We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Lodge at Mount Rushmore
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Keystone
Boston
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very good location”
Reviewed 25 December 2013

We were moving across the country and this was one of our stops. It was a brief visit in the off season but everything was well kept, the room was comfortable and quiet. The staff was friendly and we were glad we chose this hotel. We did take part of the day to see Mt. Rushmore and this was a great location to stay if you are planning a visit there.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happymcclure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

601 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    214
    192
    85
    63
    47
See reviews for
276
188
15
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013

Arrived to find my reservation in order and the room I requested available. The lobby was pleasantly decorated and very welcoming. Checked into my room. The bathroom was clean with no signs of the previous quest and had plenty of soft towels. The room was clean with no stagnant orders or evidence of the previous quest. Everything worked as it should. After a long day of driving, the bed was cozy and I went to bed with a sigh of relief. I awoke to great night of deep sleep. I judge a bed by how I feel in the morning and I felt great. The breakfast was satisfying and great way to start the day. I tried to leave but I left the dome light on in my car. Talked to the manager and he jumped my car. I was back k on the road in time. A nice perk...way to go !

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrAlex_777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Our stay at Best Western Plus in Keystone, So. Dk. was great! The location was perfect for the sites that we wanted to see. The young man at the front desk was very accommodating (sorry that I didn't get his name!) He told us of lots of interesting sites to see while there. The room was very clean, smelled good & had a good bed. The lobby was very attractively decorated for the So. Dakota. theme & mountain surroundings, & even had a cozy fire going. I would highly recommend this hotel to others. It was reasonably priced & a great experience for the money.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Deanna Fleming T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 28 October 2013

The employees at the hotel were great. The room was very spacious and provided everything we needed. We were disappointed the pool was a bit dingy and not warm. Housekeeping was good and the breakfast met our needs. Great location to national parks.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank JessKS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

My wife and I wanted to visit Mt Rushmore. We stayed two night at the Best Western in Keystone.

They received us very well. The room was big and clean.
(The refigerator in the room made som sound though.)
Good breakfast with many choices. The hotel is located about 5 min drive from Mt Rushmore and two minutes from the small town of Keystone.
We can recommend it for a stay of 1-5 days.

Room Tip: Our room was to the backside. It faced the woods. Actually it was fun because we got a chance to see...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisbeth_Herrmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juneau
Level Contributor
78 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Obviously it seems to be the end of their season in Keystone and the power outage the week before had put them in hibernation mode. They could care less whether you stayed here or there. Check in with Charlie was bland. We were obviously putting him out by checking in. We kept a smile on our faces as we realized that he really didn't want to be there.
The room was very large......3 times larger than the Holiday Inn we are currently staying at in Souix City. Very comfortable bed with soft pillow top, and pillows were very soft. Towels were thicker than most. We received one of our best nights sleep on the road. Bathroom was large and stark but sink was in a separate area from shower/toilet. We like that. TV was great.
Free breakfast was outstanding and well done. Young man in the morning at checkout,,,,not Charlie, was refreshing, kind, and positive.
Pool was scuzzy, dirty, and in desperate need of attention. Real turnoff and obvious lack of their care to maintain.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Reno60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkMGT, Owner at The Lodge at Mount Rushmore, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to submit your thoughtful review.

Yes, our rooms are large and we have fabulous bedding. We recently re-vamped
the breakfast and guests have given us many compliments.

I will review your concerns re. the front desk with the GM. The pool is getting
attended to now.

Happy travels -
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dewey, Arizona
Level Contributor
163 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

If we were going to go back to see Mount Rushmore again, I definitely stay here again. This property is situated just outside of the main goings-ons in Keystone, on the way going to the Park. There’s very little traffic,congestion or noise.
I liked that we had a mini refrigerator and microwave in our room, but bring your groceries with you from Rapid City, there’s not much here. I also liked the fact there was a guest laundry and the front desk had loads of quarters to make change for you.
On the second story landing there’s very comfy sofa, some chairs and a coffee table, as well as downstairs in the lobby area. If you want to relax after your long day at the Park, take your adult beverage of choice with you and stretch out for the evening.
The breakfast offerings were the usual suspects, you can get yourself a fairly healthful meal.
This is not a large property so if you plan on going during a high season, reserve early.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doni-lei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keystone
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Keystone
2.0 mi away
Roosevelt Inn
Roosevelt Inn
#5 of 14 in Keystone
252 reviews
2.1 mi away
Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Mt. Rushmore's White House Resort
6.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Golden Spike Inn & Suites
4.2 mi away
Mountain View Lodge & Cabins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Mount Rushmore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Mount Rushmore

Property: The Lodge at Mount Rushmore
Address: 24075 Highway 16a, Keystone, SD 57751-6664 (Formerly Best Western Plus Four Presidents Lodge)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Keystone
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Keystone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lodge at Mount Rushmore 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Lodge at Mount Rushmore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus 4 Presidents Lodge
Best Western Plus Four Presidents Hotel Keystone
Best Western Keystone
Keystone Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing