We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Hospitality” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Battle Creek Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Keystone
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Battle Creek Lodge
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Keystone
Certificate of Excellence
East Brunswick, New Jersey
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hospitality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

After a long flight and drive, we were thrilled to get to the lodge. We were greeted warmly by Cine. Our room was nice and clean. It was certainly roomy enough for the two of us. The bed was extremely comfortable. Breakfasts were delicious!
What makes Battle Creek Lodge special is the hospitality. Cine knows the area and was ready for us out of towners with helpful hints, dinner suggestions and making us feel welcome. My husband and I loved its' proximity to town, but on a quieter street.
My husband and I hope to revisit the Black Hills and I would not hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: Our room was on the side of the lodge and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank suzzziecue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    185
    41
    13
    5
    8
See reviews for
88
101
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

From the moment we arrived to the moment we left we were treated to the best hospitality we have encountered on our many years of travelling. Cine & Tammi, thank you for making us feel like friends from the moment we arrived. The rooms are super clean, & the breakfast feast that Tammi creates is awesome. Cine recommended places to eat & both were fantastic, thank you ; )
The decking area is unique & is a great place to chill out & meet your fellow guests, loving the fire pit. We arrived as travellers and left as friends, meeting our fellow guests over a glass of wine, by the fire pit, was quite simply fantastic, we met our Swiss friends again in Yellowstone, and agreed that Yellowstone was beautiful but we prefer Battle Creek Lodge.
we both wish you all success in the future you really deserve it!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wrensnestred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
63 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013 via mobile

Came up to the Black Hills for a long weekend trip with my two boys. First - Keystone is the perfect place to stay for such a trip. It's a small town 10-45 minutes to everything: Custer State Park, Black Hills, Mt Rushmore, caves, Sturgis, and so on. Although a little touristy, the town has a nice, small town feel vs the generic feeling I saw in Rapid City or empty feeling of Custer.

The property is nicely run by ownership that lives on site. It's great to see property owners who genuinely care about providing their customers the best possible experience while also providing a great value. Rooms were clean, simple and comfortable. Breakfast always had something homemade and is a nice change from the generic breakfast you get at chains. Walking distance to town. Everyone was helpful in helping plan out activities and find restaurants to eat. This atmosphere carries on to the guests that choose to stay here -- everybody had a wonderful, positive attitude and it truly made our stay special. Is this the fanciest property in the world -- no. But it is a great, family run property that truly cares about taking care of its customers. Thanks for a great vacation.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zmoba96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leavenworth, Kansas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

We made our first trip to the Black Hills and Sturgis on our motorcycle this past week and it was a blast!! The friends we were traveling with had stayed with Tammy and Cine on many occasions and really had talked them up and for good reason. They are two of the nicest folks you'll meet and their warm and inviting lodge was a perfect place to stay for the week. Keystone is a great place to stay as it's central to all of the Black Hills/scenic rides and the inn was a relaxing and enjoyable place to come back to every night. We especially enjoyed relaxing around the firepit at night. Rooms are good size and the beds were very comfortable. We've already got our reservations in for next year!

Thanks for a great stay,

Tracy and Lu
Leavenworth, KS

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Milwaukee, Wisconsin
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

My husband and I spent 4 nights at Battle Creek Lodge a couple of weeks ago. Checking in was a pleasant surprise. Felt like being greeted by a family member . Tammy and Cine the owners are a delight.
Each morning a home made breakfast greeted us. Miss the cinnamon rolls and biscuits and sausage gravy. Any questions where answered by directions and places to stop and see.
After a day of sight seeing and returning to the lodge were always greeted with how was your day and what did you see and do. The room was perfect. Good mattress and pillows. Clean and great water pressure in the shower. Each evening after calling it a day , was never woken by outside noise.
One morning having discovered I had left my socks at home , I went down to the desk and asked where I could get some, Cine went into the apartment and came out with a pair of new socks for me to where . Would return to the lodge in a heat beat. Forgot to mention Nancy and Marla, they do the cleaning of the rooms , they are from Mexico and we had dinner one night with them in downtown keystone, think we laughed and talked thru the whole dinner. Would have rated excellent but they didn't have a pool.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KathyHinckle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, VT
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

We booked a room at Battle Creek Lodge based on other Trip Advisor reviews, and it was just as described. A great value and such a pleasant, personal experience. We rolled in late and exhausted. Taped to the front desk door was an envelope for us with a key to our room and a long hand-written note welcoming us, letting us know when breakfast would be serve, etc. etc. We couldn't believe it! Tammy and Cine are just the best. By all means....stay here!

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank KRW1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
124 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

I booked this hotel based on its high reviews on Trip Advsior. It lived up to everything their website claimed. It was very cosy and rustic. The rooms were a little small, but that was not a major issue. It is not on the main strip in Keystone, but right off of it. Great location, just a short walking distance from downtown and its activities. The ladies who own the place are very nice and welcoming. Offered suggestions for dining. The breakfast the next morning was continental, but she cooked a hot item for us. I wish we could have stayed another night. There was a firepit and furniture for sitting outside. The place was very clean for a hotel. Highly reccommend. Especially if you like the bed and breakfast feel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keystone
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Keystone
0.5 mi away
Roosevelt Inn
Roosevelt Inn
#5 of 14 in Keystone
3.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Lodge at Mount Rushmore
0.2 mi away
Mt. Rushmore's White House Resort
5.9 mi away
Mountain View Lodge & Cabins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Battle Creek Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Battle Creek Lodge

Property: Battle Creek Lodge
Address: 404 Reed Street, Keystone, SD 57751
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Keystone
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Keystone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Battle Creek Lodge is a quaint Lodge located just minutes away from Mt Rushmore, in the beautiful and Historic Keystone South Dakota. Just blocks away from the Keystone "strip"' Battle Creek provides you the benefit of being within walking distance to all of the local attractions, restaurants, and bars- without the noise and chaos to keep you awake at night. A gas fire pit to enjoy on the cool evenings and a Breakfast that will jump start your vacation though the hills are just a few of the things Battle Creek has to offer. Owned and operated by locals, you are sure to get an insiders guide on what to see and do during your stay, by people who REALLY care about your vacation and are committed to making your time in the Black Hills enjoyable and memorable. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Battle Creek Hotel Keystone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing