We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Best short break!”
5.0 of 5 bubbles
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Riverside Retreat

Entrance to Riverside Retreat
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Entrance to Riverside Retreat
Pistyll Rhaeadr Waterfall one of the Wonders of Wales. 2 miles from Riverside Retreat The view from the top of the 240 ft Pistyll Rhaeadr Waterfall 2 miles from Riverside Retreat
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Excellent
36 reviews
Entrance to Riverside Retreat
Pistyll Rhaeadr Waterfall one of the Wonders of Wales. 2 miles from Riverside Retreat
The view from the top of the 240 ft Pistyll Rhaeadr Waterfall 2 miles from Riverside Retreat
Interior view of cabin showing kitchen area through to the lounge area.
View from inside cabin, overlooking the river
Triple aspect sitting area / second double bed. Overlooking the river / jetty
Kitchen view from sitting area. Folded table and chairs
View from the kitchen window
Bedroom
Bedroom with 5ft bed
View of gravel garden from inside cabin
The courtyard outside the cabin with the sumptuous day bed.
Gated jetty overhanging the river with an awning for light showers/sun.  Favoured spot for fire pit
Breakfast on the jetty, catches the early morning sun.
Relax on the veranda
New addition for our guests comfort a day-bed to relax on and enjoy the sound of the river.
The new, young gravel garden with 40 assorted lavenders / grasses and rosemary
Relax in the riverside candle lit Gazebo
Messing about on the river
New 2014 Pool / snooker
The one that did not get away! ( previous guests) Proud novice dad.
Bridge at end of garden to takes you over river  through woods en-route to The Waterfall.
Photo from little green bridge at end of our garden en- route to top of Waterfall
Stroll through owners 2 acre garden along Riverside walk
New July 2015 Children's Den with small charcoal    BBQ / Firepit , Turf Sofa, Ages 2yrs - -- 90 yrs
Spring in owners garden
Looking down to the river in owners garden.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Llanrhaeadr ym Mochnant, Powys, Wales

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
5 of 5 bubbles Excellent - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
VioletaNe...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Best short break!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014

We came to the Riverside Retreat with a friend of mine and our two boys. We had the warmest welcome from Marian and Brian. There was a bottle of wine and a warm apple pie waiting for us in the kitchen that we enjoyed later. Brian was very helpful in setting up the internet for us and Marian was brilliant with the boys telling them a story about a big bird that was coming early in the morning on the island on the other side of the cabin. They were waiting for it with excitment every morning of our stay. We love the quite and beautiful setting of the Retreat and will definitely are planing to come back for a longer break. Thank you so much for your hospitality, Marian and Brian! We had the best time we could ever have.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 May 2014
Thank you for your comments. We were so pleased you all enjoyed staying atRiverside Retreat and hope you can return to give the boys the opportunity to enjoy the large garden and outdoor games and toys, including the dingy!!( river permitting)Also another opportunity to spot the Heron.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian J
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This is lovely, quite , welcoming accommodation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013

The friendly welcome you receive from Marion and Brian is second to none. We arrived on a cold day to a bottle of wine and fresh apple pie. The accommodation has all the facilities and equipment you would need for either a short break or an extended one. The accommodation is quickly heated by the electric fan heaters. The location has no phone or TV signal so it was lovely to spend time in a beautiful location with a true break from the outside world we live in. If you stay try the local fish and chip shop the fresh is cooked on request and was lovely. Ask Marion for other tips for eating out there are a lot locally although we did not try them on our short stay.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Having such an idyllic stress free time
Liked least: It rained heavily every night, but the daytimes were dry but cold
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 May 2014
Thank you for your valuable review. It pleases us to know that the little extras we provide mean so much. There is much to explore around this area so hope you can pay us a return visit soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate M
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We absolutely loved it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Our family had a brilliant time here. The setting is beautiful and the garden is stunning.
Our children (9 and 7) enjoyed swimming in the shallow river and having fun in the dinghy.
The cabin was immaculate and Marion and Brian were fantastic hosts, nothing was too much trouble and they advised us on trips out to some amazing places..
The surrounding area is just breath-taking.
The price was very reasonable.
Thank you both. We thoroughly relaxed and enjoyed ourselves.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a generous review. We were delighted to see how the children enjoyed the freedom and space that Riverside Retreat offers. They certainly enjoyed the outdoor games and the dingy. The excitement when daddy caught the small brown trout was priceless. We hope you will return one day
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
polly2205
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“couldn't have asked for more!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013
2
people found this review helpful

My partner and I stayed in this beautiful cabin. It was so cozy inside! and a lovely garden, plenty of space and a veggie patch. Marian and Brian made us both feel very welcome and provided everything we needed. It is the perfect place to go for anyone, We would definitely recommend staying here!!

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: the location was perfect, situated at the bottom of the waterfall, running down the side of the cabbin
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Oct 2014
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to write a review of your stay at Riverside Retreat. We are so pleased you enjoyed it so much and hope you return one day to enjoy the latest facilities which include , a fire pit/ BBQ, a jetty over the river immediately outside the cabin, A pool table, table tennis, both of these under cover in the poly tunnel , plus further developments in the garden.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
traveller...
Sussex ,England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous start from beginning to end”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

From the first glimpse we fell in love with this beautiful retreat. Our own private garden secluded from the owners property. However we were also able to share the owners beautiful garden with its own private river walk. The cabin is well fitted and was very comfortable for us to stay in for the week and the double bed extremely comfortable. It was great to wake up to the gentle sound of the river.. A full itinerary of equipment in the kitchen and outside garden furniture and balcony swing chair to relax ina long with BBQ.
We will be returning to this beautiful place.
Thank you Brian and Marian.

5 of 5 bubbles Value 5 of 5 bubbles Rooms
5 of 5 bubbles Location 5 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Oct 2014
Thank you for your lovely review. We have since improved facilities to include a fire pit and outdoor blankets for those chilly evenings, a lovely rocking chair for the veranda, pool/ billiard table and a full size table tennis plus a very popular jetty immediately outside the cabin over the river.We hope one day you choose to make a return visit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing