We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Roosevelt Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Roosevelt Inn
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Keystone
winnipeg
Level Contributor
56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Very good hotel”
Reviewed 8 August 2009

This was a very good hotel. I was a bit hesitant when I booked it but it turned out to be a great place to stay. We used it as a base to travel to Mt. Rushmore, Custer Park, Devils Tower, Jewel Cave. It was a good location. We never had a problem parking, the hotel was quiet, good swimming pool but very hot and humid to just sit and watch your kids swim. Good games room with pool and foosball, helpful staff. The rooms were clean and comfortable and have a fridge. I would definitely recommend staying at this hotel. The pizza place below is quite good as well.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mommytwogirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    94
    62
    29
    14
See reviews for
122
75
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aldan, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2009

Decent hotel. room was good and clean.. towels and sheets were dingy looking, BUT clean. Stayed on 3rd floor with balcony , that was nice, pool area was okay but needs major ventilation. They shouldve never enclosed that area.. Heard people saying the same thing. nicer to swim outdoors and considering swimming is only in warmer months it wouldve been better being opened up, but definitely needs air moving around that whole area.. Hot tub water was a bit hot, but just my opinion...Rec room was nice , but that too was WARM and no air circulation..... had no problems at all with parking. Parked out back every time... 2nd floor had the pool chlorine smell, but i think it was addressed, hallway doors were left open and windows .... The hotel was described as they said on website. if you want the hyatt then go somewhere else... it was good for us.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nancye361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fresno,CA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2009

This is your basic hotel. No frills. Our room did not have bedspreads, so that was a little unusual. Just a regular blanket? (both nights) Linens and Towels are not the best.
The location makes it attractive, close to sites and many food options nearby.
The room was clean.
Staff was pleasant but not what I would consider friendly. They seemed a little bored
with their job.
Pizza Parlor onsite had good food.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justjcruzn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
knoxville,illinoid
1 review
Reviewed 19 July 2009

Got there the hallways had a slight smell to them, but the room was fine. Went to Mt. Rushmore returned around 10:30, no parking remained. Got to the room and got the kids ready for bed and our 111 year old found hair on the sheets. Stayed the night, mentioned it to the owner and said he would mention it to housekeeeping. Will never stay, if we come back and will not recommend.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emos1800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Keystone hotels

Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
67 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2009

My husband and I stayed here with family from TX because it was close to Mt. Rushmore. Hotels in Keystone seemed overpriced and this one looked like it was what we needed for the price. The photos on the web were slightly misleading. As other reveiwers said, it was in a crowded area (which describes the area of Keystone in general) and the parking was horrible. There are probably no more than 25 parking spots that fill up at night quickly. The staff was not overly friendly or helpful. The room was very clean had enough room as any other standard motel room. Breakfast was very sparse, much less than I have gotten at other places that offer continental breakfast. However, there
are restaurants close by ( I would recommendI the Excutive Grill across the street...pretty good, nice staff, fast and cheap). While I was not completely dissatisfied with this hotel, it might be worth it to stay in a different town and drive to attractions.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Txgirl79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rose57751, Owner at Roosevelt Inn, responded to this review, 17 July 2009
People often comment about parking issues in reviews about virtually every property in Keystone. This is because Keystone is located right in the middle of the Black Hills and there's not a lot of flat land available. Moreover like most mountain communities, what land is available is too expensive to allow for vast parking facilities. For the record, the Roosevelt Inn has 39 off-street parking spaces for 32 rooms which is one of the highest space-to-room ratios in Keystone. Also, there is on-street parking nearby. This reviewer's comments may stem from the fact that BigTime Pizza is located in the Roosevelt Inn. This is a popular restaurant and their patrons often occupy hotel parking. One other minor point that travelers may wish to consider: The Roosevelt Inn does not offer a continental breakfast. We set out complimentary baked goods and hot drinks in the morning but we do not, and never have, called this a breakfast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2009

My family chose the Roosevelt Inn for our most recent visit to the Mt. Rushmore area for its convenience to the attractions we were planning to visit, and most of all the price. After pricing other Express hotels at around $200 per night, under $90 was a steal. We had a room directly across from the activity room where we were able to play cards while our kids watched a movie on the large screen TV. The wireless internet was surprisingly fast, and the staff was quick to help out with the security code when I was too lazy to read the postings about where to retrieve the code. It is on channel 20 by the way. The pool was not very large, but if you are looking for a resort sized pool, stay in Rapid City. We had a room overlooking the heli landing pads, and we were able to nap during the day with little distraction. Our room was a good size. We had a king sized bed, fold out couch, and still had room for a pack & play for the little one. The balcony was roomy, and didn't seem at all crowded when we were all enjoying the helicopters.

Mt. Rushmore is about a 5 minute drive from the hotel, which is about as close as you can get. Rapid City attractions are under 30 minutes away. We spent a lot of time at Old McDonald's Farm and Story Book Island as well as Dinosaur Park. Each day we returned to the hotel for the kid's naps before venturing out again.

Overall I would definitely recommend this hotel, and I will be staying there next time I need a hotel in the area.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TriplM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 June 2009

We stayed here during our trip to the Black Hills. Since we had younger kids with us we booked one of the family suites. The suites are nice and roomy... there is a seperate living area seperated from the sleeping area with TV, desk, table, mini-bar area with small refrigerator and microwave. The one thing that wasn't that great is there was no sink in the mini-bar area. You had to use the bathroom sink. But... it was nice having (wireless) high-speed internet. (the wireless network was very reliable) Also, the hotel is right across from the helicoter tour take off and landing... which I thought was cool. We could sit on our balcony and watch the helicopters come and go. They were loud but it was fun to watch. If you wanted to sleep during the day, the noise may be a bother, but we weren't there during the day much. I thought this was a plus. Also.. nice to have an onsite restaurant. The pizza is GOOD! Location is good too... it is right next to the alpine slide and within walking distance of the Keystone downtown area. We walked downtown with a 4 and 6 year old and it wasn't too far to walk. Pool isn't much to speak of.. and the contintal breakfast was't that great... but overall, it was a good place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OmahaTraveleer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keystone
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Keystone
0.1 mi away
Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites
2.0 mi away
The Lodge at Mount Rushmore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mt. Rushmore's White House Resort
7.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Golden Spike Inn & Suites
0.8 mi away
K Bar S Lodge
K Bar S Lodge
#1 of 14 in Keystone
831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roosevelt Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roosevelt Inn

Property: Roosevelt Inn
Address: 206 Cemetery Road, Keystone, SD 57751 (Formerly Guesthouse Mount Rushmore)
Region: United States > South Dakota > Keystone
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Keystone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Roosevelt Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small, family owned and operated, limited-service hotel located in the city limits of Keystone, SD, at the base of Mt. Rushmore National Memorial. Property has a variety of rooms, ranging from small, economy rooms with one queen sized bed to large family suites that can accommodate up to seven persons. Pool operates seasonally (June, July, August). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Roosevelt Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roosevelt Hotel Keystone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing