We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect B&B. Gwych!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Penrhyndeudraeth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Wenallt Guest House
Reviewed 25 July 2012

A spacious and comfortable room, attactively decorated and furnished, lovely views, and all you could need to make your stay enjoyable and easy. The hosts are wonderful and thoughtful - they really go out of their way to be of help. The breakfast is delicious, with lots of choice, and there are home-made biscuits with the tea- and coffee-making facilities (which include a lot more choice than usual). They also have a commitment to being as green as possible, with full recycling facilities, use of local produce, etc. There's plenty to see and do in the area, and Sarah and Ian have lots of good suggestions on things to do which suit your interests. Diolch yn fawr iawn.

Room Tip: We stayed in the twin room which was lovely and big, but all the other guests were very pleased with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philippa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (78)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 78 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2012

One of the best B+Bs you will find, with great hosts where nothing is too much trouble both Ian and Sarah are happy to help with any questions on where to go or which pub is good to eat at. The accommodation is much better than an 4* with a spotlessly clean spacious bedroom with roomy bathroom including fluffy towels and robes, all facilities you need including a good supply of tea/coffee and home made biscuits every day - they were amazing thank you!.There is TV and comfy settee allowing time to relax. We had the 'pine' room with amazing views over the countryside and village and the evening sunshine. The full fried Breakfasts were amazing, very tasty, local produce, not greasy at all - with optional extras if you wanted them such as beans, black pudidng and fried bread, Also cerials, juice, yoghurts, toast - enough to keep even the most hungry contented. Eating out: Be warned when we went early June2012 the two pubs in the village did not serve food but there were plans to - the nearest pub (5 mins by car) called The Ring - was excellent and highly recommnded. Portneriion is 10 min drive as are numerous other villages to visit and wonderful gardens and steam railways..so much to do with your time. Osprey look out 10 mins by car. We would definately recommed this B+B 100% - book in advance so not to be disapointed...
Thank you Ian and Sarah for a wonderful stay at your lovely B+B - thanks for everything.

Room Tip: If you like the afternoon/evening sunshine, go for the Pine room. If you are not bothered about this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KarLez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2012

The Guest House was exceptionally clean, the rooms were spacious and extremely comfortable. The beds were very comfortable, the towels were fluffy, and this certainly felt more like a five star, rather than the four star it is. The proprietors, Sarah and Ian were very friendly, nothing was too much trouble, and the breakfast was lovely. The gardens were beautiful, and you could sit in them and look out at the lovely scenery.
I would certainly stay there again and would certainly recommend it one hundred per cent.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank happytripper05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2011

The reason why so many people come back again and again to the Wenallt is that this is simply one of the best B&Bs you could find. Friendly and knowledgeable hosts, spotless spacious rooms with great views and delicious breakfast to set you up for the day.
If you don't have a car there are good bus services and both the Ffestiniog and National Rail stations within a short walk.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Darien_and_Ann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2011

A friend and I spent a night here when we visited Portmeirion and it was well worth it. We each had a double room. Both were large (with a sofa) spotless and well kept.

Homemade flapjacks and a choice of tea, coffee and chocolate were provided in the room. The bathrooms had a selection of toileteries (normally I don't take these home but they were so good I couldn't resist). The beds were very comfortable. As soft as the US hotel beds.

The breakfast was great. The owner was delightful, providing loads of information and advice on the local area, as well as suggestions on where to eat in the local town. Try the Indian (Lemon tree).

I'd take this any day over the five star hotels I normally stay in for work and I'll definately be staying there again when I go back to North Wales next year.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cmor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A Holiday Lettings verified reviewer
South Wales
3934
Reviewed 21 August 2011

Room Tip: All the rooms we saw were superb, just let Ian and Sarah pick one for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A Holiday Lettings verified reviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 3 August 2011

We stayed at the Wenallt guesthouse as we were attending a friends wedding in Portmeirion, which is just down the road.
The room was huge - with a really large bathroom as well. The bed was one of the most comfortable I've ever slept on. We were made to feel really welcome.
Also the breakfast as fantastic. My boyfriend and I are both vegetarians are were catered for really well. Often veggie breakfast can be a bit of an afterthought for B&Bs, but not here.
In the room was left some homemade shortbread biscuits - which were delicious!
They could not have done more.
We could definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonMissy_c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penrhyndeudraeth
0.0 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
1,487 reviews
0.0 mi away
Royal Sportsman Hotel
Royal Sportsman Hotel
#2 of 2 in Porthmadog
701 reviews
0.0 mi away
Caerwylan Hotel
Caerwylan Hotel
#1 of 6 in Criccieth
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Travelodge Porthmadog Hotel
0.0 mi away
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
#2 of 6 in Criccieth
298 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tudor Lodge
Tudor Lodge
#2 of 12 in Porthmadog
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wenallt Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wenallt Guest House

Address: Penrhyndeudraeth LL48 6PW, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Penrhyndeudraeth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Penrhyndeudrae...
Price Range: £25 - £35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Wenallt Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
VisitWales 4 star Guest House. Our family-run B&B is less than 2 miles from Portmeirion and is Steam Railway Magazine's "Best B&B for Ffestiniog Railway"(station 10 minutes walk). Spacious, well-equipped double, twin or single rooms, all en-suite with comfortable seating, digital Freeview TVs, beverage trays and period features. Delicious traditional or vegetarian breakfasts with views over Penrhyndeudraeth to estuary and mountains beyond. Quality accommodation at great value. Discounts for longer stays. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing