We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Pleasant”
Review of Battle Creek Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Keystone
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Battle Creek Lodge
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Keystone
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Very accommodating to guests. Fire pit that we sat around in the evening and enjoyed getting to know new friends. Good breakfast. Very convenient to Mt. Rushmore. Plenty of restaurants within walking distance. We came to relax and get away from stress and this was the place.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fred F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (297)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

172 - 178 of 297 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2013

We have known Tammy for a few years and were well aware of her capabilities and niceness shall we say. She and Cine did an outstanding job in taking care of our needs. They had us booked upstairs but we were afraid that the mother in law couldn't handle that so they were more than accommodating in moving us to the first floor - with a nice table and chairs outside to enjoy our wine and chat. Breakfast were home made and delicious and different. We were only there the one night as we were on our way to the Brule' concert in Hill City. But we enjoyed our walk to the main street. The street parking and the ability to walk every where is a selling point. Got a look at the new place they bought to.. Can't wait to stay there on the creek with hopefully my family from Texas. Oh so many decisions. What shall we do? We will be back for the great service and hospitality.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PattyHoover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

This is a small lodge with about 9 rooms. The location was just around the corner from the boardwalk so it was close enough to walk, but far away enough to be a quiet retreat. Parking was on the street, but we never had trouble getting a spot. The breakfast was always good and the coffee was amazing. My husband and I took advantage of the fire pit on the balcony the first night we were there and roasted marshmallows. Cine and Tammy are wonderful hostesses, making us feel like family. I also liked how we had the opportunity to chat with some of our fellow travelers over breakfast and such. This lodge has a B and B sort of feel to it. We found ourselves going out and bringing our dinner back to the lodge every night to eat outside on the balcony. Overall, nothing fancy, but the people you'll meet at this place is what makes it special.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Weebs628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Don't expect anything fancy but a warm welcome, comfortable rooms and nice people in a great location. We had a double room upstairs which while compact was fine for our 4 days stay. Tammy is a welcoming host and even cooked a different hot breakfast on a couple of days when we didn't want the offered special. Parking is easy and the location we found very quiet and convenient to all the Keystones attractions. Breakfast was nicely casual taken downstairs with plenty of choice and gave an opportunity to chat with other guests. The outdoor seating areas are really nice to relax and have a beer. Overall a super change from the chain hotels .

Room Tip: speak to Tammy on the phone to ensure you get what you want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hippo432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

This Inn is exceptional in every way. Very clean, maintained better than the chain hotels and the breakfast is awesome. They offer Organic breads and fruits. Scrambled eggs, fresh sliced peaches and sweet rolls. There is cold cereal for the kids. The coffee is great and a nice selection of Tea. Parking is on the street, but not a problem. I would recommend this Inn again. Cine is a great host.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bam694
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

The lodge is run buy two wonderful, friendly and down right nice women, Tammy and Cine. The days we stayed Tammy was otherwise occupied so we had the pleasure of dealing with Cine each morning. A more pleasant person you're never going to meet. Cine is local so she knows all the ins and outs of the area. The beds are comfortable and rooms quiet and clean. A good day starts with a good breakfast, and all our days were good. The Battle Creek Lodge helped us start each day fresh and renewed. Without a doubt I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tazntom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We had a fantastic two night stay here during our road trip around the U.S. The room was very comfortable, the breakfasts were delicious and the hosts were very friendly and very helpful. I would have no hesitation in recommending Battle Creek Lodge and I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Keith G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TammyInKeystone, Manager at Battle Creek Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2013

Hello Keith ~

Thank you for taking time to post your review! We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us as much as we enjoyed having you. We hope you had a great time with the rest of your time in the United States and thank you again for your review and your business. We hope you will return one day and stop in to see us when you do~

Until then, we wish you safe travels!
Tammy & Cine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keystone
0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Mt Rushmore / Keystone
0.5 mi away
Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites
0.4 mi away
Roosevelt Inn
Roosevelt Inn
#5 of 13 in Keystone
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ramada Keystone Near Mt Rushmore
5.8 mi away
Mount Rushmore Lodge at Palmer Gulch
0.7 mi away
K Bar S Lodge
K Bar S Lodge
#1 of 13 in Keystone
961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Battle Creek Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Battle Creek Lodge

Address: 404 Reed St, Keystone, SD 57751-4101
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Keystone
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Keystone
Price Range: £67 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Battle Creek Lodge is a quaint Lodge located just minutes away from Mt Rushmore, in the beautiful and Historic Keystone South Dakota. Just blocks away from the Keystone "strip"' Battle Creek provides you the benefit of being within walking distance to all of the local attractions, restaurants, and bars- without the noise and chaos to keep you awake at night. A gas fire pit to enjoy on the cool evenings and a Breakfast that will jump start your vacation though the hills are just a few of the things Battle Creek has to offer. Owned and operated by locals, you are sure to get an insiders guide on what to see and do during your stay, by people who REALLY care about your vacation and are committed to making your time in the Black Hills enjoyable and memorable. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Battle Creek Hotel Keystone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing