We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SNOW in late March!!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stokyn Hall Bed & Breakfast

Stokyn Hall Bed & Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Holywell
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Stokyn Hall Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 9 Holywell B&B and Inns
Ohio
Level Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“SNOW in late March!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2013

We stayed with the Penmans for the 4th time in the big snow of March 2013. As always the entire family is most welcoming and even when the electric went out we had a huge breakfast with fried bread and the fire was warm in the dining room! This Edwardian house is wonderful with much original furniture -the "White and blue " bedroom is almost a museum! Wonderful views of the sea and the lights of Liverpool at night from both rooms. The bathroom is shared with 1 other room but is lovely -with not just a shower but also a HUGE original tub! The yard is beautiful with large trees and a great dog named Max. Llinos is a terrific cook . Be sure to book her supper(Hint -choose steak and ale pie or lamb with her own mint sauce) Veggies are fresh and desserts are very good (my favorite is the Chocolate frozen roll! Sitting in the dining room filled with antiques eating this excellent food by the fire ,it is easy to imagine oneself in"Downton Abbey"!!! For L70 double Stokyn Hall is exceptional value but the Penman family makes the stay an memorable experience!

Room Tip: White room is huge! Smaller room also filled with antiques. Holywell town has interesting pilgrimage...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kathiIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
4
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2012

Stokyn Hall is a Deeside gem. The house dates back to at least the early 18th century and the owners Peter and Llinos have the paperwork to prove it.

The house is at the end of a long lane and the final bend reveals the impressive building. Everything is on a grand scale and the restoration work has been sympathetic and traditional. The furnishings are practical, comfortable and tasteful.

The welcome was warm and inviting and can be in Welsh or English as appropriate. In my one night stay I met the owners Peter and Llinos, the children and the house pets and all made me feel very much at home.

I opted for the evening meal and I am glad I did. It was a hearty meal, blasus iawn, chicken breast sandwiching bacon in a cream sauce with boiled potatoes, carrots, green beans and cauliflower. This was followed by a beautiful homemade pecan pie with ice cream. A choice of wine or beer included.

A very comfortable night of deep sleep in the totally silent surroundings preceded a delightful cooked breakfast. I will certainly stay here again when I am in the area and would recommend it to single business travellers or couples and families at leisure.

Furthermore it is excellent value!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
welwyn garden
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2012

The 'white bedroom' we stayed in is huge with a fantastic stenciled ceiling!! and all the furniure is original 'Waring and Gillows' the hosts gave us a very warm welcome when we stayed and the breakfast was outstanding as was the evening meal that was cooked for us we wished we had more meals there cause it was such good value for money too!! insted of trying it on our last night of our holiday

Room Tip: When you book a room ask for the 'White Bedroom'
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank james n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2012

A stay at this exquisite place is a lovely experience that shouldn't be passed up. A stunning location overlooking the coast, unbelievably ornate and grand rooms, and warm & friendly hosts to boot (plus a top breakfast and big old bath tub!)

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holywell
3.9 mi away
Springfield Hotel & Health Club
Springfield Hotel & Health Club
#1 of 1 in Pentre Halkyn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
5.7 mi away
Mountain Park Hotel
Mountain Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Flint
3.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
1.4 mi away
Celyn Villa Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#3 of 9 in Holywell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
2.3 mi away
Glan Yr Afon Inn
Glan Yr Afon Inn
#1 of 1 in Dolphin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
6.4 mi away
Oakenholt Farm Country Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stokyn Hall Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stokyn Hall Bed & Breakfast

Property: Stokyn Hall Bed & Breakfast
Address: Stokyn Hall Mostyn Road Greenfield | Greenfield, Holywell CH8 9DN, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Flintshire > Holywell
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Holywell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stokyn Hall is a rural Edwardian house, with far reaching views over the Dee Estuary, yet centrally located for the towns of Holywell, Flint, Mostyn, Chester,and also hopping! distance from the 'Wales Coastal Path'. In the morning enjoy a tasty Welsh breakfast of locally sourced produce, fresh tea and coffe to set you up for the day. Evening meals, and packed lunches can be provided just ask when booking. Room rates start at £40 per person for a double room £ 50 per person for a double room single occupancy ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Stokyn Hall Bed & Breakfast Holywell, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing