We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Harp Inn
Nearby Hotels
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Llangoed Hall(Llyswen)
US$182
US$158
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Swan at Hay(Hay-on-Wye)
US$133
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Tower Hotel(Talgarth)
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Rhydspence Inn(Whitney-on-Wye)
US$122
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$199
US$177
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$152
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$203
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$211
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Manor Hotel(Crickhowell)
US$126
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (83)
Filter reviews
83 results
Traveller rating
62
16
3
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
62
16
3
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubpizzawarm welcomesteak and ale piehome cookedb bfriendly landlordhay on wyefeel very welcomethe riverlamb cawlan excellent hostbutty bachon taphampastrycomfy bed
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
64 - 69 of 83 reviews
Reviewed 23 November 2012

Having just returned from a wonderful weekend, I would definitely recommend this lovely country pub/b&b to everyone who enjoys wonderful food, friendly hospitality and fantastic walks and scenery!! Owners, Jayne and Grahame, gave us lots of help and advice on our choice of walking routes together with lots of great places to visit. There is a local bus service which runs to Hay-on-Wye where there are lots to see and do. Hearty breakfast and scrumptious food is cooked by Jayne served in evening with lots of choice on menu.

Looking forward to our return already:)

Already looking forward to our next visit!!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kazzakay49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2012

My partner and I stayed recently for a couple of nights. The room had a great view of the river and was very comfortable. Everything was very clean and the breakfast was fantastic! Had fabulous fish and chips one night in the bar and will definitely stay again to see more of the area.

Room Tip: Back rooms have great views of the river.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JennyDorking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

small "musty" room at the rear first floor with great views of river,but cold first thing on an autumn morning. Very good real pub atmosphere and first class hosts, great beers, very good breakfast,- but on this occasion, room not serviced on second day hence no tea/coffee/milk either. Frankly I felt misled by other peoples' earlier reviews

Room Tip: always ask to see the shower working first
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank michael d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2012

Got to this pub just after 2.00 p.m. last Tuesday. I saw the landlord's notice saying 'Food Served' and even after seeing him take it down, even though he originally told me 'Sorry, I've stopped serving food now' he made up for his original (what I thought was negative) attitude by giving me some very tasty cheese and pickle sandwiches. My only criticism of this pub is that although it is open from 12.00 midday to 3.00 p.m. for lunch, it doesn't say on the boards what time food is served. Lunch is only served until 2.00 p.m. here and if ever I am in and around Hay-on-Wye again I will be back provided the landlord puts his food serving times on the noticeboard. It may be of interest to him that I suffer from Asperger Syndrome and putting food service times on the boards outside would give other people with the condition confidence about this pub.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sightseercumrambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012 via mobile

A truely fab place. Service was sooo friendly and we were made to feel incredibly welcome. Food beautiful with home cooked scrummy chips and local beef. A lovely experience!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gemukujam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews