We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Beautiful log cabin B&B” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Buffalo Rock Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keystone
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Buffalo Rock Lodge
Ranked #2 of 4 Keystone B&B and Inns
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
66 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Beautiful log cabin B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

This is a beautiful three bedroom log cabin B&B nicely situated off Iron Mountain Road and has an evening view of Mt Rushmore from the deck (sort of, it is a long way away, but lit up in the evening, and the host, Marilyn, has a telescope and binoculars available). Marilyn has a couple indoor dogs and cats, and even a deer wanders near the deck too.

This B&B is located off Playhouse Road (a paved road), and has a one lane inclined gravel road to the cabin (about 50 yards to the parking area). We are avid motorcyclists and this B&B was easily accessible for our motorcycles, albeit, you won't be able to ride your bikes up to the front entrance to unload, but it is only a short walk from the parking area to the main door anyway (maybe 15-20 yards).

We stayed in the Norbeck room, located on the first floor (the other two bedrooms are on the second floor). Our room was nicely decorated, a king size bed, an in-room one person jetted tub, a bathroom with two sinks, toilet and shower, and the room has access to the main deck via a French door, no in-room TV. The Wi-Fi connected easily in our room and in the main sitting area, and unfortunately we could not get Wi-Fi while on the deck area. The Wi-Fi connection is slow, so we couldn't stream, but we were able to check email and slowly upload photos to Facebook and friends.

Breakfast is served buffet style in the main home (and very good food as others have stated), We were surprised that some of the tables and areas in the cabin were cluttered, but then, I am a sort of a neat nick anyway. Breakfast and evening desert are eaten on the deck furniture, and the deck chairs are the reclining/bouncy type chairs, so they are not really comfortable to sit to eat, as you have to sit on the edge of your deck chair, but the view is nice. It hailed and rained one night during our stay and we did eat indoors.

Kudos to our host, Marilyn, who is always available to assist you, help with your trip itinerary and local information, and offer you an evening desert too! We spent four nights at this B&B and will definitely be back again on our next trip to the Mt Rushmore area.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyOnez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    6
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
14
45
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Streamwood, Illinois
Level Contributor
63 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

Everything about this B&B was wonderful. One of the best B&B's we've been to. The Lodge, a log cabin home, is situated on Playhouse Road a few miles outside Keystone in the heart of the Black Hills and about 3 miles from Mount Rushmore as the crow flies. We enjoyed dessert at 9:00 PM on the veranda while visiting with the other guests and enjoying the view of Mt. Rushmore lit up at night. It was total darkness except for Mt. Rushmore. And there it was again as we woke up to a delicious breakfast. It was a bright sunny morning and we had a very clean view of Mt. Rushmore.
Our host Marilyn made the experience most enjoyable and was wonderfully engaging. She shared her vast knowledge of the history and geology of the Black Hills. She even provided us with printed directions to our next destination and offered advise on which direction to drive certain roads to maximize our experience. This will be one of our fondest memories of visiting the Black Hills.
The log home itself was beautiful. The interior was all wood with a stone fireplace. It felt very warm and welcoming. Marilyn enhanced that welcome with her generous spirit. The log cabin decor was continued throughout the house including the guest rooms. We stayed in the Anne Tallent room on the second floor. The room was very clean, comfortable, and quiet. They typically require a 3 night minimum stay but we were lucky enough that there was one night available in between other reservations. We would have gladly stayed longer. This was a excellent value for the money.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LotusExplorerTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights during a visit to Mt Rushmore. Marilyn was a wonderful host, very knowledgeable about the area and provided very helpful driving directions for the Black Hills. Our room was very clean and loved the decorations and little touches all around the room and the lodge. The deck off the back has a view of Mt Rushmore in the distance and was a great place to sit and relax. Breakfast was delicious each morning, especially the scones and the bacon, and really liked the dessert each night. Would definitely recommend Buffalo Rock Lodge to anyone traveling in the Black Hills area.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kayemzee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hadlyme CT
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

Stayed for two nights and found the Buffalo Rock Lodge a great B&B. Marilyn & Art are wonderful hosts. They are just attentive enough to make sure everything is OK, but not overbearing. The rooms are clean, spacious and nicely decorated. The breakfasts are are exactly the hardy spread one would expect in the American West. What's more, Marilyn is well prepared to provide visitors with suggestions and directions to all the best attractions in the Black Hills and the best restaurants. Only caveat is that it's a bit off the beaten path, so if you are GPS-challenged, I would suggest you get very specific directions.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HSTyler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeannette, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
83 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

I stayed for three nights recently and could not have asked for anything better. The rooms were huge and the bed comfortable. The Lodge had so may things to look at around the place and plenty of area for relaxing. Whether it is in front of the fireplace downstairs or upstairs with the pool table and tv. There is a flight of steps up to the two rooms upstairs, but they are very wide and extremely sturdy.

Art & Marilyn made the most delicious breakfasts with all three mornings having something different. It is served buffet style so you can eat as much or as little as you want. It's a great start to your day as a tourist in the area. Once you have breakfast Marilyn will help you with maps and directions for any of the sights in the area. Her plans use up most of the day but get you back in time for dessert with everyone. You can follow her plans or deviate off of them, but they were excellent.

In the evening you either sit outside, weather dependent, or around the table and have a dessert that Marilyn made that day. It gives you time to get to know the other guests and find out about their days also.

The Lodge is a little bit of a drive outside of downtown Keystone, but you get to see the wildlife as you travel there. You can see Mt Rushmore from the porch, if the fog stays away, especially when they light it up at night.

I highly recommend that you stay here if you are going to visit the area. I don't see how you would be disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Billpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CT
Level Contributor
146 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

Buffalo Rock Lodge B&B is difficult to find, but well worth the trouble. Art and Marilyn Oakes own this beautiful log home and act as host and hostess. The three guest rooms are enormous and beautifully appointed down to the last detail to provide every possible guest comfort. There is even a power strip in each room for recharging electronics. Bathrooms have claw foot tubs, but only hand-held microphone showers. The vast living room has a huge fireplace. The whole house is furnished with family antiques and interesting local items. Wifi is speedy, beds are comfortable, rooms are immaculate. There are distant views of Mount Rushmore from the porch.

The breakfasts are large and delicious, my favorite item being bacon baked with brown sugar, cayenne and chopped pecans. Another favorite is peachy eggs. Fresh fruit is served with every breakfast. Marilyn also provides a delicious homemade dessert for guests at 8:00 PM to be enjoyed on the porch in warm weather while the lights come on at Mount Rushmore as Art holds forth on local politics, history and just about everything else.

There's nothing about the local area that Marilyn and Art don't know. They can tell you where to go and what to do and how to get there. Marilyn even provides maps with clearly written instructions on how to get to all local attractions as well as suggestions for dining.

Room Tip: Only three rooms available. The two rooms with with two queen beds each are very similar. The third...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DEngelJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richardson, Texas
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013 via mobile

Marilyn and Art are the perfect hosts. This log lodge is cozy and has many interesting features. The breakfast and evening desserts were fantastic. And don't bother taking the time to plan your days because Marilyn has an itinerary for each area that gives you step by step direction!
My family of 4 (2 - 21 and 24 year old guys and me and my husband were very comfortable in the Gideon room. The deck has a perfect view of Mount Rushmore and is a nice place to eat both breakfast and dessert.
Highly recommend staying here if you want to be close to everything but not right in town.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nancee411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keystone
5.4 mi away
The Lodge at Mount Rushmore
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Keystone
3.3 mi away
Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Roosevelt Inn
Roosevelt Inn
#5 of 14 in Keystone
3.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
10.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Golden Spike Inn & Suites
14.4 mi away
Coyote Blues Village B&B
Coyote Blues Village B&B
#6 of 12 in Hill City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buffalo Rock Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buffalo Rock Lodge

Property: Buffalo Rock Lodge
Address: 24524 Playhouse Rd, Keystone, SD 57751-6654
Region: United States > South Dakota > Keystone
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Keystone
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Buffalo Rock Hotel Keystone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing