We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, great service, great location and value for money.”
Review of The River Cafe B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The River Cafe B&B
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 September 2013 via mobile

I stayed here on Saturday 31st of August. The room was spotlessly clean and decorated to a good standard.
The food was excellent, I had an evening meal, (Scallops and chorizo to start, followed by Fish and Chips with Lemon tart for dessert).
Breakfast the next morning was delicious (Full English/Welsh consisted of Bacon, Scrambled Eggs Black Pudding, Mushrooms, Vine Tomatoes and Toast). All the ingredients were fresh and where possible, locally sourced.
I read reviews on TripAdvisor for the River Cafe before I stayed and a few reviews were complaining about the service. My experience was service of the highest quality and attention to detail. All of the staff couldn't do enough to make me feel welcome. Especially the two waiters both called Alex and a guy with a ponytail. Top marks from me for service!
I will definitely be returning here soon.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bluenosedub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (107)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 107 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2013

Ten of us visited the Wye Valley Canoe centre on Sunday 4 August and had a great time despite the pooring rain. We kicked off with an excellent coffee and bacon sarny in the River Cafe and returned there for an excellent lunch after the paddling. The owner is very friendly and helpful and food was delicious. Ten clean plates and amazing homemade puds, Its worth going just to visit the River Cafe.

Room Tip: We didnt stay over
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Wonderful garden, food, service, river view, a must stop if you pass this way! Rooms look great, Alex looks after all, service as it should be. 5 star !!! Canoes on the river and looks like expansion within the existing buildings.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank rrrjjjbbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Stumbled on this cafe after about an hour of driving looking for a pub by the river. We had given up and were returning, a tad disgruntled, to Hereford when we saw the name and thought this must be by water. We stopped and spent the next hour in a childhood story. Children swimming in the river, cooling off in the boiling heat, Dads skimming stones with their children whilst we watched and drank a welcome glass of chilled white and cold beer in the terrace overlooking a shallow river. And the white chocolate and raspberry muffin! Sinfully warm and meltingly sweet. We shared one, then another. The staff were very friendly and also pointed out that had we driven a different route we would have found a pub by the river......We were glad we didn't as this spot was perfect.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bettertotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

We popped in for a coffee after a day by the river and stayed for a couple of hours! The staff are welcoming and take the time to speak to all customers, including children. We didn't have food but it looked delicious. We sat outside, overlooking the river and the children enjoyed playing in the river and joking with the waitor. I recommend it highly and we will be returning to sample the food very soon!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Oh-Tess-Tickles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Initialt visit after seeing ad. We are 50mins away and our drive was worth every minute,

The setting makes perfect use of its riverside setting and indoors and outdoors is well done. The staff [or owner/s] were welcoming, enthusiastic and attentive and the food we had we would have again. We all felt the delicious desserts were rather expensive [but I am beginning to wonder if this is a trend] but it didn't spoil our Thursday outing lunch, and we will go again, no doubt as a special occasion.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank JERSEYGIRL201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013

Stayed at the River Cafe B&B for one night as we were going to the last weekend of the 'How the Light Gets In' festival in Hay on Wye. This is the second year we've stayed here and I'd just like to echo other reviewers' comments. The B&B is in a lovely spot overlooking the river, and when the weather is good is great to sit out and watch the wildlife and watch the world go by. The rooms are well equipped, clean, and comfy and the staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast is all top quaility produce and substantial enough to last you through until supper. We've only eaten breakfast, and cake and coffee here but if these are anything to go by I'm sure the meals on offer are equally delicious. The B&B is great value for money and only a short drive into Hay (for the festival) and convenient for other local attractions. I would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: The twin room has french doors looking out onto the river. This room faces the road which can be no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trixie772
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasbury-on-Wye hotels
0.2 mi away
Aberllynfi House
Aberllynfi House
#2 of 10 in Glasbury-on-Wye
63 reviews
0.3 mi away
Foyles of Glasbury
Foyles of Glasbury
#1 of 10 in Glasbury-on-Wye
233 reviews
0.5 mi away
Black Mountain Lodge
Black Mountain Lodge
#3 of 10 in Glasbury-on-Wye
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Broomfield House
Broomfield House
#7 of 10 in Glasbury-on-Wye
5 reviews
0 mi away
The Grange
The Grange
#1 of 1 in Glasbury-on-Wye
2 reviews
0 mi away
Maesyronnen Bed & Breakfast
Maesyronnen Bed & Breakfast
#6 of 10 in Glasbury-on-Wye
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The River Cafe B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The River Cafe B&B

Address: Glasbury Bridge | Glasbury-on-Wye, Glasbury-on-Wye HR3 5NP, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Glasbury-on-Wye
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Glasbury-on-Wye
Price Range: £88 - £178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The River Cafe B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the river at Glasbury, 4 miles from Hay-on-Wye the River Café is a café/restaurant with 5 rooms, a bunkhouse and a canoe centre. The rooms are simple, modern and ideal for a base to explore this wonderful area. The Brecon Beacons National Park is just a short drive away and we are on the Sustran Cycle Network and the Wye Valley Walk. We get a lot of paddlers with their own canoes staying before they set off downstream. The breakfasts in the café are a treat with great coffee and a full English breakfast to set you up for the day. We are a small family run business with an entirely local staff who can help you with things to do in the area and where to walk. Return to the café in the evening for freshly cooked food and a glass of wine on the decking. What could be better! Please note we are open 7 days a week from 0830 but early close in the winter months (4pm) from Sun-Tues. Weds to Sat open 0830 till late. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The River Cafe B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The River Cafe Bed And Breakfast
The River Cafe Hotel Glasbury-On-Wye
The River Cafe B&B Glasbury-On-Wye, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing