We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Lunch”
Review of The River Cafe B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The River Cafe B&B
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Initialt visit after seeing ad. We are 50mins away and our drive was worth every minute,

The setting makes perfect use of its riverside setting and indoors and outdoors is well done. The staff [or owner/s] were welcoming, enthusiastic and attentive and the food we had we would have again. We all felt the delicious desserts were rather expensive [but I am beginning to wonder if this is a trend] but it didn't spoil our Thursday outing lunch, and we will go again, no doubt as a special occasion.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank JERSEYGIRL201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (107)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 107 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2013

Stayed at the River Cafe B&B for one night as we were going to the last weekend of the 'How the Light Gets In' festival in Hay on Wye. This is the second year we've stayed here and I'd just like to echo other reviewers' comments. The B&B is in a lovely spot overlooking the river, and when the weather is good is great to sit out and watch the wildlife and watch the world go by. The rooms are well equipped, clean, and comfy and the staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast is all top quaility produce and substantial enough to last you through until supper. We've only eaten breakfast, and cake and coffee here but if these are anything to go by I'm sure the meals on offer are equally delicious. The B&B is great value for money and only a short drive into Hay (for the festival) and convenient for other local attractions. I would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: The twin room has french doors looking out onto the river. This room faces the road which can be no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trixie772
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

Looking for a reasonably priced B & B for a family wedding in the area the River Cafe, Glasbury was spot on, good location, comfortable clean room, good food and friendly staff, just a pity I couldn't stop more than 1 night.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kaggi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

Agree with all the comments, lovely place, Great Coffee and cakes, sit outside and watch the world go by...perfect. Add to this by taking in some Kayaking with River Strokes, great tuition even for a old duffer like me, thanks to Dan for a great time

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank shephepe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2013

We did not stay overnight as we live relatively locally. This is a little jewel of a place sat on the bridge at Glasbury. The atmosphere is friendly and intimate. The staff are friendly and regardless of being busy have time to chat and provide a welcoming service. The setting is quaint with local art displayed and a brand new Vespa for hire in the reception area. I menu is varied and relies heavily on good quality local produce- highly recommended for an evening meal or even a coffee overlooking the River Wye.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DonMcUnitedKingdom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2013

We used this place to meet up before a kayaking trip three days on the trot and the service was brilliant, fantastic coffee and the views of the river where great!!..........i did notice while paying one morning, that they had prepared a wicked looking Panna Cotta with an actual vanilla pod! lol!! once a chef always always a chef!...........shame i had to go home that eve! because it looked lush

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rugbysimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2012

Stayed at River Cafe on a spur of the moment trip to Wales to get some kayaking practice with Dan from River Strokes (which was also great); River Cafe was the meeting place with him so seemed to make sense to stay there. That was a bit of luck. Great location, amazing service, good room and lovely food. Staff couldn't have been more helpful and friendly. Shower was piping hot after a day on the water. Bed really comfy. Dinner and breakfast - including a takeaway bacon sandwich - were great for both quality and quantity. Definately where I'll stay next time!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank richard a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glasbury-on-Wye
1.0 mi away
The Three Cocks Coaching Inn
The Three Cocks Coaching Inn
#1 of 1 in Three Cocks
186 reviews
3.8 mi away
Llangoed Hall
Llangoed Hall
#1 of 1 in Llyswen
642 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Swan at Hay
The Swan at Hay
#1 of 1 in Hay-on-Wye
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Foyles of Glasbury
Foyles of Glasbury
#1 of 10 in Glasbury-on-Wye
217 reviews
3.7 mi away
Old Black Lion
Old Black Lion
#2 of 28 in Hay-on-Wye
278 reviews
3.8 mi away
Old Radnor Barn B&B
Old Radnor Barn B&B
#1 of 7 in Talgarth
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The River Cafe B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The River Cafe B&B

Address: Glasbury Bridge | Glasbury-on-Wye, Glasbury-on-Wye HR3 5NP, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Glasbury-on-Wye
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Glasbury-on-Wye
Price Range: £93 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The River Cafe B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the river at Glasbury, 4 miles from Hay-on-Wye the River Café is a café/restaurant with 5 rooms, a bunkhouse and a canoe centre. The rooms are simple, modern and ideal for a base to explore this wonderful area. The Brecon Beacons National Park is just a short drive away and we are on the Sustran Cycle Network and the Wye Valley Walk. We get a lot of paddlers with their own canoes staying before they set off downstream. The breakfasts in the café are a treat with great coffee and a full English breakfast to set you up for the day. We are a small family run business with an entirely local staff who can help you with things to do in the area and where to walk. Return to the café in the evening for freshly cooked food and a glass of wine on the decking. What could be better! Please note we are open 7 days a week from 0830 but early close in the winter months (4pm) from Sun-Tues. Weds to Sat open 0830 till late. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The River Cafe B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The River Cafe Bed And Breakfast
The River Cafe Hotel Glasbury-On-Wye
The River Cafe B&B Glasbury-On-Wye, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing