We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor service and uncaring attitude...” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Roosevelt Inn

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Roosevelt Inn
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Keystone
Belvidere, IL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Poor service and uncaring attitude...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2008

My husband reserved 5 nights at The Roosevelt Inn back in February 2008 for our June 2008 Honeymoon.
After traveling over 1000 miles on a Harley, we were told our reservation was for one night only. The older gentleman desk clerk then decided maybe we were booked for 4 nights. We could stay the 5th night but would have to change rooms for the 5th night. He however; couldn't help us. He told us we would have to talk to Jenyl and remedy it ourselves.
The room was nice, the mattress worn out, the bathroom VERY small, the lighting in the room was dim, the towels were old and worn out and dingy. If you wanted a towel for the pool, you had to go downstairs to the main desk to get one. The pool area was dark and the hot tub was disappointing. It was located in one corner of the pool area...once in it you faced a brick wall that needed painting.
The pop machine was empty, after trying 3 different choices I gave up. We had to ask for more bar soap and tried for 3 days to get a box of kleenex, which we never did get.
The continental breakfast was a joke...they had NO plates, only napkins, and powdered juice, no milk or cereal, only frozen bagels, english muffins and stale donuts. BIG DISAPPOINTMENT!
All this aside, we were most upset by the lack of caring from the staff. We did talk to Jenyl about things, told her we were leaving a day early, and she said ok...didn't try one bit to make things rights. We will NEVER return there or recommend it to anyone.
I really hope the owners and staff read these reviews. They need a lesson in customer service for sure!

  • Liked — location...close to historical sites we visited
  • Disliked — service
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Harleymooners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    94
    62
    29
    14
See reviews for
121
75
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2008

We stayed just one night during off peak season so the price was great. The room however was very small, and the bathroom was tiny. We have an infant, and this hotel does not have cribs. The game room was a nice touch, however the dvd player in there didn't work. The pool room was locked so we didn't get to check that out. It is not easy getting luggage into the hotel due to a couple of steps.

  • Liked — convenient
  • Disliked — small bathroom, no cribs
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank busymamaof3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DC
Level Contributor
44 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2007

My wife and I stayed here near Xmas so it was nearly deserted. For the $49.95 price we got a large king room with all the amenities that you would get from a major chain (the room fixtures were better fitted than most budget chains, and they had decent bath products).

The owner and his wife were very freindly, and while they don't own the resturant in the building did get the owner to open up after she had closed to make us a quick dinner as we had arrived late (8pm - be aware that during quiet season most resturants shut early so this was a real break for us or else we would have had to drive back into Rapid City!). They were very nice and helpful and made us feel at home. For half the price of a major chain hotel we got a bigger, nicer and newer room. - Still not the Ritz but better than a Best Western!

  • Liked — Value for money
  • Disliked — Early closing time of resturant
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank AussieinDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2007

We stayed at the Roosevelt inn this July and had a great time. We have two kids – 6 and 9 – so we were anxious to find a place comfortable for them. They found the indoor pool and jacuzzi fun, and spent their evening hours using the pool table, playing the arcade style games or watching the giant-screen tv in the recreation room. Our rooms were clean and the place seemed quite secure. The location was great; we were right opposite the giant downhill Presidents Slide for the kids and the road, made an interesting running track, leading to a pretty little cemetery at its end. All the other tourist attractions were within easy reach, plus the staff at the hotel were always on hand to offer advice, directions and/or an informed history of the area. We never woke in time to try breakfast (we were jetlagged), but the coffee hit the spot and the pizza restaurant next door made a delicious dinner. Our week in Keystone sped by and we were wowed by all that the Black Hills has to offer. It’s definitely a good place to spend time, effortless in every way, and the Roosevelt Inn was a good place to be based.

  • Liked — location, recreation room, internet access
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Harriol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2007

We recently stayed here for 2 nights and thought the Roosevelt Inn was a very clean and well located hotel.
Keystone is not a great town, its a total tourist trap so we were pleased that the hotel sat on the fringes of town heading towards Mt Rushmore.
Our room #302 was huge and spotlessly clean. We had a very comfortable bed, TV, dvd, fridge, large bathroom and more free Oil of Olay testers than you could shake a stick at.
The hotel was very quiet even though I think it was fully booked. We used the hot tub which was a great way of relaxing after a busy day of sightseeing.
The breakfast offerings were a bit thin on the ground but we hadn't been expecting any sort of breakfast at all. We went across to the Executive Grill for breakfast one day - avoid at all costs. The food was ok but the place is dirty and full of flies. The guy on reception said the best value for money breakfast is in the cafeteria at Mt Rushmore so we ate there the next day and he wasn't wrong.

  • Liked — Its location.
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank SuziR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, CT
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2007

We recently stayed at the Roosevelt Inn for two nights and did day trips from there. We were pleasantly surprised when we arrived. For some unknown reason our room was upgraded to a family suite which was perfect for our family. The room was very clean & well maintained.
The Inn is very close to Mt. Rushmore and also the local attractions.
We had dinner at Adventure's in BBQ which was very good.

  • Liked — room upgrade
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Berts06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison Wisconsin
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2007

After reading some nice reviews about this place, we decided to stay 1 night. it was very disappointing. The breakfast was coffee and fried donut, even this had limited choice. There was no fruit, protein or cereal, or even juice. There was nothing for our kids and ourself to eat. The bathroom was very small that fits only a toilet and a bathtub with shower. The sink was outside the bathroom door. The staff was not very helpful as he or she was busy on the phone a lot and even when we called from the room, the line would be busy, even trying to call a toll free number. Maybe their phone line could not handle too many phone calls. There was a pool on the second floor but did not look inviting and nobody played there. The location was convenient to Mt Rushmore, and the place was quite and clean. But there are so many choices in Keystone. If you have kids and want a true continental breakfast or a useful pool, this is not your place to stay.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — overpriced, terrible breakfast, lack of service, poor pool, phone problem
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank jennifermadison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Keystone hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keystone
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Keystone
0.1 mi away
Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites
2.0 mi away
The Lodge at Mount Rushmore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mt. Rushmore's White House Resort
0.3 mi away
Mt. Rushmore's Washington Inn & Suites
6.0 mi away
Mountain View Lodge & Cabins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roosevelt Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roosevelt Inn

Property: Roosevelt Inn
Address: 206 Cemetery Road, Keystone, SD 57751 (Formerly Guesthouse Mount Rushmore)
Region: United States > South Dakota > Keystone
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Keystone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Roosevelt Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small, family owned and operated, limited-service hotel located in the city limits of Keystone, SD, at the base of Mt. Rushmore National Memorial. Property has a variety of rooms, ranging from small, economy rooms with one queen sized bed to large family suites that can accommodate up to seven persons. Pool & Hot Tub operate seasonally (June, July, August). Airport transfers available at a nominal charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Roosevelt Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roosevelt Hotel Keystone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing