We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A hidden gem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Battle Creek Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Keystone
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Battle Creek Lodge
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Keystone
Certificate of Excellence
West Bend, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
139 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

We have been to Keystone several times before but never paid much attention to this hotel. We were very happy to find a great hotel. Our first score was the price. We hit Keystone during primetime summer and out usual hotels were approaching $200 per night. By chance we found this hotel and got rooms for $109 per night. The hotel is run by the owners who are very attentive to and interactive with the quests. When we arrived we found several hotel guests enjoying wine in the lobby and talking with the owner. Once checked in we found newly remodeled rooms that were exceptionally clean. The rooms are a little small but the whole experience more that made up for that. he beds were very comfortable. The hotel has a very good breakfast in the morning that is cooked by the owners. I even felt a little like I was back at home. This was a great experience and a hidden gem hiding in plain sight.

If you are looking for a chain hotel with all the amenities like a pool, fitness center, etc. this is not the place for you. If you are looking for a clean and very comfortable hotel in a great location then Battle Creek Lodge is perfect.

Room Tip: They all looked great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    185
    41
    13
    5
    8
See reviews for
88
101
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

I would like to recognize Tammy and Cine for making our 5 night stay a truly memorable experience. When our family left our clean and comfortable accommodations to return home, we all felt the outstanding service was as impressive as Mt. Rushmore itself. The complimentary deluxe continental breakfast was a great way to begin our days of exploration and sightseeing. Although the lodge has many amenities to enjoy with all the guest, my family would return after a busy day to retire to our rooms for some blissful sleep and relaxation. On a side note, the coffee in the lobby was great and available throughout the day. The Battle Creek Lodge motto, "May all who enter here as guest, depart as treasured friends", is truly a labor of love and one Tammy and Cine practice every day. We will stay with them again when we visit the Black Hills on future vacations.
Thank you for befriending our Wisconsin/Michigan/Minnesota family!

Room Tip: The Lodge is an easy walk to the Keystone "strip". The rooms are not handicap accessible...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramer, Tennessee
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

This place felt like we were staying with our favorite family members. Wonderful breakfast, clean room, easy parking right in front; I can't say enough about this wonderful family owned establishment. We actually felt like we saying goodbye to best friends when we left here. Not the biggest or newest but definitely the best as far as the "Tennessee Girls" were concerned. Thanks so much for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wanda Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonnybridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

My partner and I stayed at Battle Creek Lodge during our month-long road trip and it was definitely one of our favourite stops. We arrived without a reservation and were checked in by Tammy, who offered us a discount in line with a deal they had running online at the time. This was very kind! We were really impressed with the value. The room was very clean vith nice touches that made it feel quite homely. And that bed. Hands down the most comfortable bed I've ever slept in. In the morning, Euan slept in (it's difficult to leave the bed) and I went downstairs for breakfast. Hot and cold food was on offer and I ate my fill at the table with Cine (who's a really friendly lady) and another guest. We just loved how welcome we felt at this family-run lodge. Everything is relaxed and informal. It's lovely. When we return to the US, I do hope we'll be able to return to Battle Creek Lodge.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LittleTeapot88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

Tami and Cine were fabulous and so friendly. I had made reservations for four rooms for a small family reunion. Tami was able to accommodate us in her quaint facility. Cine helped with my cousins 7th birthday celebration. We even received a discount at the local coffee shop thanks to Cine. If we ever go back to Mount Rushmore we will be sure to stay with them again. Thanks so much!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sweetcheeks61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

Not the newest or the largest place to stay in Keystone but we think one of the best. Tammy and Cine were excellent hosts who take pride in providing you a clean, reasonably priced place to stay. The morning breakfast was very good and a great social time with the hosts and other hotel guests. We will stay there again when in the area.
JD & Jill

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JD W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

The Battle Creek Lodge, the owners and their staff far exceded any and all expectations my wife and I had about our choice for our Sturgis Rally trip. Great rooms and outstanding breakfasts to start each days ride. Not only are Tammy and Cine great people, so are their guests. Which by the end of our stay become more like family and friends. There is no doubt that the next time we travel to the Black Hills we will be staying at the Battle Creek Lodge! Thank you Tammy and Cine for allowing us to be part of your Keystone family.

Room Tip: Rooms in back are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keystone
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Keystone
0.5 mi away
Roosevelt Inn
Roosevelt Inn
#5 of 14 in Keystone
3.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Lodge at Mount Rushmore
0.2 mi away
Mt. Rushmore's White House Resort
5.9 mi away
Mountain View Lodge & Cabins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Battle Creek Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Battle Creek Lodge

Property: Battle Creek Lodge
Address: 404 Reed Street, Keystone, SD 57751
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Keystone
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Keystone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Battle Creek Lodge is a quaint Lodge located just minutes away from Mt Rushmore, in the beautiful and Historic Keystone South Dakota. Just blocks away from the Keystone "strip"' Battle Creek provides you the benefit of being within walking distance to all of the local attractions, restaurants, and bars- without the noise and chaos to keep you awake at night. A gas fire pit to enjoy on the cool evenings and a Breakfast that will jump start your vacation though the hills are just a few of the things Battle Creek has to offer. Owned and operated by locals, you are sure to get an insiders guide on what to see and do during your stay, by people who REALLY care about your vacation and are committed to making your time in the Black Hills enjoyable and memorable. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Battle Creek Hotel Keystone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing