We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Roosevelt Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Roosevelt Inn
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Keystone
Hong Kong, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“good place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2007

We stayed at the Roosevelt inn this July and had a great time. We have two kids – 6 and 9 – so we were anxious to find a place comfortable for them. They found the indoor pool and jacuzzi fun, and spent their evening hours using the pool table, playing the arcade style games or watching the giant-screen tv in the recreation room. Our rooms were clean and the place seemed quite secure. The location was great; we were right opposite the giant downhill Presidents Slide for the kids and the road, made an interesting running track, leading to a pretty little cemetery at its end. All the other tourist attractions were within easy reach, plus the staff at the hotel were always on hand to offer advice, directions and/or an informed history of the area. We never woke in time to try breakfast (we were jetlagged), but the coffee hit the spot and the pizza restaurant next door made a delicious dinner. Our week in Keystone sped by and we were wowed by all that the Black Hills has to offer. It’s definitely a good place to spend time, effortless in every way, and the Roosevelt Inn was a good place to be based.

  • Liked — location, recreation room, internet access
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Harriol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    94
    62
    29
    14
See reviews for
122
75
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2007

We recently stayed here for 2 nights and thought the Roosevelt Inn was a very clean and well located hotel.
Keystone is not a great town, its a total tourist trap so we were pleased that the hotel sat on the fringes of town heading towards Mt Rushmore.
Our room #302 was huge and spotlessly clean. We had a very comfortable bed, TV, dvd, fridge, large bathroom and more free Oil of Olay testers than you could shake a stick at.
The hotel was very quiet even though I think it was fully booked. We used the hot tub which was a great way of relaxing after a busy day of sightseeing.
The breakfast offerings were a bit thin on the ground but we hadn't been expecting any sort of breakfast at all. We went across to the Executive Grill for breakfast one day - avoid at all costs. The food was ok but the place is dirty and full of flies. The guy on reception said the best value for money breakfast is in the cafeteria at Mt Rushmore so we ate there the next day and he wasn't wrong.

  • Liked — Its location.
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank SuziR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, CT
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2007

We recently stayed at the Roosevelt Inn for two nights and did day trips from there. We were pleasantly surprised when we arrived. For some unknown reason our room was upgraded to a family suite which was perfect for our family. The room was very clean & well maintained.
The Inn is very close to Mt. Rushmore and also the local attractions.
We had dinner at Adventure's in BBQ which was very good.

  • Liked — room upgrade
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Berts06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison Wisconsin
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2007

After reading some nice reviews about this place, we decided to stay 1 night. it was very disappointing. The breakfast was coffee and fried donut, even this had limited choice. There was no fruit, protein or cereal, or even juice. There was nothing for our kids and ourself to eat. The bathroom was very small that fits only a toilet and a bathtub with shower. The sink was outside the bathroom door. The staff was not very helpful as he or she was busy on the phone a lot and even when we called from the room, the line would be busy, even trying to call a toll free number. Maybe their phone line could not handle too many phone calls. There was a pool on the second floor but did not look inviting and nobody played there. The location was convenient to Mt Rushmore, and the place was quite and clean. But there are so many choices in Keystone. If you have kids and want a true continental breakfast or a useful pool, this is not your place to stay.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — overpriced, terrible breakfast, lack of service, poor pool, phone problem
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank jennifermadison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Keystone hotels

Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2007

We have returned from out trip out West to see Mt. Rushmore and the sites around that area. We were delighted to stay at the Roosevelt Inn. We were welcomed as we first walked in by Cal, the friendly front desk clerk. He checked us in and told us about the amenities of the hotel such as the continental breakfast, pool & whirlpool, the game room, the restaurant right next door, and other things much to numerous to mention. He made us feel right at home.

When we went into our room, we were delighted to see how clean it was and beautifully laid out. The balcony was wonderful to sit out on and watch the people drive by on the way to or from seeing Mt. Rushmore. It was nice to take in the wonderful mountain air right from your own hotel room. The bathroom was well-laid out with the sink separate from the showering area so getting ready in the morning didn't take as long. We needed some extra towels, and the person from the front desk had brought them up as soon as we had asked for them. The service was wonderful.

I would definitely recommend the Roosevelt Inn as a place to stay for comfort and value.

  • Liked — The location, price, and value.
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Goldpicker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tacoma, WA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2007

We stayed at the Roosevelt Inn for two nights in June. The first thing we noticed was that it isn't tucked away in the mountain side like it looks in the pictures. It's on the main strip of Keystone with a hotel to one side and a restaurant on the other. Our room was nice with two queen beds, a small fridge, a DVD player and a balcony. The room was clean and the beds were soft but comfortable. The continental breakfast was sparce at best. They didn't have much and what they had wasn't appealing (frozen waffles, frozen english muffins, dry mini donuts). The pool was small, but perfect for my 10 year old and me. With so few rooms in the hotel the pool never seemed to be overcrowded. We enjoyed the game room with the pool table and video games. It had a big screen TV, but I never saw anyone watching it. With the exception of the washer and dryer (which was in an aclove off the hallway and only used during the day) the hotel was very quiet. The pizza place served good pizza (but not the best I've ever had). Keystone is really a tourist trap, but it's booming. I enjoyed my time in Keystone more than Hill City as there was more to see and do.

  • Liked — game room
  • Disliked — breakfast
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank twomed1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2007

The photo on their internet site would leave you to believe that this hotel is in a forest. Not so, it is at the end of town and surrounded by other small motels and fairly congested.

Rooms were barely adequate. A cheaply constructed place.

Never again.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Very cheaply done
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank toma2o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keystone
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Keystone
0.1 mi away
Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites
2.0 mi away
The Lodge at Mount Rushmore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mt. Rushmore's White House Resort
7.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Golden Spike Inn & Suites
0.8 mi away
K Bar S Lodge
K Bar S Lodge
#1 of 14 in Keystone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roosevelt Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roosevelt Inn

Property: Roosevelt Inn
Address: 206 Cemetery Road, Keystone, SD 57751 (Formerly Guesthouse Mount Rushmore)
Region: United States > South Dakota > Keystone
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Keystone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Roosevelt Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small, family owned and operated, limited-service hotel located in the city limits of Keystone, SD, at the base of Mt. Rushmore National Memorial. Property has a variety of rooms, ranging from small, economy rooms with one queen sized bed to large family suites that can accommodate up to seven persons. Pool operates seasonally (June, July, August). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Roosevelt Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roosevelt Hotel Keystone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing