Cynthia provide an excellent experience in the Dakotas. Their engaging personalities make the whole experience worthwhile, and their expertise concerning the state and national parks cannot be matched.

From the moment they pick you up to the moment they drop you off, the pace, sights, and stops are all up to you - I feel their itinerary is unmatched and I suggest you sit back and relax in their capable hands. Under their guidance, you choose how you best want to view the parks and sights. No question I asked was unanswered; the insight and obvious enthusiasm for their world of the Dakotas is remarkable and welcomed.

This friendly, knowledgeable, and accommodating couple can make your visit a wonderful experience.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank JohnKMiamiLakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeoFunTrek, Owner at GeoFunTrek Tours, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
John,

I must admit, it was quite a wonderful day in the Badlands! Rarely have so many different animals make their appearance right on cue. The badger was most gracious to make his/her appearance and stalk the prairie dogs for our enjoyment. Keep up your style of travel that yields such great experiences.

John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great delivery style enhances tour of Badlands”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

My husband and I took our almost 13-year-old granddaughter on a weeklong trip to the Black Hills of South Dakota. Touring the Badlands with John Esposti of GeoFun Trek was a great recommendation from the staff at Black Hills Vacations. John is a geologist and great teacher and successful in communicating at many levels. A unique touch is his recitation of poetry sprinkled about during the longer stretches of driving! There was one other couple in the van - a comfortable number of people in total. We stopped at Wall Drug in Wall, SD for lunch - You have to see it to believe it.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank KR S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeoFunTrek, Owner at GeoFunTrek Tours, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thanks for the wonderful review. It was a pleasure to spend time in the badlands with you and your granddaughter.

John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
251 reviews
75 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“A great trip into the badlands”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

John Esposti is a veritable fount of knowledge; geology, history, culture, anthropology, paleontology, and poetry (!), all of which he freely dispenses and shares in the most friendly, interesting way. He knows this area like the back of his hand and he goes out of his way to make the tour just what you want. Although his background is technical, he explains what you are seeing in plain language that makes these ancient formations speak to you. His communication is superb to all levels of his guests regardless of age. Just a fabulous experience.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank BernieDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeoFunTrek, Owner at GeoFunTrek Tours, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
It never ceases to amaze me how much the Badlands affect visitors (and myself) in so many amazing ways. Thank you for sharing your experience with me and other guests. Come back and see us again some time and we will visit more amazing places in this great land of ours.

Take care and travel safely,

John Esposti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed GeoFunTrek Tours also viewed

 

Been to GeoFunTrek Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing