We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely House”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Cross House

Cross House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cross House
Master bedroom with ensuite Ensuite
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
Cross House
Master bedroom with ensuite
Ensuite
Ensuite sink
Ensuite shower
Family bathroom with spa bath
Family bathroom
Lounge with wood burning stove
Main reception wood burning stove ready to light with well stocked wood baskets
Well equiped kitchen
Kitchen with family sized fridge freezer and dishwasher
Kitchen alcove
Utility room with 9kg load washing machine
Original farm house stone stairs
Landing
Landing
Second reception
Second reception double sofabed
Downstairs toilet
The back of Cross House
The River Wye at Llyswen June 2014
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Glasbury-on-Wye, Powys, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Caroline...
Etwall, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Lovely House”
Reviewed 20 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We stayed here due to the close proximity for a wedding, so didn't spend too much time here, but we all thought the house was lovely, with a nice kitchen, living areas, bedrooms & bathrooms.
The owner was very nice & friendly.
The only downside was no stair rail when going upstairs - perfectly fine for most people, so don't let this put you off, but my father in law has had a stroke & found it difficult getting up & down with nothing to hold onto, so perhaps something to bear in mind if you have someone infirm in your party.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Nice house, well appointed, plenty of room
Liked least: no stair hand rail for elderly member of the family
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maxine S
Breierley Hill, United Kingdom
1 review
“Home From Home”
Reviewed 7 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Cottage well suited for the extended family Large and comfortable enough for 5 Adults and 3 Children and ideally situated for local amenities and visiting Breacon Builth and Hay on Wye. Well presented and equipped for our family needs with the little extras. Owners knowledge about the area was good they were polite and we found them welcoming at all times, certainly helpful with a few minor problems we encountered and solutions found. Would I recommend to friends and family yes I would not hesitate.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee C
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Abysmal Service/Ruined a 30th Birthday Party”
Reviewed 24 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I booked for a group of 9 people to go to Cross House for a 30th birthday party. Before i actually booked anything and any money was paid, I sent a request to the owner stating that it was a 30th birthday for 10 adult guests, so you'd think that most common-sensed people would know that a bunch of 30 year olds celebrating a birthday aren't going to be a massively quiet affair. However, the owners agreed to let us stay knowing full well the type of party she was letting us book.

When we got there, the owner wasn't even around and we had to wait around for one of her children to turn up with the key (she made some excuse about being sure we'd said we'd be there at a later time, though no conversation ever took place). The house itself was very nice, and the surrounding area is, naturally, beautiful. Again, I must stress that she knew what type of celebration we were having. When she FINALLY turned up, I even said again that it was a 30th birthday and what were the restrictions when it came to noise. Fairly, she stated that anything after 12 would be frowned upon. I agree that is very appropriate, so we were left free to do our own thing. We had no trouble the first night and the next day, the owner seemed fine again. She even came in asking for spare towels (using less than savoury language in front of her own children - I'd bare that in mind for later on in the review, also).

The day was now a saturday. It was 6pm and the owner's husband came in to tell us that he was now putting his children to bed (at 6pm... on a saturday... knowing full well that we were a party of 9 people celebrating a 30th birthday). It was a bit of an annoyance to be told basically to keep the noise down, even though I had agreed with the owner the previous day that anything after 12am wouldn't be tolerated. It's a far cry from 6pm though...

We did keep the nosie down as much as possible, having to say AGAIN that we were a 30th birthday celebration, so how much noise reduction can there be?! And heard nothing more from them.

The next day, we all set off separately and heard nothing from the owners UNTIL the last two people were leaving, as they had to drop the key off. This is where the owners proceeded to tell us how bad we were and how one of us had sworn in front of her children (remember the part where SHE swore in front of them) and that we were all way too loud and that she even told me that she didn't think it would've been a good idea to have a 30th at Cross House before we came (needless to say, this was NEVER communicated to me - infact, there was a couple of emails that I had sent and had NO response from. I can only assume that she creates these emails in her head and then doesn't ever send them out).

My only question to the owner is, as you can all probably assume, if you KNEW the type of party we'd be having and the sort of celebration as well, why on EARTH would you agree to the booking if you didn't think the place was right for you?! Also, where was this negative attitude towards us when we were there? Had we known you had these negative feelings about us, then we could've done something about it, but no, you waited until we had left to basically have a rant about us.

One last note. There was some of us that were hungover the day we left (understandably). The owner decided that it would be a great idea to call the police to tail the last two in the party. Because of this, the police pulled them over. The police officer actually said that they could see that there were fine and weren't driving in a bad manner at all. I'm actually disgusted that the owners did this. Shows the level of customer care that goes on in Cross House. I read the reviews and expected a great time, but all I got was snide asides after we'd left and an intervention by the police when the owner had no right to.

I'm trying to be as constructive as possible, as I said, the house itself was lovely, and we even left it in a better condition than we came into (a VERY hairy towel greeted me after a shower at one point), but I cannot forgive the owners for their attitudes and the way they went about things. You should be ashamed of yourselves and I'll be recommending that my friends post their honest reviews of this place, as well.

If you don't think a booking would be suitable, don't accept it. it's called COMMON SENSE.

Should they really be telling holiday makers who've come to

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The surrounding countryside
Liked least: The 'customer service'
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Sep 2015
This guest was extremely disruptive and offensive and the police are now involved.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily K
1 review
“Even better than the pictures”
Reviewed 20 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Cross House was absolutely perfect for our group of 9 friends. Double sofa bed downstairs, one twin room, one single room with pull out bed underneath, and 2 double rooms upstairs. A huge kitchen table we could all fit around and a big lounge with one sofa and one armchair - we brought the extra sofas from the sofa bed through and the rest of us sat on those. The whole house was finished to such a high standard, especially the kitchen and the bathrooms. When we arrived we all said it looked even better than the pictures online! Rachel, the owner, was perfect - around enough for us to ask any questions we had about the area but never intrusive. Literally couldn't be closer to the pub opposite! We would all highly recommend Cross House!

Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendy J
Newtown, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely people, wonderful property!”
Reviewed 8 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

It was lovely to receive such a warm welcome from Rachael and Paul on our arrival on Saturday. The house was just fabulous - spacious, immaculately presented, well equipped with 4 bedrooms (one on-suite and a large family bathroom) and everything you could want for a very comfortable stay. Shame we were only staying overnight! Would have no hesitation in recommending this holiday home to anyone. Thanks Rachael & Paul!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: It was just superb!
Liked least: Nothing to dislike
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sjr202
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“So good we went back and stayed again!”
Reviewed 5 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

The best review is that having stayed with friends in September when my girlfriend and I were in the area with other friends the cottage was the first place to check availability. Luckily it was and we received the same warm welcome and beautiful cottage as last time. It will be a place we stay many more times I am sure when in the Brecon area. Great value and location

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quintry
Cardiff
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Well-appointed house in excellent situation.”
Reviewed 30 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Three generations gathered at Cross House to celebrate a family milestone. The house is very comfortable and well-appointed and Rachael and her husband could not have been more helpful or friendly, especially as we had a five-month old baby in the party. The situation is terrific for visiting Hay-on-Wye and Brecon and for riverside walks. The surrounding countryside is magnificent. The only reason for 4 dot rating rather than 5 is that there is no garden for sitting out or for children to play, which didn't really bother us but might be a downside for others. This is in part mitigated by the fact that there is plenty of car-parking space. Definitely worth a return visit.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing