We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New manager, new standards 😀”
Review of Crazy Cafe

Crazy Cafe
Ranked #19 of 80 Restaurants in Penarth
Price range: US$7 - US$20
Description: Crazy Cafe is a modern, colorful and stylish café located at the Esplanade in Penarth. Our dishes are home-made & tasty. We use fresh and locally-sourced ingredients. No microwave or fryer in here. Coffee is organically grown and served with love. Come and enjoy the stunning view with a cup of coffee, glass of wine or some delicious meal.
Restaurant details
Description: Crazy Cafe is a modern, colorful and stylish café located at the Esplanade in Penarth. Our dishes are home-made & tasty. We use fresh and locally-sourced ingredients. No microwave or fryer in here. Coffee is organically grown and served with love. Come and enjoy the stunning view with a cup of coffee, glass of wine or some delicious meal.
Reviewed 21 October 2018 via mobile

Having visited crazy cafe regularly since opening I had always found myself frustrated with slow service, errors in the orders and thinking staff looked lost behind the counter.

It was generally though convenience we ended up here as a group after our regular Sunday work outs by the water.

Now under new management our table of 6 who all ordered varying coffees and breakfasts saw our orders arrive prompt, hot and correct...something of a novelty for my experiences here previously

I had the fruit And nut toast and a flat white which was great. Looking forward to returning if these new standards can be maintained.

Good job!

Date of visit: October 2018
1  Thank Simon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crazyc19, Manager at Crazy Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2018

Many thanks for your lovely comments, look forward to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (175)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 30 of 175 reviews

Reviewed 20 October 2018 via mobile

Best vegan coffee - oat cappuccino - in Penarth! And Nicola the manager is amazing with the kids xxx

Date of visit: October 2018
1  Thank 175harrietp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crazyc19, Manager at Crazy Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2018

Many thanks for your lovely comments, look forward to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2018 via mobile

Visited the Crazy Cafe today had a very pleasant experience and was greeted by Nicola . She was very chatty and looked after my family and I brilliantly. The food was amazing as well as the cafe the children were well catered for with books and snakes and ladders . Cafe was very clean . Amazing experience definitely be returning. Thanks very much Nicola for all your hospitality

Date of visit: October 2018
2  Thank Benjamin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crazyc19, Manager at Crazy Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2018

Many thanks for your lovely comments, look forward to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2018

Popped in on a bright sunny day. The place was reasonably busy and did allow us to chat to the new manager, Nicola, who has just completed one week in her new role. Had a light lunch with some breakfast tea - food and service were very nice, so a very easy recommend. Could easily have sat outside, given the weather. Fab location on the seafront in Penarth.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Andrew J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crazyc19, Manager at Crazy Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2018

Many thanks for your lovely comments, look forward to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2018

My husband and I called in here for lunch. Half the things on the menu weren't on, which we weren't told about until we came to order. We both ordered a jacket, it took over half an hour to come and when it did, I ordered a tikka but coronation chicken arrived. The potatoes were so hard I could hardly cut it, it was cold and dry. My husband ordered Tuna but his potato was exactly the same. It cost £17.00 for the two of us, what a waste of money.
Dreadful service and dreadful food, will not be going back.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
7  Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crazyc19, Manager at Crazy Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write this review and for bringing these points to our attention. We are extremely sorry that your visit to us was so disappointing but we hope it doesn't deter you in visiting us again..

We did however on the day have a relief chef , this has now been rectified and we now have two newly appointed chefs who deliver exquisite food. We now prepare Sunday lunches along with our specials menu which consist of, lasagne, cottage pie, fish pie and macaroni cheese. The specials are available to eat in or to take away and the same applies for our freshly made bread and mouth watering cakes.

I would like to invite you back to the café to show your negative experience was a one off! Please ask for Nicola and I look forward to meet with you.

.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Crazy Cafe also viewed

Penarth, Vale of Glamorgan
Penarth, Vale of Glamorgan
 
Penarth, Vale of Glamorgan
Penarth, Vale of Glamorgan
 
Cardiff, Southern Wales
Penarth, Vale of Glamorgan
 

Been to Crazy Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing