We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“enjoyable stay”

Stamford Gate Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Holywell
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Stamford Gate Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Holywell
Pontypool, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“enjoyable stay”
Reviewed 26 April 2013

I stayed only one night but arrived early and was allowed into my room. Room was very comfortable also very clean. I did like the fact that I had quite a good choice of drinks I could make in my room and also there was enough milk to make quite a f.A good nights sleep. Breakfast was very good.Staff were very helpful and took the time to make you feel welcome. very good car parking facilities

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debbie_clarke61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    18
    2
    5
    4
See reviews for
23
5
1
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes
1 review
Reviewed 22 April 2013

My daughter and I stayed in this hotel as we were attending a family function being held in Holywell. The room was quite spacious,extremely clean and confortable. The "common parts" ie. corridors and reception areas are a little tired and dated but overall the value for money and the extremely good pub-style food could not be faulted.

Room Tip: The rooms in the extension are away from the resteraunt and pub area so much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2013

No reservation, 7PM arrival, carpark fairly full, we were afraid the hotel might be full. After a short wait at reception, we were given a nice double room for what we'd come to think of as 'good rate', about 60-65 GBP. Large quiet room, looked to have been newly redecorated, lovely view over fields. We think it was being updated as there were carpet samples in reception area. Breakfast was quite generous, plenty of choices. Staff very friendly, helpful. On check-out, drove around area a bit, very pretty, coastal highway.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mirolex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 October 2012

Totally recommend staying here!
I recently stayed with my son and husband while traveling across the UK.
The last available room was a double room however the manager (sarah - forgive me if that is incorrect) said it would be no trouble for her to arrange an extra bed for our son. We got the luggage out of the car and all was ready. Super service.
We also ate in the bar. The food was fabulous and we were offered a wide selection of British sauces. We were served by the manager who made us feel right at home!
The manager gave us some great information regarding the local area and even printed off a map.

We totally recommend the Stamford hotel and next time we are in the UK we definitely we stay again!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrMeanmachine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2012

Had lovely food in the pub area. staff very friendly/helpful especially the manager. we arrived late and quickly set up an extra bed for child.
Rooms ok, maybe needing little moderising but clean and comfortable all the same

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank busymum09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Wales
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2012

Went for an impromptu teatime meal i bar. The food is OK, the sauces on two of the meals were very runny, but tasted nice. The chips are called home made but we thought they were more like top end frozen. Staff really nice and friendly, service for food was quick but to pay was slow as only two staff to take food and drink orders. They are so near to be a great place to eat, but just not quite there. We also felt it is a bit expensive for pub meals.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NorthWalesJackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012 via mobile

We recently moved to the area and knew no hotels or restaurants so when friends visited we decided to try the Stamford Gate. So glad we did as it is excellent. We have now been five times and every meal was a delight. The staff are so courteous and friendly. The food is always lovely and hot and nothing is too much trouble. We went the night before a funeral and the staff were amazing treating us as extra special guests which was very comforting at a sad time. We are happy to bring our visitors for a meal without worrying if it will be good or not. Keep up the good work.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Mave L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holywell
1.8 mi away
Springfield Hotel & Health Club
Springfield Hotel & Health Club
#1 of 1 in Pentre Halkyn
453 reviews
3.3 mi away
Travelodge Halkyn
Travelodge Halkyn
#1 of 1 in Halkyn
120 reviews
7.0 mi away
Beaufort Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Mountain Park Hotel
Mountain Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Flint
167 reviews
7.1 mi away
Northop Hall Country House Hotel
0.3 mi away
Glan Yr Afon Inn
Glan Yr Afon Inn
#1 of 1 in Dolphin
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stamford Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stamford Gate Hotel

Property: Stamford Gate Hotel
Address: Halkyn Road, Holywell CH8 7SJ, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Flintshire > Holywell
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Holywell
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Stamford Gate Hotel Holywell, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing