We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Our Shangri la.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Riverside Retreat

Entrance to Riverside Retreat
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Entrance to Riverside Retreat
Pistyll Rhaeadr Waterfall one of the Wonders of Wales. 2 miles from Riverside Retreat The view from the top of the 240 ft Pistyll Rhaeadr Waterfall 2 miles from Riverside Retreat
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
51 reviews
Entrance to Riverside Retreat
Pistyll Rhaeadr Waterfall one of the Wonders of Wales. 2 miles from Riverside Retreat
The view from the top of the 240 ft Pistyll Rhaeadr Waterfall 2 miles from Riverside Retreat
Interior view of cabin showing kitchen area through to the lounge.
View from inside cabin, overlooking the river
Triple aspect sitting area / second double bed. Overlooking the river / jetty
Kitchen view from sitting area. Folded table and chairs
View from the kitchen window
Bedroom with 5' bed
Bedroom with 5ft bed
Breakfast on the jetty, catches the early morning sun.
Relax on the veranda, a sun trap.
Messing about on the river
Pool / snooker and table tennis in owners very large poly tunnel.
The one fish  that did not get away! ( previous guests) Proud novice dad.
Bridge at end of garden to takes you over river  through woods and circular walk to village
Photo from little green bridge at end of our garden and public footpath.
Children's Den with small charcoal    BBQ / Firepit , Turf Sofa, Ages 2yrs - -- 90 yrs
Spring in owners garden
Pergola as viewed from the drive to Riverside Retreat.
Spring-
Curtains drawn on the sumptuous Daybed
July 
Lavender filled Garden in Riverside Retreat Courtyard
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Llanrhaeadr ym Mochnant, Powys, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 51 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
buzzardbo...
Merseyside
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Our Shangri la.”
Reviewed 4 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

A pleasure from the moment we arrived to our sad departure at the end.
Marian abd Brian couldnt have been any more welcoming.
The Grandkids loved every second especially playing in the river and the Table Tennis. We were concerned before we went if they'd enjoy it but they want to go back again as do we.
Lots to see in the area too.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Sep 2016
Thank you for relaying the enjoyment you and the grandchildren had at Riverside Retreat. You all made the most of your time here, throwing yourselves into everything including the river!!! Fortunately the loaned wetsuits fitted the children and Brian's size 12 waders fitted grandad ! We hope you return soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
4 Sep 2016
It was a pleasure to meet you all and we do hope you will visit Riverside Retreat again. There is so much to explore in our area.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sunshine6...
1 review
“"Paradise"”
Reviewed 29 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Me and my partner stayed at the riverside retreat for three nights and we loved it, i only left this morning and I'm missing it already. We wanted a romantic, picturesque, relaxing break and it definitely outlived our expectations. The location is absolutely beautiful. Thank you to Marian and Brian for being so welcoming and over all just being lovely people

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Aug 2016
Thank you both for troubling to write this review. Brian and I never underestimate the beautiful surroundings we live in and is our pleasure to share with those looking for the perfect romantic, peaceful, private, escape.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mrlovely1...
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfection”
Reviewed 10 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Firstly, what fabulous hosts Marian and Brian were from the minute we arrived to the minute we left. They were truly amazing, firstly by making us a delicious chilli and rice and providing lots of activities for our children which our nine year old loved.

The cabin was located in an amazing and tranquil location with an amazing garden which Marian and Brian should be proud of. It gave us an extremely peaceful stay to unwind and forget the outside world.

Couldn't thank Marian and Brian enough for our stay, we would recommend this stay to anyone and would happily return if they would have us again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Aug 2016
Thank you for your flattering review. We do not normally provide a meal for our guests but hearing of the distance you travelled with a 9 month old baby and 9 year old child, I really wanted to help you to get into relax mode. Your journey was horrendous so it worked out well. We are so pleased with your comments regarding what we offer. I'm sure they will help future travellers. We would love you all to come to stay again and sample further what our area has to offer.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lynse35
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Mrs”
Reviewed 31 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

What a lovely hidden gem. Marion and Brian are really good they offer wonderful hospitality from first contact. We stayed four nights and would have happily stayed for a week. Lovely walks in the local area. The waterfall is definitely worth a visit, as are Lake vyrmay and Powis Castle. Whole place allows you to switch off from the world. As a family with two teenage girls we all enjoyed lazying on the daybed to playing in the stream. Would definitely recommend.
Thanks again to Marion amd Brian for a lovely time.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Aug 2016
Thank you for sharing your positive experiences with future guests. We value your comments / feedback. It was a pleasure to see two teenage girls ( and mum and dad) enjoying ' mucking 'about on the river. Their phones put aside to have simple pleasures. No matter re the weather you all seemed to get the most out of your stay. Lovely too that you enjoyed toasting your marshmallows over the fire pit / BBQ in the Den.Lovely to have met you all.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
courtneys...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“A little slice of paradise”
Reviewed 17 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

My partner and I stayed here at the beginning of July, and we absolutely loved it. Marian and Brian were wonderful hosts (we were welcomed to a tray of delicious, homemade Welsh tea cakes and a bottle of wine) and they really made us feel at home. We explored the nearby waterfall and climbed Snowdon, but we could very easily have stayed at the cabin for the whole of our trip. There is something very special about the surroundings as you can hear the river running outside, the garden is stunning and you really feel as though you have your own secluded paradise. We would highly recommend Riverside Retreat to anyone wanting to get away for some relaxing peace and quiet!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jul 2016
Thank you for taking the trouble to write a review that aptly describes Riverside Retreat. Also for the recognition of how easy ( and a beautiful scenic drive) it is to get to Snowdon from here. There are so many walks within the vicinity of Riverside Retreat with a guide for walks in the cabin. It was a pleasure meeting you both and hope we might see you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jodie D
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
“Absolutely stunning”
Reviewed 21 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Me and my partner David stayed here Friday to Sunday couldn't believe how nice the surroundings were beautiful views. Marion an Brian are such friendly welcoming people the cabin was everything we needed for a romantic break spotlessly clean.we were just left alone to enjoy this fabulous little world they have created. we would highly recommend this retreat to anyone we are already in the process of booking again for longer this time we cannot wait to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothin ng
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Mar 2016
Thank you for your review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and are looking to return soon. We like our guests to feel free to relax and enjoy the holiday that is right for them but we are on hand to help should our guests wish.We hope to see you soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing