We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Mrs”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Riverside Retreat

Entrance to Riverside Retreat
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Entrance to Riverside Retreat
Pistyll Rhaeadr Waterfall one of the Wonders of Wales. 2 miles from Riverside Retreat The view from the top of the 240 ft Pistyll Rhaeadr Waterfall 2 miles from Riverside Retreat
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
51 reviews
Entrance to Riverside Retreat
Pistyll Rhaeadr Waterfall one of the Wonders of Wales. 2 miles from Riverside Retreat
The view from the top of the 240 ft Pistyll Rhaeadr Waterfall 2 miles from Riverside Retreat
Interior view of cabin showing kitchen area through to the lounge.
View from inside cabin, overlooking the river
Triple aspect sitting area / second double bed. Overlooking the river / jetty
Kitchen view from sitting area. Folded table and chairs
View from the kitchen window
Bedroom with 5' bed
Bedroom with 5ft bed
Breakfast on the jetty, catches the early morning sun.
Relax on the veranda, a sun trap.
Messing about on the river
Pool / snooker and table tennis in owners very large poly tunnel.
The one fish  that did not get away! ( previous guests) Proud novice dad.
Bridge at end of garden to takes you over river  through woods and circular walk to village
Photo from little green bridge at end of our garden and public footpath.
Children's Den with small charcoal    BBQ / Firepit , Turf Sofa, Ages 2yrs - -- 90 yrs
Spring in owners garden
Pergola as viewed from the drive to Riverside Retreat.
Spring-
Curtains drawn on the sumptuous Daybed
July 
Lavender filled Garden in Riverside Retreat Courtyard
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Llanrhaeadr ym Mochnant, Powys, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 51 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
lynse35
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Mrs”
Reviewed 31 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

What a lovely hidden gem. Marion and Brian are really good they offer wonderful hospitality from first contact. We stayed four nights and would have happily stayed for a week. Lovely walks in the local area. The waterfall is definitely worth a visit, as are Lake vyrmay and Powis Castle. Whole place allows you to switch off from the world. As a family with two teenage girls we all enjoyed lazying on the daybed to playing in the stream. Would definitely recommend.
Thanks again to Marion amd Brian for a lovely time.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Aug 2016
Thank you for sharing your positive experiences with future guests. We value your comments / feedback. It was a pleasure to see two teenage girls ( and mum and dad) enjoying ' mucking 'about on the river. Their phones put aside to have simple pleasures. No matter re the weather you all seemed to get the most out of your stay. Lovely too that you enjoyed toasting your marshmallows over the fire pit / BBQ in the Den.Lovely to have met you all.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
courtneys...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“A little slice of paradise”
Reviewed 17 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

My partner and I stayed here at the beginning of July, and we absolutely loved it. Marian and Brian were wonderful hosts (we were welcomed to a tray of delicious, homemade Welsh tea cakes and a bottle of wine) and they really made us feel at home. We explored the nearby waterfall and climbed Snowdon, but we could very easily have stayed at the cabin for the whole of our trip. There is something very special about the surroundings as you can hear the river running outside, the garden is stunning and you really feel as though you have your own secluded paradise. We would highly recommend Riverside Retreat to anyone wanting to get away for some relaxing peace and quiet!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jul 2016
Thank you for taking the trouble to write a review that aptly describes Riverside Retreat. Also for the recognition of how easy ( and a beautiful scenic drive) it is to get to Snowdon from here. There are so many walks within the vicinity of Riverside Retreat with a guide for walks in the cabin. It was a pleasure meeting you both and hope we might see you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jodie D
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
“Absolutely stunning”
Reviewed 21 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Me and my partner David stayed here Friday to Sunday couldn't believe how nice the surroundings were beautiful views. Marion an Brian are such friendly welcoming people the cabin was everything we needed for a romantic break spotlessly clean.we were just left alone to enjoy this fabulous little world they have created. we would highly recommend this retreat to anyone we are already in the process of booking again for longer this time we cannot wait to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothin ng
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Mar 2016
Thank you for your review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and are looking to return soon. We like our guests to feel free to relax and enjoy the holiday that is right for them but we are on hand to help should our guests wish.We hope to see you soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vivnista
Shropshire
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“A mini narnia to fire your imagination”
Reviewed 7 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

You can really tell when you have found somewhere special when leaving makes you sorrowful. Marion and Brian have created a little piece of magical paradise to fire imaginations and encourage getting back to nature
From its own waterfall to rambling woods, dens, ping-pong, fire pits, day bed, fluffy blankets, homemade pavlova, honestly, the list of spoils is endless.
Our family of three fitted in just fine and we left after two days feeling invigorated and relaxed. We are desperately trying to manouver a longer break for later this year as we cannot wait to return

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The setting
Liked least: Absolutely nothing. Perfection
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Mar 2016
Thank you so much for sharing your experiences after staying at Riverside Retreat. We are very conscious of the importance of trying to ' get it right', so that guests like yourselves can fully benefit even on a short break. Our aim is to encourage imaginations like yours . A true sign that Riverside Retreat was able to take you somewhere special, both mentally and physically .We look forward to your return visit when you will see the makeover of the Riverside Retreat courtyard. It will be filled with lavender a Rosemary and thyme.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smeagle46
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
Reviewed 23 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Thoroughly enjoyed our weekend at the cabin, it had everything that we needed and was very cosy. We arrived to find a lovey home made Bara Brith and a lovely bottle of wine and the cabin was beautifully warm for us. Surroundings are beautiful, enjoyed visiting the falls on our first day and a great walk on the Berwyn mountains to visit the lake. We received a warm welcome in the local shop,cafe and the two pubs we visited and would recommend the Beef Goulash at the Plough Inn. All in all had a fabulous weekend despite the rain and hope to return to the cabin very soon. Many thanks to Marian and Brian

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Feb 2016
Thank you for your comments and information which I'm sure will help future guests. We hope you do return soon as you will be made most welcome. You will see some changes to the outside space as the dry weather has enabled us to create a gravel garden filled with lavender, Rosemary and Thyme ( completion beginning of March ) We plan to extend the jetty over the river as soon as the weather warms sufficiently to brave the icy cold river. This project will not be undertaken whilst guests are in situ. Riverside Retreat will be even more special.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chelle200...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect Escape”
Reviewed 12 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
2
people found this review helpful

What a lovely chalet in the most perfect surroundings. This is exactly what we were looking for and Marian & Brian were kind enough to accommodate us with less than 24 hours notice - we're so grateful! We were even welcomed with a homemade apple pie and bottle of wine, they really have thought of everything to create a perfect, relaxing stay. The scenery is beautiful and we really enjoyed evenings on the jetty over-looking the river, with the fire pit. A visit to the waterfall at the end of the street is a must, views from the top are stunning. Can also recommend the fish & chip shop in the village, best chips I've tasted. Can't thank Marian & Brian enough, we will be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The tranquill surroundings
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Oct 2015
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. Brian and I are so pleased the cabin met with your expectations and that you made the most of what we offer. We hope you can return one day as there is much to explore in this area. We strive to improve and provide a holiday / short break that can start from the moment you arrive.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexBShro...
Shropshire
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Superb setting - an ideal place to get away from it all, relax & unwind.”
Reviewed 12 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My son and I were made to feel most welcome by the owners, Brian & Marian. They were keen too that we should make the most of their superb garden and setting.

It was easy to do so. The cleverly designed chalet was modern, comfortable and immaculate. Each evening, we lit the brazier and sat out on the decking overlooking the river with a glass of something and stayed there long after dark.

The surrounding hills are superb for walking, with spectacular views.

Thoroughly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Next to the river
Liked least: All fine
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Sep 2015
Thank you for taking the trouble to write a review.It was a pleasure meeting you both and wish you both success with your future plans. We were so pleased to hear the pleasure you both enjoyed from our natural surroundings, extending into the late evenings with the fire pit , jetty / river experience, over a glass of 'something'. Well done for finding your way to the top of the Waterfall from Riverside Retreat , not for the faint hearted!.Your photos are great. We hope you can return one day soon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing