We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too Bad - This could have been a great value!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Baymont Inn & Suites Keystone Near Mt. Rushmore
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Keystone
Reviewed 23 July 2011

Of course, like every hotel within 25 miles of Mt. Rushmore they advertise "rooms as low as $49.99". In this case upon request, we were told it was a small single (no surprise but had to ask). We were shown the 'double occupancy' rooms at just under $100 for two - then decided to just take a suite for $151 (double). Walking into the office is a pool and jacuzzi within sight of the front desk. It looks good but that's about it.

The room itself is WONDERFUL...well thought out/appointed and very clean. Balcony facing the town with a great vue - but from there - sadly - all downhill :(

Zero shampoo/conditioner in the bathroom - just a bar of soap. The jacuzzi was so filthy that we had to bite the bullet to get in....then it turned out to have poorly operating jets, if indeed they operated at all! Internet was so slow that we just quit using it. Though we have an internet cable to put into the wall with us - I believe it's the only access to internet and one would have to RENT AN INTERNET CABLE to access. Another good trick often used by hotels to suck $$ from customers. No breakfast served.

If for only these stupid little things, the room would have been well worth the cost - too bad.

Room Tip: Just spend the extra $50 for a suite if you stay here.....5 times bigger and very comfortable.
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ohjames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (587)
There are newer reviews for Baymont Inn & Suites Keystone Near Mt. Rushmore
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

519 - 525 of 587 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2011

We had a difficult time finding a hotel the night we got in as it was passed midnight and either there was no vacancy, no one in the office, or asked for way too much money. This was the cheapest we could find that had vacancy. The room had an odd odor and was very cramped. Internet was not easily accessible even with their provided information. TVs are very outdated and it took three times to get keys that properly worked. Not an enjoyable task at 2 a.m. They also have a very early checkout time requirement of 10:00 a.m. There is no breakfast or restaurant.
They do have a view of Mt Rushmore if you're lucky to get a room that faces that way and you are only a few minutes away from the national monument. If you're looking just for a place to crash and clean up, it will suffice.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HCForestor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2011

Stayed here due to our "adventurous" trip planning. It was a place to sleep. I doubt we'll stay here again. Room was alright, staff appeared tired of tourists, location blew.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clairabelle429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2011

We were quoted $130 a night, but got a Military discount to $97.00 for a double bed. We bought two rooms, our room was dirty, finger prints on the mirror, T.V., our fridge did not work, and the blow dryer was broken as well. Our other room we paid for same thing, but to top it off someone prior to us went to the restroom and took a #2 and did not flush.
They do not have any type of breakfast in the morning, just coffee.
For $130.00 a night for a double bed you would expect to have a clean room and some type of food in the morning.
I was told by many guess they were not happy either, and that the pool was cold and there was an over powering chlorine smell.

In the morning we spoke to the front desk person, they passed us onto the morning manager, which she did not talk to us and passed us onto someone else. Finally after 35-40 min later we get told this; "We can only give you $10.00 off because you did not call us about the issues" 1. I am supposed to call someone to flush the toilet? 2. It was night time so I was not able to see the mess until the morning time. 3. Do you really think someone would make up the toilet incident?
What happened to wanting to provide excellent service, making the customer happy and wanting to show pride in your business? I would want to know these type of things, make note of them and make changes.

So for $10.00 off and not even "I'm sorry" I would pick another hotel, there are plenty to choose from.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steph0203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2011

I've never put much faith in online reviews because opinions vary so widely. In the case of Presidents View, however, the verdict is almost unanimous: this place is CHEAP!

Presidents View offers none of the amenties one typically finds at "budget" hotels: no continental breakfast, no in-room coffee. Shampoo? Not a chance. They even charge for local phone calls!

The staff is aloof and unfriendly, not surprising when you consider the complaints they must get from disappointed guests.

But that's not all.

After I checked out, Presidents View put an extra charge on my credit card, claiming I failed to return my keycard. In fact, I made a point of turning it in, because of an ominous warning that cards MUST be returned to the front desk -- NOT left in rooms. My credit card company
cancelled the bogus fee, but it was a hassle.

If you must stay at Presidents View, demand a written receipt when you turn in your keycard. According to online reviews, I am not the first victim, so it may be a scam to collect extra fees from guests who don't examine their credit card statements carefully. Don't let them get away with it!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WearyTraveler362
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2011

The good: it was pretty clean. That was easy.
The not so good: It is bare bones cheap. The rooms are tiny. It was like an inside cabin on a cruise ship. A single tiny bar of a soap was the only bathroom amenity. They charge $10 if you do not return your plastic room key. No place to eat on property. A big old TV sits takes up the entire space of the entire desk. There are a handful of rooms (they call them suites) that have a partial view of Mt. Rushmore. The location seems to be central, but an extraordinarily steep driveway makes walking very difficult. The staff seemed thoroughly disinterested in what they were doing.
Most of the hotels in Keystone seem to be economy properties. But this one is the bottom of the barrel. There have to be better choices.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MichaelonLI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2011

Found out room to be clean. Staff was pleasant. Didn't use the pool, but it was being well used on our visit. Will stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stnmnfn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keystone hotels
0.1 mi away
Ramada Keystone Near Mt Rushmore
0.5 mi away
Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites
0.5 mi away
Roosevelt Inn
Roosevelt Inn
#5 of 13 in Keystone
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Mt Rushmore / Keystone
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#10 of 13 in Keystone
235 reviews
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Mt. Rushmore/Keystone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baymont Inn & Suites Keystone Near Mt. Rushmore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baymont Inn & Suites Keystone Near Mt. Rushmore

Address: 106 Highway 16a, Keystone, SD 57702 (Formerly Mt. Rushmore's President View Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Keystone
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Keystone
Price Range: £75 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Baymont Inn & Suites Keystone Near Mt. Rushmore 2*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Baymont Inn & Suites Keystone Near Mt. Rushmore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mt. Rushmore`s Presidents View Hotel Keystone
Presidents View Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing