We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Close to the Monument” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Lodge at Mount Rushmore

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Lodge at Mount Rushmore
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Keystone
Glen Arm, Maryland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Close to the Monument”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2013

This was a great place to stay if you are going to see Mt. Rushmore. It was clean, neat, and the breakfast was good. It was very convenient to the Mt. Don't miss the light show on the Mt. It is spectacular!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mzmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

600 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    214
    192
    85
    63
    46
See reviews for
276
188
15
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Lawrenceville, GA
Level Contributor
78 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2013

The hotel is comfortable and cleaner than I expected. The front desk service was good. The breakfast each morning was adequate (typical hotel food). Thank you for putting out the cream and creamers! Morning coffee is so very important to me and my husband and the first morning without real cream or half and half was brutal. Also thanks for putting out yogurt each morning. Shout out to the friendly breakfast staff we saw each morning. Fortunately our visit was the week before memorial day weekend when prices are lower and state parks have their "open house" meaning free entrance. I thought coming before the tourist season was in full swing would mean less service but I'm happy to say that was not the case. There is a GREAT restaurant down the road called the Powder House. Don't let the outside looks fool you. It was the best in Keystone and not that pricey. They also serve Prairie Berry Wine. I'm glad we stayed here and not in Rapid City although it was only a 20 mile drive into RC. We went to see the lighting of Mt. Rushmore one night so having a hotel close by was nice. Also, we enjoyed staying in the mountains as opposed to a small city.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BonnieND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
332 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2013

Best thing about this place close to mount Rushmore Park. This must have been a good hotel once, but the management now is awful, it looked as kids were running it for summer money. the breakfast was poor ,slow to replace due to lack of staff, the one helpful woman looked overrun. The so called fresh Fruit was terrible and should have been replaced Brown bananas etc the muffins were still frozen and the choice poor.
The reception boy with red dyed hair was rude and constantly head down on his phone it appeared or out front doing the same smoking.
The room was big but the Sheets and towels were terrible, wasn't sure if they were meant to we white or just looked dirty worn,thin creamy in colour.
The worst was pets were allowed to stay in the hotel which we were not aware of. We would never have stayed there due to disable relative. The room had a fluff mark a 1in from the room so no nozzle used for these area.
This place could be good with the right care and management.until then find a better more caring place

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkMGT, Owner at The Lodge at Mount Rushmore, responded to this review, 23 May 2013
Thank you for taking time to review our hotel. Please be advised that I have shared your comments with the entire staff. I am pleased that you liked the location. We receive several on-line completed surveys through Best Western, employ secret shoppers, and receive many unsolicited on-line reviews, with almost all guests loving our breakfast and our accommodations.
Yes, we do allow pets (dogs only) in a few designated rooms close to the exits. It is very common in the US for some people to travel with their dogs. Our management team is very experienced at this property and willing to help guests plan their Black Hills vacations.

Happy Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longmont, Colorado
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013

The staff was very friendly and efficient and our room was clean and comfortable. The gentleman at the front desk gave us a great dinner recommendation and check in/out was quick and easy. Breakfast was okay, typical hotel pre-made items, not excellent but not bad. I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim33527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2013

The Best Western Keystone is a beautiful hotel, well designed, and offering amenities such as a mini fridge and microwave in the room, as well as a breakfast buffet that was really pretty good!

The service did lack a bit, though, as we did need to wait at the front desk for about 15 minutes while the desk clerk completed something he was doing. Not quite sure what it was, but we waited and were served a bit later. Also there was no desk clerk when we went down to ask for another blanket on our first night's stay. When we did get the blanket the second night we were told they didn't have any extras of the kind we wanted (soft duvet style) so they gave us a wool type blanket. It worked out, but was just strange in a hotel of this stature.

The location was a bit out of the way, you definitely need a car if you choose to stay here. That being said it was also out of the noise and bustle of town, which was a definitely plus. Nice swimming pool and great breakfast buffet (eggs, sausage or bacon, muffins, croissants, yogurt, cereal, fruit, juice, coffee, and make your own waffles) made this a very nice place to stay for the most part.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owens Cross Roads, Alabama
Level Contributor
252 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

First impressions are so important and the first impression for this stay likely means I won't come back. That's unfortunate because the hotel is nice, convenient, clean and everyone else is wonderful. When I was checking in at dusk after a LONG day of driving, the young man behind the counter let me stand there without even making eye contact for seven minutes. He was talking to a customer on the phone (I think), but he was barely serving that person from the side of the conversation I could hear, and if I had not prepaid, I would have walked. As I had time to wait I noticed the clerk had spent a lot of time and money on personal appearance, piercing much of his tongue, ears and body and apparently tried hard to be different. He was. When I check in I don't want to see different, I want to see comfort, care and if possible courtesy. What I got was different. Unfortunate, because the hotel is well-designed and the overnight clerk who helped me in the morning was EXCELLENT. He was fantastic. Breakfast was good, too and the room was clean. But the memory I will take with me is the excruciating seven or eight minutes I stood waiting and watching and wondering what it felt like to have one's tongue pierced and why that face never apologized or said "may I help you," or even "just a moment, please." He may be a nice guy, but I never found out.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyDonor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkMGT, Owner at The Lodge at Mount Rushmore, responded to this review, 13 May 2013
Greetings, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am very pleased that you liked the hotel design and that the property was clean. The entire staff works very hard to keep the hotel
in great shape. I have discussed your experience re. the front desk staff. We take customer service very seriously here. Please stop in next time you are in Keystone, we would live to have you back!

Travelers tip: If you are traveling with a pet, please call the hotel and confirm that the hotel
has your reservation designated as such. Sometimes third-party sites
(Orbitz, Expedia) do not pass this info along to the hotel.

Happy Travels...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawsonville, Georgia
Level Contributor
280 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2013

There was snow in the drive-up and parking lot so it was a little treacherous, but the facility was nice. Breakfast was good, bed comfortable. When we went to check out EARLY, the young man at the desk was not trained for checkout and had to call the manager. Set us back a few minutes but not too bad. Would stay here again probably. The shower needed a new redirector. It was corroded and didn't fully redirect the water. The room was plenty big but the TV only had 13 channels and made people on the screen look like glowing-eyed aliens.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mimi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keystone
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Keystone
2.0 mi away
Roosevelt Inn
Roosevelt Inn
#5 of 14 in Keystone
3.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
2.1 mi away
Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Mt. Rushmore's White House Resort
6.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Golden Spike Inn & Suites
4.2 mi away
Mountain View Lodge & Cabins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Mount Rushmore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Mount Rushmore

Property: The Lodge at Mount Rushmore
Address: 24075 Highway 16a, Keystone, SD 57751-6664 (Formerly Best Western Plus Four Presidents Lodge)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Keystone
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Keystone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lodge at Mount Rushmore 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your The Lodge at Mount Rushmore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus 4 Presidents Lodge
Best Western Plus Four Presidents Hotel Keystone
Best Western Keystone
Keystone Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing