We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The worst and most dishonest hotel in the Western States”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Baymont Inn & Suites Keystone Near Mt. Rushmore
Ranked #13 of 14 Hotels in Keystone
Island of Hawaii, Hawaii
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The worst and most dishonest hotel in the Western States”
Reviewed 9 August 2011

You would think that a hotel perched up on top of the highest peak in the town of Keystone would indeed have a magnificent view of Mt. Rushmore but you would be fooled as we were after reading their description.
When we checked in we were told that the only room available for the evening was a handicap suite. We accepted and paid cash for the room; that's when the fun started.
When we went to the room, it was about as big as a postage stamp. The bed was pushed up against the wall so you could get in.
After a long day on the road, my husband took a shower and the fire alarm kept buzzing because of the steam that the fan could not handle.
I went to the front desk and was told that if indeed the fire alarm went off, the fire department would respond and since they did not, I was not telling the truth.
I then took a shower and the same thing happened.
We had to leave the front door opened when in the bathroom.
The bed was a bowl, we found old underwear under the bed and a cigarette butt behind the tiny TV.
Upon check out, the receptionist argued with us and told us we were lying about the fire alarm. My husband is a fireman .....what can I say except "Stay away".
BTW: There were only 5 other cars in the parking lot that evening. So much for the only room left story.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank donuts g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    70
    72
    80
    88
See reviews for
170
114
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Callington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
328 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2011

We stayed here on our third night of our American adventure, From the outside the hotel looked very good, That is really the only possitive I can give it.
We entered the hotel and went to the reception and were greeted by a miserable reception worker who did not greet us with a smile or a simple "hello and how may I help you". All he said was "Here's your key, you must check out by 10, coffee is only available in the lobby".
We found the room to be small, hot and not comfortable. Also noise could be heard from other rooms.
The hotel is located not far from Mount Rushmore but I'm sure there must be better accommodation out there!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Owlincallington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Keystone hotels

Two Rivers, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

My husband and I paid $100 a night to stay here. As others have noted, the bathroom is tiny, towels are thin and rough and only soap is provided. We had two double beds and NO room for our luggage. The first room that we were given was on the first floor next to a mechanical room (ac?). The head of the bed was vibrating from the noise! We asked to be moved (very unapologetic, very young clerk) and were given another room. It was lots of fun to move all of our luggage at midnight!! The second room was just as small. It was relatively clean. The staff was very indifferent to any requests and seemed confused if you asked them for anything. We would not stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank happytravelers195112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2011

Third time we have stayed there, so it isn't horrible. Be wary of the rates and make sure you get parked early. Keystone is a good location but it is in the tourist trap Black Hills

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brad045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene, OR
Level Contributor
132 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2011

Of course, like every hotel within 25 miles of Mt. Rushmore they advertise "rooms as low as $49.99". In this case upon request, we were told it was a small single (no surprise but had to ask). We were shown the 'double occupancy' rooms at just under $100 for two - then decided to just take a suite for $151 (double). Walking into the office is a pool and jacuzzi within sight of the front desk. It looks good but that's about it.

The room itself is WONDERFUL...well thought out/appointed and very clean. Balcony facing the town with a great vue - but from there - sadly - all downhill :(

Zero shampoo/conditioner in the bathroom - just a bar of soap. The jacuzzi was so filthy that we had to bite the bullet to get in....then it turned out to have poorly operating jets, if indeed they operated at all! Internet was so slow that we just quit using it. Though we have an internet cable to put into the wall with us - I believe it's the only access to internet and one would have to RENT AN INTERNET CABLE to access. Another good trick often used by hotels to suck $$ from customers. No breakfast served.

If for only these stupid little things, the room would have been well worth the cost - too bad.

Room Tip: Just spend the extra $50 for a suite if you stay here.....5 times bigger and very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ohjames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryan, Ohio
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 July 2011

We had a difficult time finding a hotel the night we got in as it was passed midnight and either there was no vacancy, no one in the office, or asked for way too much money. This was the cheapest we could find that had vacancy. The room had an odd odor and was very cramped. Internet was not easily accessible even with their provided information. TVs are very outdated and it took three times to get keys that properly worked. Not an enjoyable task at 2 a.m. They also have a very early checkout time requirement of 10:00 a.m. There is no breakfast or restaurant.
They do have a view of Mt Rushmore if you're lucky to get a room that faces that way and you are only a few minutes away from the national monument. If you're looking just for a place to crash and clean up, it will suffice.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HCForestor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2011

Stayed here due to our "adventurous" trip planning. It was a place to sleep. I doubt we'll stay here again. Room was alright, staff appeared tired of tourists, location blew.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clairabelle429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keystone hotels
0.5 mi away
Roosevelt Inn
Roosevelt Inn
#5 of 14 in Keystone
3.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Keystone
0.1 mi away
Ramada Keystone Near Mt Rushmore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites
0.2 mi away
Mt. Rushmore's Washington Inn & Suites
1.7 mi away
The Lodge at Mount Rushmore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baymont Inn & Suites Keystone Near Mt. Rushmore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baymont Inn & Suites Keystone Near Mt. Rushmore

Property: Baymont Inn & Suites Keystone Near Mt. Rushmore
Address: 106 Highway 16a, Keystone, SD 57702 (Formerly Mt. Rushmore's President View Resort)
Region: United States > South Dakota > Keystone
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 14 Hotels in Keystone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Baymont Inn & Suites Keystone Near Mt. Rushmore 2*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your Baymont Inn & Suites Keystone Near Mt. Rushmore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mt. Rushmore`s Presidents View Hotel Keystone
Presidents View Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing