We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“We absolutely loved it!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Riverside Retreat

Entrance to Riverside Retreat
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Entrance to Riverside Retreat
Pistyll Rhaeadr Waterfall one of the Wonders of Wales. 2 miles from Riverside Retreat The view from the top of the 240 ft Pistyll Rhaeadr Waterfall 2 miles from Riverside Retreat
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
42 reviews
Entrance to Riverside Retreat
Pistyll Rhaeadr Waterfall one of the Wonders of Wales. 2 miles from Riverside Retreat
The view from the top of the 240 ft Pistyll Rhaeadr Waterfall 2 miles from Riverside Retreat
Interior view of cabin showing kitchen area through to the lounge.
View from inside cabin, overlooking the river
Triple aspect sitting area / second double bed. Overlooking the river / jetty
Kitchen view from sitting area. Folded table and chairs
View from the kitchen window
Bedroom with 5' bed
Bedroom with 5ft bed
Breakfast on the jetty, catches the early morning sun.
Relax on the veranda, a sun trap.
Messing about on the river
Pool / snooker and table tennis in owners very large poly tunnel.
The one fish  that did not get away! ( previous guests) Proud novice dad.
Bridge at end of garden to takes you over river  through woods and circular walk to village
Photo from little green bridge at end of our garden and public footpath.
Children's Den with small charcoal    BBQ / Firepit , Turf Sofa, Ages 2yrs - -- 90 yrs
Spring in owners garden
Pergola as viewed from the drive to Riverside Retreat.
Spring-
Curtains drawn on the sumptuous Daybed
July 
Lavender filled Garden in Riverside Retreat Courtyard
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Llanrhaeadr ym Mochnant, Powys, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 42 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kate M
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We absolutely loved it!”
Reviewed 15 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Our family had a brilliant time here. The setting is beautiful and the garden is stunning.
Our children (9 and 7) enjoyed swimming in the shallow river and having fun in the dinghy.
The cabin was immaculate and Marion and Brian were fantastic hosts, nothing was too much trouble and they advised us on trips out to some amazing places..
The surrounding area is just breath-taking.
The price was very reasonable.
Thank you both. We thoroughly relaxed and enjoyed ourselves.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a generous review. We were delighted to see how the children enjoyed the freedom and space that Riverside Retreat offers. They certainly enjoyed the outdoor games and the dingy. The excitement when daddy caught the small brown trout was priceless. We hope you will return one day
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
polly2205
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“couldn't have asked for more!”
Reviewed 15 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013
2
people found this review helpful

My partner and I stayed in this beautiful cabin. It was so cozy inside! and a lovely garden, plenty of space and a veggie patch. Marian and Brian made us both feel very welcome and provided everything we needed. It is the perfect place to go for anyone, We would definitely recommend staying here!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location was perfect, situated at the bottom of the waterfall, running down the side of the cabbin
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Oct 2014
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to write a review of your stay at Riverside Retreat. We are so pleased you enjoyed it so much and hope you return one day to enjoy the latest facilities which include , a fire pit/ BBQ, a jetty over the river immediately outside the cabin, A pool table, table tennis, both of these under cover in the poly tunnel , plus further developments in the garden.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
traveller...
Sussex ,England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous start from beginning to end”
Reviewed 26 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

From the first glimpse we fell in love with this beautiful retreat. Our own private garden secluded from the owners property. However we were also able to share the owners beautiful garden with its own private river walk. The cabin is well fitted and was very comfortable for us to stay in for the week and the double bed extremely comfortable. It was great to wake up to the gentle sound of the river.. A full itinerary of equipment in the kitchen and outside garden furniture and balcony swing chair to relax ina long with BBQ.
We will be returning to this beautiful place.
Thank you Brian and Marian.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Oct 2014
Thank you for your lovely review. We have since improved facilities to include a fire pit and outdoor blankets for those chilly evenings, a lovely rocking chair for the veranda, pool/ billiard table and a full size table tennis plus a very popular jetty immediately outside the cabin over the river.We hope one day you choose to make a return visit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$94
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing