We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst of Five”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Travelodge Mt. Rushmore/Keystone
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Keystone
Richmond, California, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worst of Five”
Reviewed 8 August 2013

We have stayed in 5 different motels this past week (all around the same stars/price) and this was the worst of them! Only one ice machine for the whole facility, old school square TV, bad furniture, lou AC and loud fan in bathroom, small room, continental breakfast wasn't great, staff not helpful or hard to understand, not many TV channels and bad TV reception, no movie rental option...worst thing was the internet WiFi barely worked (and there isnt good cell network here). They dont give you lotion or conditioner, etc, etc, etc...dont go here if you want amenities!

Every other place we stayed had all these things plus a pool and restaurant, friendly staff, etc.

The rooms were clean, it was relatively quiet considering its Sturgis bike week...totally fine for a cheap motel, but I wont stay here again. I really wanted to upload my photos from the day and download an audiobook for our road trip and I am SO frustrated that I can't!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    84
    95
    38
    36
See reviews for
136
101
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minnetonka, Minnesota
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

For the price we paid on the weekend before Sturgis, we were happy with our room. It was clean enough - although the bathroom smelled like mold. The shower head was a bit low for my taller (6'1" husband). Overall the hotel looks old and rundown, but they keep the rooms pretty nice. I did not see the pool, but from other reviewers it sounds like it was closed. The location is great for attractions in the area. The staff was very nice and friendly. I would definitely consider this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trace7000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kentfield, California
Level Contributor
161 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013 via mobile

This is your basic Travelodge but it is only 3 miles from Mt Rushmore and a mile from town. The staff is friendly and the rooms are clean. They serve a basic continental breakfast. There is a nice breakfast place next door

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cali
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

We had a great view of Mount Rushmore, and lit up at night. Great location in town, close to a good diner. Had a good breakfast, although not very much room. But because a lot of people stay there. Hotel was old, but clean. Comfortable beds, nice old town atmosphere. Minutes from Mount Rushmore, and not far from Crazy Horse. Also, if you have time, to to Rushmore Caves. Lots of interesting stuff to see.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daughterJudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keystone hotels
0.1 mi away
Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites
0.1 mi away
Roosevelt Inn
Roosevelt Inn
#5 of 14 in Keystone
3.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Keystone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Super 8 Keystone/Mt. Rushmore
0.3 mi away
Mt. Rushmore's White House Resort
0.2 mi away
Mt. Rushmore's Washington Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Mt. Rushmore/Keystone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Mt. Rushmore/Keystone

Property: Travelodge Mt. Rushmore/Keystone
Address: 522 Highway 16a, Keystone, SD 57751-6001
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Keystone
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Keystone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Mt. Rushmore/Keystone 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Cancelon and Agoda so you can book your Travelodge Mt. Rushmore/Keystone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Keystone Hotel Keystone
Travel Lodge Keystone
Keystone Travel Lodge
Keystone Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing