We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome people!”
Review of Roosevelt Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Roosevelt Inn
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Keystone
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome people!”
Reviewed 28 June 2013

The people here are really nice! I forgot a souvenir in my room and the hotel mailed it back to me. I didn't even realize I left it until I got the package in the mail! The hotel itself is older, but has pretty good rates. Recommend the pizza place (Big Time pizza?) attached as well.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bayam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    102
    73
    30
    15
See reviews for
132
91
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013

What a pleasant surprise this hotel is. Here in the middle of the Black Hills, a stone's throw from Mount Rushmore, Custer State Park, Iron Mountain Road, and Needles Hwy there actually is a reasonably priced Hotel that is as good as any Comfort Inn. The folks at the desk were really nice, and friendly. The room was comfortable and very clean. Definitely recommend and I'll be making it a point to stay here again!

Room Tip: Park behind hotel and get a second floor room, the second floor is 9 steps up from the back parking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank richardq60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tuscaloosa
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 June 2013

We enjoyed our stay at this family owned hotel. The location was perfect for walking the strip and very close to shops and restaurants. The staff was accommodating and friendly. It is located only 2 miles to Mt. Rushmore National Memorial. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ashlipettus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

I picked this place because of the loft suites they had and it worked wonderful for my family. The staff at the front desk was very nice. The shower didn't work very well and when we opened the windows there were tons of dead flies!!! Pretty gross!!! My daughter also found bobby pins in her linens, so either they weren't changed or those went through the laundry but I won't think the cleaning people should check that. Besides a few things the place is a nice place to stay!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danelleme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013

We had a room on the second floor which is also where the pool was. Once you step off the elevator the humidity and the smell of the chlorine hits you. The room was ok, a little dated but the mattress was firm and comfortable. Across the hall was the game room which has a pool table, foosball and video games which is great for kids. Breakfast consisted of cold cereal, mini muffins, not very good biscuits and gravy, coffee and some orange flavored water.( Not OJ) No yogurt, or fresh fruit, We spent 1 night and since it served the purpose of just sleeping there it worked for us.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank katiesmom1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

The lady at the front desk was polite respectful, helpful .Hotel was very clean, quiet with big comfortable rooms, good variety breakfast has a great Italian restaurant only 3 miles to Mt Rushmore. I would definitely give them more than five stars.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Celina07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2013

This is just 2 miles from Mt Rushmore, great location, a large hotel, many rooms with balconies. I had booked a single online with AARP discount. When I arrived reception upgraded me to a King with balcony at no extra charge. Of course, it was out of season, and they had a lot of available rooms. The room was large and comfy, staff friendly. There is an elevator. A pizza/sub restaurant is attached to the lobby. Because it was out of season, much of Keystone was closed down, so dining options were limited. There is cable TV, wi-fi; no fridge or microwave in room, but ice and microwave available down the hall, and coin-op washer/dryer. There was a sign to a pool on the 2nd floor, but the door was locked and I couldn't see what was in the room; I assume it is open once the season opens in May.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Goddessgran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keystone
0.1 mi away
Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Mt Rushmore / Keystone
0.4 mi away
Ramada Keystone Near Mt Rushmore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#12 of 14 in Keystone
226 reviews
0.8 mi away
K Bar S Lodge
K Bar S Lodge
#1 of 14 in Keystone
882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roosevelt Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roosevelt Inn

Property: Roosevelt Inn
Address: 206 Cemetery Rd, Keystone, SD 57751-2039 (Formerly Guesthouse Mount Rushmore)
Region: United States > South Dakota > Keystone
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Keystone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Roosevelt Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small, family owned and operated, limited-service hotel located in the city limits of Keystone, SD, at the base of Mt. Rushmore National Memorial. Property has a variety of rooms, ranging from small, economy rooms with one queen sized bed to large family suites that can accommodate up to seven persons. Pool operates seasonally (June, July, August). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Roosevelt Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roosevelt Hotel Keystone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing