We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expected so much more”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Black Mountain Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 May 2014

After seeing the reviews I was really looking forward to staying here. What a disappointment!!!
The rooms and the hotel were very clean and tidy, but all single beds and bunk beds squashed into bizarre corners making them dark, small and awkward to move about in. Through out the night our room was an amplifier for every water pipe, chair creak or corridor walk.
We spent all afternoon in the beer garden - which was enjoyable as it was a lovely sunny day it would have been improved if there was a single beer or larger on tap.
The most depressing part of the day was the evening meal. We paid £17 each for 4 steaks which were terrible and when we pointed this out to the young girl who was serving us she didn't know how to react apart from a sorry. This was the same the following morning when on paying our bill we pointed this out again - the young lady was apologetic and very polite. It just felt that anybody who could do anything about making our stay better had themselves gone on holiday some where else. Unfortunately I wouldn't go back.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andy_Gholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (191)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

120 - 126 of 191 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2014

Took a one nighter here whilst we visited Hay on Wye (3miles) and Hereford (20 miles) was greatly impressed by all round service. The staff were polite and helpful, the rooms were spotlessly clean and quite luxurious (being pedantic a brighter light in the bathroom please!) the food was excellent and the grounds superbly maintained. Thanks and Well Done!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wynne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

I recently stayed here with my family in their family room. I had taken my partner here two years ago and we enjoyed our stay and at that point it felt like 4 star accommodation. Unfortunately, this time it was not 4 star at all! The family room smelt of damp I had to open all of the windows. When we arrived the room was not cleaned adequately with dust all over the skirting boards and cob webs on the ceiling. There was no shampoo or shower gel and soap provided or toilet rolls!!! We had to ask for all these and they did sort this out and re-clean the room. The beds though in the night were very creaky and uncomfortable and to be honest it was like staying in a youth hostel rather than 4 star accommodation. The staff member who dealt with our complaint had said she would communicate this to staff the following day to enable us to have a discount. Again disappointed as this was not communicated so we had to go through all the story again.
We left feeling rather fed up and it has put us off staying here again. Gone down hill I am afraid.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RAC42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Came for Sunday lunch. We used to use this hotel many years back when it was a different name. The well kept lawns, flower tubs and well kept grounds made a welcome start to our day. We were met by very pleasant young staff who did everything to be helpful. The whole place shines and is so well kept. Lunch was first class, a good varied menu, everything cooked to perfection and a really enjoyable experience at an affordable price. We are glad we have returned to Black Mountain Lodge and as we live in Hay-on-Wye, which is 4 miles away, where most places are not that good and very overpriced we will certainly be returning.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bri J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

The Lodge ideally situated for touring, activities and sightseeing. The Lodge itself was superb, room comfortable and exceptionally clean. Food varied and nutritious and the staff very friendly and attentive. Will definitely visit again.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Gillie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Only stopped here for Sunday lunch!! which was lovely! everything cooked to prefection.. Would definitly return to eat here again and will be booking to stay here in the near future..Wonderful place, staff friendly and polite and rooms were excellent.

Room Tip: Did not stay this time!! but had a look around some of the rooms!! very clean and comfortable lookin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lovely070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

My partner and I have just returned from a lovely 2 night stay at Black Mountain Lodge. Our room was gorgeous and spotlessly clean...with a marvellous view. It was just as the picture on their website shows. All the staff at the lodge were attentive and polite...Joe behind the bar was particularly friendly. The breakfast was delicious and served at a lie-in friendly time. Dinner was also yummie, serving dishes from locally sourced ingredients.

We hired mountain bikes from their activity centre; equally the staff here were really helpful and friendly. We had an amazing day exploring the Begwuns - as novices we were provided with maps and were fully briefed before setting off. We had a fantastic day albeit saddle sore the next day!

We would definitely recommend the Black Mountain Lodge and we will shall return very soon.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank muckamooh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glasbury-on-Wye
1.4 mi away
The Three Cocks Coaching Inn
The Three Cocks Coaching Inn
#1 of 1 in Three Cocks
187 reviews
0.8 mi away
Foyles of Glasbury
Foyles of Glasbury
#1 of 10 in Glasbury-on-Wye
220 reviews
0.5 mi away
The River Cafe B&B
The River Cafe B&B
#5 of 10 in Glasbury-on-Wye
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Aberllynfi House
Aberllynfi House
#2 of 10 in Glasbury-on-Wye
62 reviews
0.0 mi away
Broomfield House
Broomfield House
#7 of 10 in Glasbury-on-Wye
5 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Grange
The Grange
#1 of 1 in Glasbury-on-Wye
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Mountain Lodge

Address: The Black Mountain Lodge, Glasbury-on-Wye HR3 5PT, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Glasbury-on-Wye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Glasbury-on-Wye
Price Range: £74 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Black Mountain Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The oldest part of this lovely old traditional stone building is believed to date back to the 17th century. Set in its own grounds with ample free parking and located at the foothills of the Black Mountains, it is surrounded by beautiful countryside and breathtaking views. With its relaxing atmosphere and comfortable rooms, it lends itself perfectly for those wishing to visit the area to take part in outdoor activities or for those who just want to "get away from it all" and maybe visit the famous town of books Hay on Wye, with its antiques & book shops and its literary festival held in May, or visit the quaint market town Brecon to join in with its Jazz festival in August or walk the Brecon Beacons, then there is the Royal Welsh Show in July, in Builth Wells. The lodge has its own lounge bar, providing local and international beers and wines. A cosy restaurant with a delicious a la-carte menu serving seasonal local produce, which all makes for a great dining experience. You are welcome to join us for as long or as short as you like, we cater for individuals, parties, families and corporate groups, offering everything from budget shared accommodation through to deluxe four poster bedroom. The deluxe room has a four poster bed, tea/coffee felicity, 32" flat screen TV, sofa and an en-suite to die for! All other rooms except for budget rooms are en-suite with tea/coffee facilities and TVs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Black Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Mountain Lodge Glasbury-On-Wye, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing