We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Food - Fabulous Staff”
Review of Romeo By The Sea

Romeo By The Sea
Ranked #7 of 71 Restaurants in Penarth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$37
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Penarth - Vale of Glamorgan - Wales
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“Fabulous Food - Fabulous Staff”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

My wife and I (as a couple, as a family, and with friends) have been frequenting this Restaurant for 20 years - although under three different names and three different owners. It has been 'Zio Pin', 'Mediteraneo', and now 'Romeo's by the Sea'. One of the marvellous things about this restaurant is that even across different owner they have kept our personal pizza listings on the kitchen wall. Try order an 'Il Dottore' or a 'La Dottoressa' and you will get the pizza of a lifetime. The 'Il Dottore' come with: fresh tomatoes; mushrooms; spinach; pesto; ham; onions; garlic; dolcelatte; capsicum; and extra mozzarella. The staff are always very friendly and one of the waiters sings Italian songs. The view is delightful and the atmosphere is warm and welcoming.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank il_padrino_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    153
    76
    26
    14
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

I came from bridgend to penarth for the day and came across this lovely little restaurant. And As I read these reviews it makes me angry as people are writing horrible things when they don't need to. I sat outside and did not by any means feel like the staff didn't pay me enough attention. To be honest when you're at a restaurant the thing you like to do most is order your food and drinks and then chat to whoever you're there with. Not have the staff standing over you. Watching everything you do. The food was 15/10!! Absolutely delicious ! Drinks were fair priced. And in reaction to the person who wrote it cost £6.95 for a glass of wine ? Well I didn't get charged that! So I think someone's making things up! I will go there time and time again and I will recommend to my family and friends.
Nicest Italian I've been to in a while !

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank ThomasLukeRyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Beside the sea”
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

We ate here last week, the meals were average, we had the two course lunch offer, the choice was good. We sat outside, lovely setting right alongside the sea, the staff were friendly but not attentive when needed, maybe this was because we were outside, however, we enjoyed the lunch.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Jill T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“great value for an enjoyable lunch”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We came across Romeos by accident after a trip to Cardiff to buy a car. We then decided that as we were so close to the sea we would go to Penarth( as coming from inland Britain and my wife loves the sea). Once we saw the waterfront my wife was instantly starving and we stopped at the first parking space we saw. Romeos was the first eating establishment that appealed so we perused the menu and noted the lunch special for £9.95 for two courses. The menu was varied and allowed all three of us to select to our individual tastes, the food was promptly served, delicious and drink prices reasonable. We had a relaxed lunch with good service and were all so pleased that we felt we had enjoyed an excellent Italian lunch in a style we know from experience was like eating in Italy. Well worth the trip to Wales!!!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joe A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Over priced and old out-dated environment ”
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

This was my first experience eating at the restaurant and definitely will be my last.

An elderly loud, pushy and flamboyant gentlemen which I believe is the owner would not stop flattering until you ordered his scallops (3 pieces) at £8,99.

The main course was bland and lacking quality as the meat, pasta was all overpowered by the generous dump of sauce on the plate.

This place looks run down and in need of refreshing. I can't understand why people actually would eat here as Pier 64 and Custom House are by far more classy and value for money.


Helpful?
2 Thank Bnaicker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Romeo By The Sea also viewed

Penarth, Vale of Glamorgan
Cardiff, Southern Wales
 
Penarth, Vale of Glamorgan
Penarth, Vale of Glamorgan
 
Penarth, Vale of Glamorgan
Penarth, Vale of Glamorgan
 

Been to Romeo By The Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing