We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely beautiful”
Review of K Bar S Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
K Bar S Lodge
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Keystone
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

This hotel is amazing. From the courteous and helpful staff to the large spacious rooms, the K Bar S does not disappoint. We had a balcony facing Mount Rushmore which was easily seen without binoculars. It has a fire pit that is lit in the evenings and wildlife poking around without a care in the world. Breakfast was great and way above expectations. The staff really enjoy their jobs as it shows when you talk to them. Don't stay anywhere else in Keystone, I know we won't!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
5  Thank Tango_Sierra85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (959)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

637 - 643 of 959 reviews

Reviewed 20 April 2014

Just stayed here 2-nights, one day after they opened for the season. We encountered some snow on the drive in. It was getting late, visibility was challenging and road conditions declining. Called hotel advising we may not make; the friendly night clerk offered an alternate route which proved very helpful, not being familiar with the area. Room was awesome, breakfast was great, morning attendant, "Val" was very friendly, offered suggestions on how to make the best of our limited time in the area. The next day she even had breakfast out a little early to make sure we got to eat before our early departure. We will definitely make it a point to stay here again on our next visit to the area.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gbakatut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

I have stayed at K Bar S Lodge before, but this time was even better. I attended a scrapbooking retreat. My room was roomy and beautiful with a very comfortable bed. The mini Keurig coffee maker was a real bonus since the weather was below zero. The staff was friendly and attentive. My only complaint was that the dining areas were really cold.

Room Tip: If you can, get a room facing towards the meadow--some have a view of Mt. Rushmore.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank possranch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

It is in an excellent location, very quiet and secluded yet only a 1/4 mile away from the main street in Keystone. The staff members were very friendly and hospitable. Enjoyed complimentary breakfast in the dining room. Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank samrose9121964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We stayed a few nights in September and had a wonderful experience. The staff is terrific, friendly, helpful. The grounds are clean and well maintained. Breakfast offered a nice selection of items. The atmosphere is peaceful, secluded, yet so close to town (Keystone), Mt. Rushmore, and everything else you might want to do in the Black Hills area. Our room was spacious and well appointed. Loved having the laundry available. The best part was having a profile view of Mt. Rushmore from our private balcony. Simply priceless. We'll be back! Thanks to all of you here for helping us make the right decision.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank meyerinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

My wife and I stayed there in October, the weekend after the big buffalo roundup.
It turned out, that was also the weekend of the BIG october blizzard. A whole lot of us were stuck there for quite a few days.
The staff there bent over backwards to accommodate us. They went wayyyy above and beyond the call of duty to help us feel comfortable, welcome and above all, to have fun even during the worst blizzard in memory.

The K-Bar-S rocks!!!

Room Tip: get a room with a view, try to stay in the main lodge. They don't normally serve lunch or dinne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CraigRLang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

The lodge is not located on the main road in Keystone so it is not normally one you would find by driving by. It is just a 1/4 mile off the main road tucked up a little valley. It is situated in a wooded area with a view of Mt. Rushmore. The hotel is well kept with modern rooms. They also have a great full breakfast in the morning. We were there on vacation but it also looks like it would be a great place for a wedding or special event.

Room Tip: All rooms looked to be in a good location with easy access
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keystone
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Mt Rushmore / Keystone
0.8 mi away
Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites
0.8 mi away
Roosevelt Inn
Roosevelt Inn
#5 of 13 in Keystone
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ramada Keystone Near Mt Rushmore
5.2 mi away
Mount Rushmore Lodge at Palmer Gulch
7.0 mi away
Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to K Bar S Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about K Bar S Lodge

Address: 434 Old Hill City Rd, Keystone, SD 57751-2027
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Keystone
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Keystone
Price Range: £72 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — K Bar S Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your K Bar S Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
k Bar s Hotel Keystone
k Bar s Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing