We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An absolute jewel”
Review of Buffalo Rock Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keystone
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Buffalo Rock Lodge
Ranked #2 of 4 Keystone B&B and Inns
Reviewed 29 June 2011

My wife and I stayed with Carl and Marilyn for two nights in June and were delighted. Finding this rural, but ideally located spot amidst the tackiness and clutter of Keystone, SD was a stroke of good fortune and good reviews. Absolutely charming and beautiful location and ambiance. The deck overlooks Mt Rushmore in the distance- but even better -overlooks the Black Hills and all their beauty; especially at night with the stars filling the night sky.
Even though her website indicated a three night minimum stay in June Marilyn was gracious enough to accommodate us for two nights. We also arrived early and Marilyn graciously welcomed us and made us comfortable. We felt as if we were staying in a private home- and in many ways we were- as Marilyn and Carl have filled their lodge with mementos of their life and family history.

Our room was huge and had a jacuzzi tub(which,unfortunately, we did not use-too busy)
, a desk for our laptop-easy internet accessibility- and ample lamps and chairs- Only suggestion would be to have one or two comfortable chairs in the room for reading and relaxing. However, the area just outside our room and the beautiful living room were excellent places to relax- not to mention the deck!! The breakfasts were served buffet style and were wonderful- everything was home made and fresh. Each night Marilyn put out a dessert treat which made coming back even more special.

The value was outstanding- we have paid as much at Interstate motels with no charm.

Marilyn was the perfect hostess. She did everything from provide detailed driving directions to restaurant recommendations to places to see. We so enjoyed our conversations with her. Her family settled the area and she is a fount of information.

Truly a hidden gem!!

Room Tip: Al the rooms(only three) were great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank booster1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (82)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 82 reviews

Reviewed 6 November 2010

What a beautiful setting with a distant but clear view of Mt. Rushmore. The lodge is beautiful, rustic, but very comfortable and very home-y. Marilyn and Art provided everything we could possibly want, from customized driving directions for each day of our stay, to wonderful breakfasts and delicious evening desserts.
I would not hesitate to recommend Buffalo Rock to anyone who visits the Black Hills area.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wendy61571
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2010

There is nothing we would have changed. The accommodations were first class. The hosts were warm and friendly as well as extremely knowledgeable and fun. From the porch you can see Mt Rushmore in the distance. Our room was large and very comfy. And to top it off the food was to die for. Marilyn and Art have set the standard for a B&B in this area!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marilyn0124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2010

We thought we'd eaten well at most of the B&Bs on our trip out west, but nothing can compare to the lavish, original, ingenious, delicious meals that Art and Marilyn prepare for their guests. They make the most of fruits and vegetables in their morning dishes and offer many choices; you serve yourself from a buffet and take what you want. Marilyn puts out a scrumptious, original dessert every night around 8 p.m. to top off the day and there is always coffee and tea available. The house is gorgeous and the cozy, inviting back porch offers a view of Mt. Rushmore. This is also one B&B where you feel very much like a guest in the home of very generous hosts. To top it off, Marilyn will give you a super itinerary, complete with map and driving directions, for each day you are there. You will not miss a thing and will get to see a lot of things you might otherwise miss, so do not be put off because the house is a bit off the beaten path. After you arrive, you will come and go within minutes to any destination. Do not miss Mt. Rushmore, the Crazy Horse Monument, Custer State Park (including Needles Highway and Sylvan Lake), and other places Marilyn recommends. She is the best guide and historian you'll find in the Black Hills!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Allen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2010

The Buffalo Rock Lodge exceeded every expectation. Marilyn and Art made us feel welcome from the second we arrived. The BRL is a log home style lodge with very large bedrooms (we stayed in the Gideon), a wonderful deck with views of Mt. Rushmore and a lodge style interior full of interesting antiques and articles from the local area. The bathroom included a claw foot tub and the room featured an in-room Jacuzzi. Nightly desserts and fantastic breakfasts added to the experience but the real treats were our hosts themselves. Marilyn and Art thought of everything. I mentioned to my wife that I wish we had brought binoculars to get a closer look at Mt. Rushmore. I walked in and 3 pairs were hanging near the door for guests use. Marilyn had pre-printed itineraries and maps that she quickly modified to match our daily plans. She gave great advice on activities, scenic drives and restaurants and simply did her best to ensure our vacation was top notch (it was!). Marilyn and Art shared great stories with us that we’ll cherish forever.
The lodge is lovely, the hosts terrific and the location perfect for touring the Black Hills. We will definitely be returning and highly recommend this outstanding B&B to families looking for a great place to stay near Mt. Rushmore.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dennis-Kathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2010

Art and Marilyn are the perfect hosts. They have a beautiful log built house which they happily share with their guests. The unusual and deluxe breakfast and evening desserts demonstrate great thought and gourmet cooking ability. The 3 bedrooms and shared living accomodation are both roomy, cozy and luxurious. Art and Marilyn are an encylopedia of useful knowledge with unlimited guidance on where to go and local restaurants. One cannot wish for a more perfect bed and breakfast experience.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GKTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2010

The area around Mt. Rushmore is designed, as it should be, to be accessible by everyone, by car, by tour bus, by motorcycle. This means that the lodging mostly consists of relatively inexpensive chain hotels, close in to the action. They do their job admirably.

Buffalo Rock Lodge, on the other hand, is only a 10 minute drive from Mt. Rushmore, but is out in the quiet forest on a hill overlooking the heads of the presidents.

My wife and I, who are frequent stayers in B&Bs, here and in Europe, declared that our stay at the Buffalo Rock Lodge was our best ever. Some credit goes to the Black Hills of SD and, of course, to Mt. Rushmore, but Art and Marilyn and their great home made this stay so wonderful.

We stayed in the Norbeck Room, and loved it. We did not have time to turn on the in-room spa, but we did spend lots of time on the deck looking out at the forest, mountains and Mt. Rushmore. Marilyn drew us great maps and provided recommendations for what to see and when. We were not disappointed in anything during this stay.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lapsrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keystone
3.2 mi away
Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites
3.2 mi away
Roosevelt Inn
Roosevelt Inn
#5 of 13 in Keystone
70 reviews
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Mt Rushmore / Keystone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Mount Rushmore Lodge at Palmer Gulch
4 mi away
K Bar S Lodge
K Bar S Lodge
#1 of 13 in Keystone
961 reviews
7.6 mi away
Elk Ridge Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buffalo Rock Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buffalo Rock Lodge

Address: 24524 Playhouse Rd, Keystone, SD 57751-6654
Region: United States > South Dakota > Keystone
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Keystone
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Buffalo Rock Hotel Keystone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing