We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful in any weather.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Riverside Retreat

Entrance to Riverside Retreat
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Entrance to Riverside Retreat
Pistyll Rhaeadr Waterfall one of the Wonders of Wales. 2 miles from Riverside Retreat The view from the top of the 240 ft Pistyll Rhaeadr Waterfall 2 miles from Riverside Retreat
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
50 reviews
Entrance to Riverside Retreat
Pistyll Rhaeadr Waterfall one of the Wonders of Wales. 2 miles from Riverside Retreat
The view from the top of the 240 ft Pistyll Rhaeadr Waterfall 2 miles from Riverside Retreat
Interior view of cabin showing kitchen area through to the lounge.
View from inside cabin, overlooking the river
Triple aspect sitting area / second double bed. Overlooking the river / jetty
Kitchen view from sitting area. Folded table and chairs
View from the kitchen window
Bedroom with 5' bed
Bedroom with 5ft bed
Breakfast on the jetty, catches the early morning sun.
Relax on the veranda, a sun trap.
Messing about on the river
Pool / snooker and table tennis in owners very large poly tunnel.
The one fish  that did not get away! ( previous guests) Proud novice dad.
Bridge at end of garden to takes you over river  through woods and circular walk to village
Photo from little green bridge at end of our garden and public footpath.
Children's Den with small charcoal    BBQ / Firepit , Turf Sofa, Ages 2yrs - -- 90 yrs
Spring in owners garden
Pergola as viewed from the drive to Riverside Retreat.
Spring-
Curtains drawn on the sumptuous Daybed
July 
Lavender filled Garden in Riverside Retreat Courtyard
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Llanrhaeadr ym Mochnant, Powys, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 50 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
ThusharCh...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful in any weather.”
Reviewed 20 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

This is the second time we stayed at Riverside Retreat. After our first magical stay I had longed to go back but we couldn’t quite manage it as I was blessed with our second daughter a month after our stay at Riverside Retreat and I waiting for her to be old enough to enjoy it when my Brother inlaw and his wife came to visit and wanted to visit Wales after seeing our lovely photos. They were only here for a short time so we couldn’t stay at the Riverside Retreat for as long as I liked but the time we did spend there was action packed and we managed to cover a lot of things in the short time that we did stay. Even in the rain everything was still as beautiful as I remembered. We went up Snowdon, we visited Pistyll Waterfall and Lake Vyrnwy.
Marian and Brian was as warm and welcoming as always. They feel like old friends just after two visits. Your property is just amazing. I think everyone should visit it. I’m sure we will be back soon.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Mar 2017
Thank you so much for that lovely , positive review Chai. It was lovely to see you all again and so special to meet your new beautiful daughter. Yes you certainly packed a lot into your short stay which I hope will show prospective guests that from the location of Riverside Retreat a lot of easy exploring can be achieved. You were so busy that we didn't get chance yo show you the new outside lights, hung below the jetty and which shine on the river and trees at night. It is very special and romantic.!!!! We look forward to your return.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coastal61...
1 review
“Perfect Weekend Escape”
Reviewed 20 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

We had a lovely stay in Riverside Retreat. We stayed for 2 nights as a treat for our anniversary. We were greeted warmly by Marian and Brian with Welsh cakes (which were lovely), and were given lots of recommendations. Lake Vyrnwy and Pistyll Rhaeadr are a must! We wish we could stay for longer and will be bringing some friends back in the summer :)

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Feb 2017
Thank you for taking time to write a review. It is so important for future guests to make a decision as to wether what we offer is for them. We loved having you stay at Riverside a Retreat and will welcome you back in the summer with friends. There is so much beauty in our area and beyond which we would love to share with you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garry H
1 review
“The most amazing, idyllic three days!!”
Reviewed 15 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We have just got back from the Riverside Retreat. Marian and Brian are wonderful hosts, making you feel instantly relaxed and at home. The cabin, whilst not suitable for persons of 6' and above due to the height of the ceiling and doors, was really well equipped, with everything you could possibly need for a short break. From gas hob, electric oven , toaster microwave and fridge you couldnt want for more on the cooking front.
However, when you get out of the cabin you have the most amazing area in front of you. You are surrounded by the most beautiful plants, trees and flowers. There is an outside day bed which looks stunning and, in the right weather conditions, would be a wonderful experience.
At the end of the cabin is a decking area with a bench, table and firepit overlooking the River Rhaedr. We sat each night overlooking the river, fire beside us, drink in hand, just letting the noise of the river soothe our nerves and help us to unwind. Even in the rain there is an awning to keep you dry.
Marian and Brian were both so friendly and helpful, offering advice(that we wish we had heeded!!) and information on eveything you need to know to get the most out of your experience in this genuine gem of a spot.
The only thing that could have made our wonderful experience any better would have been to see chickens, and possibly ducks, wandering freely around providing fresh free range eggs to be bought for an alfresco breakfast on the jetty!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The gardens are beautiful
Liked least: The road leading to the property
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Sep 2016
Thank you for your review. Yes the jetty is very popular with all our guests so we are pleased you made the most of it too. Regarding the chickens, I am still trying to persuade Brian of the benefits so watch this space. We hope you can return one day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
buzzardbo...
Merseyside
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Our Shangri la.”
Reviewed 4 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

A pleasure from the moment we arrived to our sad departure at the end.
Marian abd Brian couldnt have been any more welcoming.
The Grandkids loved every second especially playing in the river and the Table Tennis. We were concerned before we went if they'd enjoy it but they want to go back again as do we.
Lots to see in the area too.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Sep 2016
Thank you for relaying the enjoyment you and the grandchildren had at Riverside Retreat. You all made the most of your time here, throwing yourselves into everything including the river!!! Fortunately the loaned wetsuits fitted the children and Brian's size 12 waders fitted grandad ! We hope you return soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
4 Sep 2016
It was a pleasure to meet you all and we do hope you will visit Riverside Retreat again. There is so much to explore in our area.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sunshine6...
1 review
“"Paradise"”
Reviewed 29 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Me and my partner stayed at the riverside retreat for three nights and we loved it, i only left this morning and I'm missing it already. We wanted a romantic, picturesque, relaxing break and it definitely outlived our expectations. The location is absolutely beautiful. Thank you to Marian and Brian for being so welcoming and over all just being lovely people

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Aug 2016
Thank you both for troubling to write this review. Brian and I never underestimate the beautiful surroundings we live in and is our pleasure to share with those looking for the perfect romantic, peaceful, private, escape.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mrlovely1...
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfection”
Reviewed 10 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Firstly, what fabulous hosts Marian and Brian were from the minute we arrived to the minute we left. They were truly amazing, firstly by making us a delicious chilli and rice and providing lots of activities for our children which our nine year old loved.

The cabin was located in an amazing and tranquil location with an amazing garden which Marian and Brian should be proud of. It gave us an extremely peaceful stay to unwind and forget the outside world.

Couldn't thank Marian and Brian enough for our stay, we would recommend this stay to anyone and would happily return if they would have us again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Aug 2016
Thank you for your flattering review. We do not normally provide a meal for our guests but hearing of the distance you travelled with a 9 month old baby and 9 year old child, I really wanted to help you to get into relax mode. Your journey was horrendous so it worked out well. We are so pleased with your comments regarding what we offer. I'm sure they will help future travellers. We would love you all to come to stay again and sample further what our area has to offer.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing