We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good place to stay to visit Mt Rushmore area”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Lodge at Mount Rushmore
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Keystone
Highland, Indiana
Level Contributor
199 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“A good place to stay to visit Mt Rushmore area”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

The hotel is located a few miles outside of Keystone. This is disconcerting when you see 50 hotels all along the main drag, but not yours. Actually that turned out to be a good thing. There were fewer lights and traffic.

The lobby of the hotel is striking with rough hewn log furniture and deer antler chandeliers.

The desk clerk was very helpful even though she was very overworked. She even helped us locate a corkscrew which we had forgotten later that evening.
We checked in kinda late and I guess this was to our benefit as we got a suite instead of the regular room I reserved. Maybe they are all like that?

The bed was comfortable, the AC worked just fine.

Everything was clean.

There was a convenient work desk with outlets to charge up my IPAD/phone.

The bathroom and vanity were separate which works out well for us.

There was a fridge and microwave and a coffee maker we didnt use.

Breakfast was fine. Maybe a bit crowded but the food was fine.

The Wifi worked, but not great. we could check email, but not much else.

All things considered, I like the out of town location. It is very close to Mt Rushmore and the surrounding attractions. It might be less convenient if you just want to walk around Keystone, but fine if you want more peace and quiet.

Room Tip: I would say a room farther away from the lobby will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ScubaDave16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

610 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    214
    193
    85
    63
    55
See reviews for
281
191
15
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, United States
1 review
Reviewed 23 June 2014

The only complaint I have is that the water suddenly stopped flowing at 6:30 am. Not a good thing especially when one is in the shower. The next night, the water pressure was low. Otherwise, the hotel staff were friendly and the full breakfast offered a good selection.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Bea P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Poor service, they lost our attraction vouchers, not found until late the next day. Pool was out of order for 3 days. Hair in the bath tub upon arrival. HORRENDOUSLY SLOW INTERNET! The location was close to all major attractions which was nice. The breakfast area was to small to accomadate all the guests, 2 out of 3 mornings my family with 2 young children had to stand and eat breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Vicky M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkMGT, Owner at The Lodge at Mount Rushmore, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Greetings. Thank you for taking the time to submit a review. I have personnaly addressed
each issue you mentioned with the the staff. Your vouchers should have been ready at check-in.
I apologize for not having these ready for you.

Please note that our breakfast room is the largest in the region and doubles as a reception space.

Thank you,

Best Western Plus
Four Presidents Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Keystone hotels

Palm Desert, California
Level Contributor
64 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

The hotel is beautiful. And nearby to almost everything. The internet was slow, but we chose the free option, and the jacuzzi bubblers didn't work, but everything else was great. Loved the atmosphere. Everyone was very helpful. The laundry services were good too. Breakfast had a lot of options, and the items were refilled quickly. If we went back to Mt. Rushmore, would more than likely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Janeen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkMGT, Owner at The Lodge at Mount Rushmore, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Greetings. Thank you for taking the time to submit a review. Glad you had a great stay. Please note that the internet service is currently being addressed (today!) - Looks like capicity issues downstream.

Happy Travels,

Best Western Plus
Four Presidents Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

we visited for 2 nights. the location was quite central to mt rushmore keystone and badlands etc. Dean in reception was very helpful and absolutely fantastic. the room was large but seemed a bit odd. by this there were light fittings hanging on wall but no furniture below. you will see what i mean if you book this hotel. the sink was in the main bedroom and not in the bathroom. the first night we had 4 nice white towels. on the 2nd day these were repalced (although not left on the floor) with 2 dingy grey and 1 white so we were missing one. the coffee that we used on day 1 was not replaced. housekeeping could be improved but reception was great. there was an indoor pool which looked nice although we did not use. the breakfast was scambled eggs and low quality ham/sausage. the continental choice was good. Overall, considering the rate and location it was very good value. we were just a bit disappointed with the housekeeping. Having been to Yellowstone and Mamouth Springs, Old Faithful Inn we found that the over all quality of housekeeping seems to have gone down over the last year or so. we go away on vacation at least 3 times a year so could definately see that things we not as we would expect.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank Desirie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

Mu family and I were extremely impressed with Mr. Dean. He greater us at check-in with the upstairs curtsy. After spending the previous night in a very disappointing hotel, we asked Mr. Dean if we could see the room first. He graciously accommodated our request and were very pleased. Upon or evening return, Mr. Dean greeted us and inquired if we had had dinner. He gave is some suggestions and bade us good night. Breakfast was GREAT! It set the bar for the rest of the trip. The only down side, was the pool needing service, but has since been rectified. When we return to the Black Hills, this place will be at the top of our list!

Todd H

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Shari H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

VERY friendly customer service!!!! Extremely helpful in getting us settled in and very knowledgable of the area. Gave great recommendations for sight-seeing and restaurants. All front-desk personnel should be this wonderful.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank jeanneo858
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keystone
2.0 mi away
Roosevelt Inn
Roosevelt Inn
#5 of 14 in Keystone
268 reviews
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Keystone
2.1 mi away
Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Ramada Keystone Near Mt Rushmore
6.3 mi away
Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites
1.3 mi away
K Bar S Lodge
K Bar S Lodge
#1 of 14 in Keystone
858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Mount Rushmore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Mount Rushmore

Property: The Lodge at Mount Rushmore
Address: 24075 Highway 16a, Keystone, SD 57751-6664 (Formerly Best Western Plus Four Presidents Lodge)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Keystone
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Keystone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lodge at Mount Rushmore 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Lodge at Mount Rushmore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus 4 Presidents Lodge
Best Western Plus Four Presidents Hotel Keystone
Best Western Keystone
Keystone Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing