We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb midweek break.”
Review of The Harp Inn

The Harp Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Glasbury-on-Wye
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Harp Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Stopped here with my sister, brother and their partners on the way to Cardiff to watch Wales v Scotland. We opted for the twin room to allow my family to have the doubles. Lovely spacious room with its own little landing and bathroom. Immaculately clean and comfortable.Joined in with the "Quiz" in the bar on Thursday night and met a lot of very friendly locals after having enjoyed a lovely meal in the bar.MUST TRY THE SLOE GIN SPONGE PUDDING-its to die for!!!! Went kayaking on the river Wye up to Hay-on-Wye -Brilliant, especially as weather was so glorious.A great time had by all. Thanks to everyone we met - we will be coming again-as long as you make the sponge pudding!!!

Room Tip: Rooms to the rear have view of river. Penthouse suite has low head room owing to lovely beams.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (81)
There are newer reviews for The Harp Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 81 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2014

Myself and my fiancé visit twice a year and are never disappointed. Clean, comfortable rooms, delicious home cooked food and friendly and welcoming hosts. We always eat here when we stay and can't recommend the pizzas enough. Yummy! Well worth a visit for food, or even better, food, wine/ale and a bed for the night.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrindleBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

A great place to stay, warm welcome, clean rooms, good food and a friendly service, good value for money, enjoyed my stay after a day kayaking it was nice to come to a good place to rest, and a great breakfast, good start to the day.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sonjaturner11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Great hospitality, great food and even cooked for us on their night off. Had wonderful pizza's and great breakfast. Very happy, helpful and friendly and let us store our bikes away over night.
To top it all, they sent a charger back that I had left in the room and sponsored me on my charity bike ride.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lewis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Myself and Partner have just come back from a weekend break at the Harp Inn and to be honest I do not know where to start.
We were made very welcome on our arrival, the couple who have the Harp Graham and Jane make you feel at home. The Harp serves traditional Ales as well as normal beers so the is a great variety to enjoy.
The food is beautifully cooked By Jane and it is all Homed cooked. The rooms are all neat and tidy
and we had great veiws overlooking the River Wye.

Myself and Partner Steve will be going back again without fail, and we would recommend the Harp to anyone would wants to stop at a very friendly Inn. plus you get to meet some very nice local people . Thanks Graham and Jane for a great weekend hopefully will see you soon

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lynne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We stopped at the Harp Inn at the start of our honeymoon canoe trip. The accommodation was clean, had excellent views and spacious enough for us, two dogs and all our equipment. We received a more than friendly welcome and the landlords went beyond the call of duty to help us start our canoeing trip on the river the next day. I would thoroughly recommend the Harp Inn to anyone wishing to stop in the area, or wishing to eat as the food was splendid and the atmosphere vibrant and busy. We would also definitely recommend the Harp Inn over neighbouring accommodation who were much less accommodating to our needs.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SAndRGreen2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Stayed overnight while attending an event locally. Wish we'd eaten here as the menu looked excellent rather than the muck we had to eat!
Clean and quiet room, low ceilings as is common in older buildings, great view of the river.
Hosts were lovely people, we just made last orders and had a nice chat over a swift pint before bed.
If you're in the area you won't go far wrong here.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ray H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glasbury-on-Wye
1.1 mi away
The Three Cocks Coaching Inn
The Three Cocks Coaching Inn
#1 of 1 in Three Cocks
185 reviews
3.9 mi away
Llangoed Hall
Llangoed Hall
#1 of 1 in Llyswen
628 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Swan at Hay
The Swan at Hay
#1 of 1 in Hay-on-Wye
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Foyles of Glasbury
Foyles of Glasbury
#1 of 10 in Glasbury-on-Wye
215 reviews
0.1 mi away
The River Cafe B&B
The River Cafe B&B
#4 of 10 in Glasbury-on-Wye
107 reviews
3.6 mi away
Old Black Lion
Old Black Lion
#3 of 29 in Hay-on-Wye
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Harp Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Harp Inn

Address: A4350 to Hay on Wye | Glasbury on Wye, Glasbury-on-Wye HR3 5NR, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Glasbury-on-Wye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Glasbury-on-Wye
Hotel Class:3 star — The Harp Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional country Inn. Rooms, traditional pub food, locally sourced and made on the premises. Friendly atmosphere with musical events and local society meetings. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Harp Inn Glasbury-On-Wye, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing