We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfast”
Review of Blue Pelican Cafe

Blue Pelican Cafe
Ranked #14 of 72 Restaurants in Penarth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$13
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Relax in the tropical surroundings of the Blue Pelican Cafe. The perfect place to meet friends for breakfast, lunch or afternoon tea. Freshly prepared food using local ingredients wherever possible Fabulous selection of home-made cakes Childrens menu Breakfast/Brunch Morning coffee Lunch Afternoon Tea Cream Tea Traditional Sunday roast Fully licensed with an excellent wine list and a selection of cocktails Free wi-fi Dog friendly - doggie dining tables available Voted "Best Cafe" in the 2014 Cardiff Life Awards Music and dinner events We look forward to seeing you soon
Penarth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Breakfast”
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

My first time here based on reviews I've seen. Well, I was very happy with the Welsh breakfast, it was massive and to die for and I'll certainly be back again and the coffee was fantastic.

Helpful?
Thank Des L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamptons-Penarth, Owner at Blue Pelican Cafe, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
We're delighted that you enjoyed your first visit to us and that you enjoyed your full Welsh breakfast and coffee. We look forward to seeing you again and thanks for the positive review - it's really appreciated.
Best wishes
Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    56
    11
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Why haven't we been before?”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We've been meaning to eat here for ages and today we went to Penarth especially and it was well worth the wait, I had the chicken & chorizo salad and he had the fish cake both were freshly prepared and came with wonderful home made salads very tasty and huge portions! Staff were very attentive we look forward to visiting again soon.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dryws D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamptons-Penarth, Owner at Blue Pelican Cafe, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Why indeed?
However, we're delighted that you've found us now and that you enjoyed your lunches so much. Thank you very much for your positive comments and we look forward to seeing you again, hopefully soon.
Best wishes
Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Lunch/Brunch”
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

Decent feed.! special of soup and sarnie , can't really go wrong... Did have some so called hand made potato crisps that look and tasted very much like a we'll know brand in a red packet! 8/10

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Therevie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamptons-Penarth, Owner at Blue Pelican Cafe, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Thanks for letting us know about your recent visit for lunch. We were delighted to know that you enjoyed lunch with us and I’ve passed on your comments to our team of chefs.
With regard to the crisps – you will not get a red packet here! Our hand cooked potato crisps actually come in blue packets and are made by Pipers using pure sea salt from Anglesey. We always use a premium brand of crisps and Pipers have again this year been awarded “Best Snack Brand” by the Guild of Fine Foods – so definitely a notch up from those you are thinking of.
Thanks again for the review – next time you visit we’ll treat you to a helping of our potato crisps so you can try them again.
Best wishes
Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Best Healthy Builders Breakfast!”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Being a staff of 9, we are continuously seeking to find a better healthy builders breakfast (Poached egg, beans on toast) than the one served at The Blue Pelican Cafe (Hamptons).

We have scoured the whole of South Wales in search of better poached eggs, and are yet to find better!

Even though we are a bunch of burly builders, they treat us like little princesses.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Camo28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamptons-Penarth, Owner at Blue Pelican Cafe, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you for posting your positive comments about your breakfasts - and we love that you can't find better poached eggs in the whole of South Wales.
Customer service is very important to us and we're delighted to read that this is evident for all of our customers - burly builders and little princesses!
We look forward to seeing you again soon and thanks again for your review which is much appreciated.
Best wishes
Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penarth
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“CUT THE AMOUNT OF FOOD AND CHARGE LESS”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Was given two afternoon tea vouchers as a birthday present. The brown bread sandwiches were fine but the white bread sandwich was drying out. I don't think anyone could eat all the cakes on the stand and would have to, as we did, ask for a "doggie bag". I would like to see less cakes and a lower price as I think this would encourage more people to partake. The staff were friendly and attentive. Not a outing I would wish to repeat.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jean_TPenarth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamptons-Penarth, Owner at Blue Pelican Cafe, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Thank you for your feedback following your recent visit for afternoon tea.
Many of our customers who enjoy our teas often buy vouchers for friends and relations as gifts and those receiving generally tell us what a lovely gift it is.
Within our afternoon tea we aim to present a balance between sweet and savoury with each of the individual items being little so that, regardless of appetite those taking afternoon tea can enjoy all aspects of it. Most people eat everything while they are with us and for others we happily box up whatever they can’t manage there and then for them to enjoy later.
We offer afternoon tea at a range of levels and price points so that hopefully it suits all tastes and pockets. Rather than the full afternoon tea, some people opt for a cream tea (scone with cream and jam and a pot of tea) and others choose a slice of cake from our daily selection together with a drink.
Thank you also for your positive comments about the friendly and attentive service you received from our staff – delighted to hear this and I have passed on your comments to them.
Best wishes
Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Blue Pelican Cafe also viewed

Penarth, Vale of Glamorgan
Penarth, Vale of Glamorgan
 
Cardiff, Southern Wales
Penarth, Vale of Glamorgan
 
Penarth, Vale of Glamorgan
Penarth, Vale of Glamorgan
 

Been to Blue Pelican Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing