We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant shop- Best in Penarth !”

Umpa Lumpa Sweet Shop
Ranked #46 of 81 Restaurants in Penarth
Description: Shelves-upon-shelves of retro sweets!
Restaurant details
Description: Shelves-upon-shelves of retro sweets!
Reviewed 26 December 2019

We visited here as a family to buy some sweets and presents for X Mas.We were amazed at the wide selection of chocolate, fudge, Pic n Mix, sweets and bespoke gifts on offer. This shop has everything to offer from Retro sweet collection boxes, to hand made Belgian chocolates, jars of goodies and bespoke party bags. The staff are very friendly, helpful and give the best welcome in any shop in Penarth.!
Thank you for the ultimate X Mas chocolate experience!
We will be back !! 😊

Date of visit: December 2019
2  Thank DogWalkerSouthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (8)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 8 reviews

Reviewed 22 November 2019

Umpa Lumpa in a lovely Penarth arcade, exudes warmth and colour both outside and in. Bottom line is, there is no other sweet and chocolate shop like it. I was talking yesterday to Karen(the owner) and Mel, who along with their other colleagues are ‘Oooo’ so ever friendly. If you’re not sure of a particular sweet you can try it first. I buy not only for myself but also my colleagues at work, who all have their particular favourites. I leave with separate little bags of sweets with their names written on.
Last Christmas I bought exquisite hand made Belgium chocolates, picked individually and placed in decorative boxes. What beautiful presents they were, along with sweet stocking fillers and bars of chocolates with pictures of Penarth on the wrapping. I also bought large novelty tools(in my case a spanner and hammer) made out of chocolate. The colouring of the chocolate meant you could not tell that they were not the real article. I very occasionally use Trip Advisor to promote excellence! You take your children to Umpa Lumpa and they will be dragging you back. Although you won’t need much persuading!

Date of visit: November 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank joseph19562017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 October 2019

Good for high end chocolate, novelty chocolate, old fashioned sweets and anything else for you to enjoy or buy as a gift. The staff are nice too.

Date of visit: August 2019
3  Thank Mattygungawalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 October 2019

What a place you must visit it all the old style sweets and chocs and some of their own creations too. Staff are so very friendly and helpful and you are sure to go back a second time

Date of visit: October 2019
5  Thank nickj7474
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 31 May 2019

Best ever selection been here many time,great selection for diabetics,shop is a great place to take kids for photos with the props and it really is a sweet shop....great ice cream too..............

Date of visit: April 2019
3  Thank doberman11
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Umpa Lumpa Sweet Shop also viewed

Penarth, Vale of Glamorgan
 
Penarth, Vale of Glamorgan
Penarth, Vale of Glamorgan
 

Been to Umpa Lumpa Sweet Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.