We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous B&B for North Wales” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wenallt Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Penrhyndeudraeth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Wenallt Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous B&B for North Wales”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

My third time staying at Wenallt and still just as pleased as the first time. Nice old house looking out over the village of Penrhyndeudraeth, the estuary and the hills beyond. Quiet with friendly hosts who stay out of the way, but manage to appear whenever you need them. The breakfast is so good you probably won't need lunch! Reasonably good restaurants (Pubs & Indian plus a Chip shop & Chinese take away) within walking distance and some really good restaurants within 15 minute drive. Generous Tea/Coffee/HotChoc with kettle in room. Great location for Ffestiniog & Welsh Highland Railways - the host is one of the steam engine drivers and was also project manager for a significant part of the recent rebuilding of the Welsh Highland. I intend staying again on my next visit to this part of the world.

Room Tip: They are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnCassels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
35
10
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Southampton
Level Contributor
328 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

Many of the original features remain of this 1900s house, built for the Baptist minister of the nearby church, but the facilities offered are right up to date, spotlessly clean and comfortable. Soft pillows (I always carry my own...no need this time), - synthetic ones available - light duvet, settee and easy chair, and little touches..a welcome tray, sewing kit, shoe cleaning kit,hot water bottle, home-made cookies, all offer a sense of well being. The house is non-smoking and "as green as possible".
B/fast was excellent with a good choice of cereals and preserves, fruit, and a piping hot Welsh cooked b/fast, using local produce.
In the evening we ate at the Brondan Arms, about 2 miles away, with a good and wide choice of menu and an outside sitting/eating area overlooking Snowdon. On the first night we ate at the Lemon Tree (a short walk down the hill) where you could get any combination from the large Bangladesh menu. It was half price on the night we went, so an evening meal for two was £11, exceptional value!
Parking is available. We suggest you approach the house from the bottom of the hill in the villiage of Penrhryndeudreath.
We stayed at Wenallt to use the Welsh Highland Railway, only 10 mins away in Porthmadog. We suggest you get your ticket early and park in the public carpark behind the Shell garage where there is plenty of room (£3.50 for the day). There is parking at the station but you would need to be there by 8.30 am. Train reservations are for first class only.
We would not hesitate to return to Wenallt some time in the future.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wyntyll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014

If you want a Rolls Royce B&B, then come here. It's quiet, roomy, luxurious, with lots of extras. The breakfast is superb. It's friendly. Lovely basket of shampoo etc., flannel, dressing gown, in the spotlessly clean bathroom. Tea/coffee/chocolate making facilities with tea pot and fresh milk on request. Home made biscuits out every day. Wow!

Room Tip: Just ask for what you want, but all the rooms are superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llandysul, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2013

Despite it being nearly Christmas and our hosts being very busy with decorating their front room before family arriving, they gave us the usual thoughtful care and attention, wonderful cooking and all facilities, and were incredibly flexible when needed. I think this is our 4th visit - all the others have been in summer, but we had just as good a time there in a stormy winter week. A really exceptional B&B. It makes a very comfortable and spacious 'home base' from which to explore or re-visit the area.

Room Tip: We were a group of friends this time, using a twin room and a single room - both were equally good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Philippa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stoke on trent
Level Contributor
100 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

we stayed october 2013 what a lovely bed n breakfast the room was spotilessly clean we has the glas room double wow veiws were brill the room is so big sittee arm chair free bottles of water plenty of tea coffee and other teas home made biscuits and flap jack lovely treats bathroom is big to full bath and shower bed was most comfortable breakfast is fabulous pipeing hot and sarah and ian are very friendly lovely people we will defo be going back

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank elaine m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

Located a short walk from both the mainline station and the Ffestniog steam railway, the Wenallt is an outstanding option. I spent a few days here at the start of September and couldn't have had a better time. Ian and Sarah were outstanding hosts who made me feel really welcome and respected and it was a genuine pleasure to have been a guest.

The accommodation was particularly comfortable; all beautifully furnished en-suite rooms with Freeview TV and generous hospitality trays (the home-made flapjacks were delicious!). Breakfast is amazing, in fact it's up there with the best that I've had in any guest house - It really set me up for some wonderful country and coastal walks and it was great to have received so much help and assistance in planning my day-trips. I fulfilled a long-held ambition to visit Portmeirion during my visit and I have to say it was superb :).

There's a lovely garden at the guest house and there are plenty of eating options in the nearby village, all of which I found very impressive. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the Wenallt to anybody looking for friendly and professional service and above all excellent bed and breakfast accommodation in a convenient location. The number of guests returning is clearly testament to it's popularity - I simply couldn't fault it. A well deserved 5 stars.

Room Tip: All the rooms are fabulous :).
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MRonaldSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013 via mobile

We had a thoroughly enjoyable Bank Holiday weekend at Wenallt, with our charming hosts Sarah & Ian Hartill in Penrhyndeudrath, North Wales. The property was ideally situated for our planned visits to Portmerion, the Welsh Highland Railway and the lovely beaches of Porthmadog. The property is in a village with local amenities but is quiet enough to enjoy a relaxing time and get a comfortable nights sleep. The property itself is old and quirky with nice views from the two double rooms. Both rooms are large and comfortable, with large beds, sofas and modern bathrooms. They offer lots of little extra including nice bath products, homemade biscuits, bottled water, fans for the summer and hot water bottles for the winter.
The breakfast is excellent. Plenty of choice to start with fresh fruit, cereals, yoghurts and juices followed by virtually any combination of cooked breakfast. The produce used was local and tasty and cooked to perfection. Top marks Sarah!
If we are visiting the area again we will certainly revisit Wenallt and recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raskin72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penrhyndeudraeth
0.0 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,375 reviews
0.0 mi away
Royal Sportsman Hotel
Royal Sportsman Hotel
#2 of 2 in Porthmadog
4.0 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
0.0 mi away
Brynllydan Country Guest House
Brynllydan Country Guest House
#2 of 2 in Penrhyndeudraeth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Tudor Lodge
Tudor Lodge
#1 of 7 in Porthmadog
4.5 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aberdunant Hall Holiday Park & Hotel
0.0 mi away
Estuary Lodge
Estuary Lodge
#2 of 6 in Talsarnau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wenallt Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wenallt Guest House

Property: Wenallt Guest House
Address: Penrhyndeudraeth LL48 6PW, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Penrhyndeudraeth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Penrhyndeudrae...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Wenallt Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
VisitWales 4 star Guest House. Our family-run B&B is less than 2 miles from Portmeirion and is Steam Railway Magazine's "Best B&B for Ffestiniog Railway"(station 10 minutes walk). Spacious, well-equipped double, twin or single rooms, all en-suite with comfortable seating, digital Freeview TVs, beverage trays and period features. Delicious traditional or vegetarian breakfasts with views over Penrhyndeudraeth to estuary and mountains beyond. Quality accommodation at great value. Discounts for longer stays. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing