We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cine erriffic”
Review of Battle Creek Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Keystone
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Battle Creek Lodge
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Keystone
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 September 2013

The lodge is run buy two wonderful, friendly and down right nice women, Tammy and Cine. The days we stayed Tammy was otherwise occupied so we had the pleasure of dealing with Cine each morning. A more pleasant person you're never going to meet. Cine is local so she knows all the ins and outs of the area. The beds are comfortable and rooms quiet and clean. A good day starts with a good breakfast, and all our days were good. The Battle Creek Lodge helped us start each day fresh and renewed. Without a doubt I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tazntom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (296)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

177 - 183 of 296 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2013

We had a fantastic two night stay here during our road trip around the U.S. The room was very comfortable, the breakfasts were delicious and the hosts were very friendly and very helpful. I would have no hesitation in recommending Battle Creek Lodge and I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Keith G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TammyInKeystone, Manager at Battle Creek Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2013

Hello Keith ~

Thank you for taking time to post your review! We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us as much as we enjoyed having you. We hope you had a great time with the rest of your time in the United States and thank you again for your review and your business. We hope you will return one day and stop in to see us when you do~

Until then, we wish you safe travels!
Tammy & Cine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We can't say enough about Cin &Tammy, they have made such an effort to make your stay,comfortable. We arrived very tired and late after a long drive from Denver. Cin was in the office getting ready to close up. She welcomed us, told us to take our keys and settle in for the night,she would get payment info later! We stayed 4 nights, very clean,quiet, comfortable, a different breakfast each day. Cinnamon rolls were the best! Would definitely recommend this hotel. It is also only 2 and half miles Mt Rushmore,

Room Tip: Room on the. Side was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dunbar28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TammyInKeystone, Manager at Battle Creek Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2013

Thank you dunbar28 ~

We always love it when our guests have the opportunity to spend a few days with us and in the Black Hills! It is nice to get the chance to know them a little better.
We are glad you enjoyed your time with us ~ and that you liked the breakfasts. The Cinnamon Rolls are a modified recipe that started with Tammy's Great Grandmother -- she STILL won't share the "secret" to the recipe!
Again, we thank you for taking time to post your review and for supporting our business. It means more than you know.....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

We loved our 2-day stay here. Excellent value, location and hospitality. With so many chain hotels everywhere, especially in touristy South Dakota, it was great to find a family place doing everything right. I will have family back here for another stay in about 3 weeks. Well worth it all around, a nice place in every regard.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DS_Stockdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

After a long flight and drive, we were thrilled to get to the lodge. We were greeted warmly by Cine. Our room was nice and clean. It was certainly roomy enough for the two of us. The bed was extremely comfortable. Breakfasts were delicious!
What makes Battle Creek Lodge special is the hospitality. Cine knows the area and was ready for us out of towners with helpful hints, dinner suggestions and making us feel welcome. My husband and I loved its' proximity to town, but on a quieter street.
My husband and I hope to revisit the Black Hills and I would not hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: Our room was on the side of the lodge and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suzzziecue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

From the moment we arrived to the moment we left we were treated to the best hospitality we have encountered on our many years of travelling. Cine & Tammi, thank you for making us feel like friends from the moment we arrived. The rooms are super clean, & the breakfast feast that Tammi creates is awesome. Cine recommended places to eat & both were fantastic, thank you ; )
The decking area is unique & is a great place to chill out & meet your fellow guests, loving the fire pit. We arrived as travellers and left as friends, meeting our fellow guests over a glass of wine, by the fire pit, was quite simply fantastic, we met our Swiss friends again in Yellowstone, and agreed that Yellowstone was beautiful but we prefer Battle Creek Lodge.
we both wish you all success in the future you really deserve it!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wrensnestred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013 via mobile

Came up to the Black Hills for a long weekend trip with my two boys. First - Keystone is the perfect place to stay for such a trip. It's a small town 10-45 minutes to everything: Custer State Park, Black Hills, Mt Rushmore, caves, Sturgis, and so on. Although a little touristy, the town has a nice, small town feel vs the generic feeling I saw in Rapid City or empty feeling of Custer.

The property is nicely run by ownership that lives on site. It's great to see property owners who genuinely care about providing their customers the best possible experience while also providing a great value. Rooms were clean, simple and comfortable. Breakfast always had something homemade and is a nice change from the generic breakfast you get at chains. Walking distance to town. Everyone was helpful in helping plan out activities and find restaurants to eat. This atmosphere carries on to the guests that choose to stay here -- everybody had a wonderful, positive attitude and it truly made our stay special. Is this the fanciest property in the world -- no. But it is a great, family run property that truly cares about taking care of its customers. Thanks for a great vacation.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zmoba96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keystone
0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Mt Rushmore / Keystone
0.4 mi away
Roosevelt Inn
Roosevelt Inn
#5 of 13 in Keystone
71 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 13 in Keystone
15 reviews
5.8 mi away
Mount Rushmore Resort & Lodge
0.2 mi away
Ramada Keystone Near Mt Rushmore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Battle Creek Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Battle Creek Lodge

Address: 404 Reed St, Keystone, SD 57751-4101
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Keystone
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Keystone
Price Range: £64 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Battle Creek Lodge is a quaint Lodge located just minutes away from Mt Rushmore, in the beautiful and Historic Keystone South Dakota. Just blocks away from the Keystone "strip"' Battle Creek provides you the benefit of being within walking distance to all of the local attractions, restaurants, and bars- without the noise and chaos to keep you awake at night. A gas fire pit to enjoy on the cool evenings and a Breakfast that will jump start your vacation though the hills are just a few of the things Battle Creek has to offer. Owned and operated by locals, you are sure to get an insiders guide on what to see and do during your stay, by people who REALLY care about your vacation and are committed to making your time in the Black Hills enjoyable and memorable. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Battle Creek Hotel Keystone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing