We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A perfect place to stay”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Cross House

Cross House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cross House
Master bedroom with ensuite Ensuite
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Excellent
25 reviews
Cross House
Master bedroom with ensuite
Ensuite
Ensuite sink
Ensuite shower
Family bathroom with spa bath
Family bathroom
Lounge with wood burning stove
Main reception wood burning stove ready to light with well stocked wood baskets
Well equiped kitchen
Kitchen with family sized fridge freezer and dishwasher
Kitchen alcove
Utility room with 9kg load washing machine
Original farm house stone stairs
Landing
Landing
Second reception
Second reception double sofabed
Downstairs toilet
The back of Cross House
The River Wye at Llyswen June 2014
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Glasbury-on-Wye, Powys, Wales

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
5 of 5 bubbles Excellent - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
jayne p
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
“A perfect place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

I stayed here with a large group of friends (10). I was met by Lesley who was very friendly and gave us all the information we needed to know plus more. The house is perfectly situated with a pub, café, shop and petrol station all within a stones throw. Parking wasn't an issue as there was plenty of room at the back of the house. on arrival we had everything we could need waiting for us such as tea, coffee, hot chocolate, sugar, milk, butter, jam, bread,eggs and homemade welsh cakes. I have stayed in a few self-catering cottages before and have never had this which I thought was very thoughtful and very much appreciated by us all. The house is beautiful with everything you could possibly want or need. There was a large library of dvds and games to use, toiletries to use in the bathroom even including perfume, fully equipped kitchen and bedding and towels all supplied. As I said there was 10 of us staying here and at no point did I feel that we were cramped in or that there was not enough room. The house is a home from home and the personal touches made us feel very relaxed, and I would defiantly stay at cross house again.

5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property 5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses
5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils 5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities 5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The whole experience
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Aug 2014
Thank you so much for writing such a lovely review for us. It really matters to us that we get things just right for our guests. You have clearly had a wonderful stay. My mother in law is chuffed to bits to get a mention! You and yours will be most welcome here at Cross House anytime.
Best wishes, Rachael.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily H
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Simply incredible - one of the best weekends away we've ever had!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We stumbled upon Rachel's place having rung around every single pub in the area and finding them all full. We couldn't have been luckier. Cross House is simply GORGEOUS, the perfect getaway in the beautiful Brecon Beacons - and Rachel and her lovely family made us feel so welcome we didn't want to leave!! We were greeted with the most delicious homemade banana bread (still warm from the oven!) with homemade jam, treated to an enormous Welsh breakfast, and whiled away the evenings playing board games by the fire and relaxing in the gorgeous spa bath. During the days we drove up to lovely Hay-on-Wye for the literary festival, went for a walk nearby with breathtaking views, and lunched at nearby pubs (there's even one opposite!). Coming back felt like returning home - and Rachel was an instant friend, always ready for a chat and so warm and welcoming. Cross House is pure perfection!!

Whilst my husband and I were lucky enough to have the whole place to ourselves, this would also be an amazing getaway for a family - it's a beautiful fully-furnished and equipped house which is a perfect base for exploring the Brecon Beacons or going to the Hay-on-Wye festival. Honestly, just writing this review I'm desperate to go again!! Don't miss the chance to stay at this beautiful home-away-from-home!! :)

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The homeliness of it all and Rachel's kindness - we felt as if we were staying with friends!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard_P...
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent, and at short notice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

A lovely, beautifully presented farmhouse with a nice mix of contemporary and traditional fittings. Really great facilities, everything you could ask for and a great collection of DVDs, books, etc... Above all the welcome was exceptional. Rachael was helpful from the start, even though we only booked the day before we arrived and only stayed the one night. She even, unexpectedly, brought us lovely home baked chocolate brownies, the timing of which was perfect. Really relaxed, friendly environment, would be perfect for a family with young children, but we enjoyed it as just the two of us.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Everything made easy for us
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$194
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing