We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VERY NICE; Centerally located”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Lodge at Mount Rushmore
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Keystone
Brookings, South Dakota
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“VERY NICE; Centerally located”
Reviewed 9 June 2011

WE actually had reservations for another hotel in Hill City; Thankfully, that hotel was unacceptable (many reasons) and we found ourselves staying at the Four Presidents just outside of Keystone.

The front desk personnel were always very friendly and helpful; especially in pointing out the local attractions and the best routes to take if you're wanting to do a scenic drive. The continental breakfast was fantastic (at least for the 3 nights we stayed). There is no restaurant in the hotel, but a fantastic little place within walking distance that serves up some great tasting ribs. The rooms were very clean and the indoor pool and hot tub were very nice and a good way to end the day. This hotel was just outside of Keystone, but centrally located to Rushmore, Crazy Horse, Bear Country, Reptile Gardens and many of the other tourism sites one might want to visit. For us, it was a very relaxing place to stay and we had a great time. If we are ever in this area again, we will definitely stay here again. I can not tell you about any internet service (Wi-Fi), cell phone reception, etc... ... when we go on vacation, it is for fun, to relax, and get "away" for a while; working and having a phone plastered to our ear is never a part of our vacation plans. Great relaxing stay for us.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JDK16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

610 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    214
    193
    85
    63
    55
See reviews for
281
191
15
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ogden, Utah
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2011

My husband & I stayed here at the end of May. The rates were reasonable & the breakfast was great. Check in was fast & the hotel is just a short drive to Mt Rushmore, Crazy Horse, Custer State Park, Jewel Cave & Keystone is the cutest little town. This was our first trip to South Dakota & we loved every minute of it.

Room Tip: Ask fir discounts for AARP & AAA.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NancichrisUT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
78 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2011

The hotel was nice enough but extremely overpriced. You can stay at a nicer property for about $60 less a night.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Inocense
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2011

As a warning to fellow travelers: do not book a room at this hotel unless you are 100% certain your trip won't fall through.

My family was going to take a trip to the Black Hills this upcoming June weekend, and had booked the stay at the Best Western Four Presidents Lodge in April. We paid for both nights ahead of time. We found out over the weekend that we would have to cancel the trip due to unforeseen circumstances. I called the Hotel to notify them of the cancellation and was told by the woman who answered - I presume a front desk clerk - that because my cancellation was within 7 days she would have to check with her manager to get approval to cancel, and would call back. She did call back, and left a message saying that her manager would not approve the refund of our prepaid nights because the cancellation was within 7 days. It was only 1/2 of a day within their cancellation time frame!

The fact that her manager didn't even have the decency to call, but instead had her do the dirty work for him or her is unbelievable! The very least they could have done was refund one of the nights, which would have fallen outside of their strict 7 day policy. The fact is they could have done the right thing and chose not to.

I will NEVER stay at this hotel in future visits, and will make very sure that everyone I know hears about this.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank CO_Travelers_99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Keystone hotels

Vienna, Virginia, USA
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2011

This Best Western was the final stop on our two week tour of Wyoming, Montana, and South Dakota. We are parents with two children, ages 7 and 9.

We stayed two nights. Check-in was easy. At check-in we were provided a room on the ground floor across from the laundry and ice machine. We then asked for a room on an upper floor, but the manager declined since we had children and he was concerned about noise problems. This is not a major issue, and we had not made the special request prior to check-in. Apart from this, the staff were helpful. A computer and printer were set up in the lobby for general use.

The room was spacious and clean, with a small refrigerator. The view was directly out to the parking lot, so we had to fiddle with the drapes to restrict views from the outside. One minor irritation was that the fan and light in the bathroom are controlled by the same switch. Typically we leave a light in the bathroom on so the kids can navigate to it during the night; but this was not possible since the fan was so noisy. Also, there were no power outlets in the bathroom, so we could not move a lamp in there. The AC unit was also loud.

The hotel itself is a mile or two away from downtown Keystone, which is somewhat of a tourist trap. For us this was an advantage.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ViennaDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 16 November 2010

One of our friends had stayed here in May 2010 and raved about the location (right next to Mt Rushmore) and the service. We came to stay one night and stayed two nights. The service was great, the free breakfast was really good, and the manager was extremely helpful and friendly. The hotel is very clean, the rooms were nice and very quiet. We enjoyed our stay there and would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bill7404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
Reviewed 20 October 2010

Our check in with Dan went very smoothly and he was extremely personable and helpful in suggesting where we could go for dinner. The entire staff came to our rescue when the tour company we had made arrangements with neglected to pick us up. Dan was ready to drive us to wherever we had to go to catch up with them. The issue was resolved but we were so grateful for their concern. Our room was very nice and all in all our stay was most enjoyable.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jfmmlm23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keystone
2.0 mi away
Roosevelt Inn
Roosevelt Inn
#5 of 14 in Keystone
268 reviews
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Keystone
2.1 mi away
Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Ramada Keystone Near Mt Rushmore
6.3 mi away
Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites
1.3 mi away
K Bar S Lodge
K Bar S Lodge
#1 of 14 in Keystone
860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Mount Rushmore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Mount Rushmore

Property: The Lodge at Mount Rushmore
Address: 24075 Highway 16a, Keystone, SD 57751-6664 (Formerly Best Western Plus Four Presidents Lodge)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Keystone
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Keystone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lodge at Mount Rushmore 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Lodge at Mount Rushmore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus 4 Presidents Lodge
Best Western Plus Four Presidents Hotel Keystone
Best Western Keystone
Keystone Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing