We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Way beyond expectations”
Review of Buffalo Rock Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keystone
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Buffalo Rock Lodge
Ranked #2 of 4 Keystone B&B and Inns
Reviewed 9 August 2010

The Buffalo Rock Lodge exceeded every expectation. Marilyn and Art made us feel welcome from the second we arrived. The BRL is a log home style lodge with very large bedrooms (we stayed in the Gideon), a wonderful deck with views of Mt. Rushmore and a lodge style interior full of interesting antiques and articles from the local area. The bathroom included a claw foot tub and the room featured an in-room Jacuzzi. Nightly desserts and fantastic breakfasts added to the experience but the real treats were our hosts themselves. Marilyn and Art thought of everything. I mentioned to my wife that I wish we had brought binoculars to get a closer look at Mt. Rushmore. I walked in and 3 pairs were hanging near the door for guests use. Marilyn had pre-printed itineraries and maps that she quickly modified to match our daily plans. She gave great advice on activities, scenic drives and restaurants and simply did her best to ensure our vacation was top notch (it was!). Marilyn and Art shared great stories with us that we’ll cherish forever.
The lodge is lovely, the hosts terrific and the location perfect for touring the Black Hills. We will definitely be returning and highly recommend this outstanding B&B to families looking for a great place to stay near Mt. Rushmore.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dennis-Kathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (82)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 82 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2010

Art and Marilyn are the perfect hosts. They have a beautiful log built house which they happily share with their guests. The unusual and deluxe breakfast and evening desserts demonstrate great thought and gourmet cooking ability. The 3 bedrooms and shared living accomodation are both roomy, cozy and luxurious. Art and Marilyn are an encylopedia of useful knowledge with unlimited guidance on where to go and local restaurants. One cannot wish for a more perfect bed and breakfast experience.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GKTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2010

The area around Mt. Rushmore is designed, as it should be, to be accessible by everyone, by car, by tour bus, by motorcycle. This means that the lodging mostly consists of relatively inexpensive chain hotels, close in to the action. They do their job admirably.

Buffalo Rock Lodge, on the other hand, is only a 10 minute drive from Mt. Rushmore, but is out in the quiet forest on a hill overlooking the heads of the presidents.

My wife and I, who are frequent stayers in B&Bs, here and in Europe, declared that our stay at the Buffalo Rock Lodge was our best ever. Some credit goes to the Black Hills of SD and, of course, to Mt. Rushmore, but Art and Marilyn and their great home made this stay so wonderful.

We stayed in the Norbeck Room, and loved it. We did not have time to turn on the in-room spa, but we did spend lots of time on the deck looking out at the forest, mountains and Mt. Rushmore. Marilyn drew us great maps and provided recommendations for what to see and when. We were not disappointed in anything during this stay.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lapsrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2010

We stayed for 3 nights in May on our honeymoon. From our 2 week trip, this was by far the most comfortable accommodation. The Peter Norbreck rom was lovely, but what really made it was the stunning lodge and its accommodating hosts who make you feel most welcome. Breakfast was good and set us up the day. Marilyn helps you plan your day, she has good itineraries and suggestions. The B&B is a drive from town (Keystone pop. 627), but we loved its remoteness - yet its very convenient for Custer state park, Mount Rushmore etc.
All in all - I would recommend it!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2010

We stayed at this B&B in early May and had an amazing stay. The rooms were very large and had jetted tubs. Breakfast was served every morning buffet style as well as dessert in the evening. All was delicious! The best was the view of Mount Rushmore from the deck every evening. Our hosts had great restaurant and sight seeing recommendations. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pupperann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2010

My husband and I enjoyed our recent stay at Buffalo Rock. Marilyn and Art have built and decorated a labor of love - a beautiful log house filled with tasteful and unique memorabilia. The buffet-style breakfasts were outstanding, and guests get an added gift of delicious, evening desserts. The location, away from the Keystone ticky-tack, is ideal. On a clear night you can see a lit-up Mt. Rushmore from the outdoor deck. Marilyn provides detailed driving instructions for three areas of the Black Hills, filled with fabulous scenery and lots of opportunities to see wildlife.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phillygirl46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2009

Clean, comfortable, friendly owners, fantastic buffet breakfast, nice quiet location, view of Mount Rushmore...would definitely stay again! My parents had the Peter Norbeck room which i thought was the best room. Ours, the Annie Tallent, was nice but just had a shower head in the bath. The jacuzzi bath was great though. Note: the jacuzzi bath is in the bedroom and although you can put a screen around it, if you're planning on 4 adults staying in the Annie Tallent room you wouldn't have much privacy...luckily it was just the 2 of us. The owners are great and can give you loads of recommendations for places to eat/things to see. We stayed here for 2 nights on our 2 week road trip.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nattie224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keystone
3.2 mi away
Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Mt Rushmore / Keystone
3.2 mi away
Roosevelt Inn
Roosevelt Inn
#5 of 13 in Keystone
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Mount Rushmore Resort & Lodge
9.2 mi away
Mountain View Lodge & Cabins
4 mi away
K Bar S Lodge
K Bar S Lodge
#1 of 13 in Keystone
964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buffalo Rock Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buffalo Rock Lodge

Address: 24524 Playhouse Rd, Keystone, SD 57751-6654
Region: United States > South Dakota > Keystone
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Keystone
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Buffalo Rock Hotel Keystone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing