We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing time”
Review of Cefn Mably Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cefn Mably Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Penarth
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Relaxing time”
Reviewed 9 May 2013

Had a four night stay from 29th April 2013. I was on my own and was given a triple room, so plenty of space, warm and comfortable with en-suite bath.
I had breakfast every day and also, because of their huge menu I also ate their every night and was not disappointed.
Plenty of car parking and although above a noisy pub I did'nt hear any noise and slept soundly all night.
Well sited for this lovely town of Penarth and only a 15 minute walk to the station and almost outside for transport to Cardiff etc.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    15
    11
    6
    4
See reviews for
10
15
11
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2013

I booked this Hotel in order to visit my Partners son in Penarth.The bedrooms are above a very noisy Pub which allows very loud Pop music on large TV's until 1/2 am.The bed was 2 single beds pushed together with a double sheet not large enough to cover the 2 beds and a similar lighweight duvet.The central heating competed with the loud music to keep us awake.In the morning it was not possible to get into the Pub as no-one was present.Breakfast was advertised as being available from 8.30am.We gave up at 9am as the premises were locked up and deserted.I telephoned and complained and was greeted by "Right!" When I asked for an explanation the response was "That is disappointing" Never have I experienced such an awful hotel.Basil Faulty ran a 5 star operation by comparison.
I was there for 2 nights and the Bar staff diring opening hours were youngsters who were sympathetic but unable to help. roy.spence2@yahoo.co.uk

Room Tip: avoid this Hotel if at all possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset,UK
Level Contributor
113 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2013

Stayed here on a Cold Sunday in January....Booked on Laterooms for £19 and had a 3 bedded room. Beds were comfy and clean and the room warm. Ate in Bar downstairs and food was nice. Good parking.
Would recommend as very good for the price

Room Tip: Shop around online to see what rates you can get for this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank s0mersetb0y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penarth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 January 2013

Ovis and Marinna are fantastic hosts, nothing is too much trouble and they will cook a meal late at night.Food great value, freshly cooked and nice. If you like good atmosphere then this is the pub for you, at weekend usually karaoke/disco or 70's,80's and 90's background music. drinks are very competitively priced and they have deals on doubling up on a short which is good value.
The bar staff Steve, Daniel, and Kate are polite,sociable and work really hard to ensure you recieve great service. The pub is spotlessly clean and warm and they have got the mix of food and entertainment just right.
I stayed overnight in January as it was difficult to get home due to the snow. I was impressed with the accomodation and the cheap prices of the rooms. To be honest was not expecting much as it is cheap and was impressed with the room I stayed in. Bed very comfortable and house keeping spotless. Flat screen TV, tea and coffee making facilities, four towels in the bathroom and complimentary shampoo and soap. Bathroom was sparkling and it was nice to find a bath with a shower over it for a change.
Like some people I did not experience any difficulties leaving hotel, there is an exit at the back to a car park clearly sign posted.
Could not fault the full English breakfast, just what I needed after a heavy night!
Well done and would recommend the Cefn Mably for good food, atmosphere and accomodation.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shane s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Stayed overnight at the Cefn Mably at short notice during the snow. Room was made available immediately. It was very comfortable with good facilities such as flat screen TV and tea/coffee. Rooms nicely decorated with crisp white linen and cushions. Cleanliness was excellent in bedroom and ensuite.The room was warm and inviting.
Staff are excellent, polite and friendly service and the food was cheaply priced and very good. All in all a great experience and I felt the rooms were great value for money. I have stayed in hotels in Cardiff for double the price which have been awful. I would recommetd this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff -South Wales
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2013

Was recommended to try the Cefn Mably Hotel for a meal ( new owners). "Wow excellent value for money. Food was way about the standed one would have expected. Greeted by young man at the bar who was very polite and pleasant. Huge menu so much choice, I had Gammon it was excellent and boy oh boy what a portion. Others in my group tried the "Chicken Cymru" all of them praised it saying how tasty it was. We were interupted a few times by the bar man checking all was ok and could he get us drinks - "great service". Well done we will be back for sure.
Huge value for money and great service thank you.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jerry28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, Yorkshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2012

Stayed at the Cefn Mably Hotel for 2 nights (Sat/Sun), in order to undertake a trip to Lundy Island on the Paddle Steamer Waverley. We travelled by train and the hotel was approximately 15 minutes walk from the station (Penarth). Unless you wish to eat at the hotel, other restaurants and pubs are all in the vicinity of the station and are a 20 minute walk. Check-in took place at the bar and was pleasant and efficient. Our bedrooms were clean and comfortable, but the en-suite bathrooms were a little dated and in need of some refurbishment. We paid the extra £5.00 for breakfast and this was a well presented full cooked breakfast, along with juice, toast/preserves and coffee/tea (other options were available but we did not ask what these were). When we got back to the hotel on the Saturday evening (at approx 2315), music/karaoke was in full swing and was very audible in the bedrooms, however, we had been warned about this when booking, so no complaints on that score. The music stopped shortly before midnight and by 0030, the hotel was extremely quiet. The hotel was in darkness when we returned at a similar time on the Sunday evening. We got an excellent rate by booking via Laterooms and for the price paid considered the Cefn Mably to be excellent value for money. Would stay at the Cefn Mably again without hesitation.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YorkshirePhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penarth
0.6 mi away
The Manor House Hotel
The Manor House Hotel
#1 of 4 in Penarth
149 reviews
0.6 mi away
Glendale Hotel
Glendale Hotel
#3 of 4 in Penarth
94 reviews
2.1 mi away
The St. David's Hotel
The St. David's Hotel
#15 of 73 in Cardiff
3,696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Travelodge Cardiff Atlantic Wharf
7.8 mi away
Ibis Cardiff Gate
Ibis Cardiff Gate
#28 of 73 in Cardiff
565 reviews
3.4 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cefn Mably Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cefn Mably Hotel

Property: Cefn Mably Hotel
Address: 1 Lavernock Road, Penarth CF64 3NW, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Vale of Glamorgan > Penarth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Penarth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cefn Mably Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cefn Mably Hotel is easily reachable from M4 and Cardiff Airport. The Hotel is located very near Penarth centre and just 10 minutes drive to Cardiff City Centre, Millenium Stadium as well as Cardiff’s biggest shopping centre John Lewis. If you wish to visit Millenium Opera or relax and enjoy a chic, cosmopolitan atmosphere at Cardiff Bay Mermaid Quay it is also 10 minutes drive from the Cefn Mably Hotel. You can enjoy tranquility sea views from Penarth peer or just stay behind for a drink and a meal at Cefn Mably Pub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Priceline so you can book your Cefn Mably Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cefn Mably Hotel Penarth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing