We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best fish and chips in penarth”
Review of Plassey Fish Bar

Plassey Fish Bar
Ranked #41 of 71 Restaurants in Penarth
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
UK
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“best fish and chips in penarth”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

When we first move to penarth we tried a few fish and chips places, but this is the one we always go back to now.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank miwzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    8
    11
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Penarth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“remarkable”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

There is a big wait on busy nights, and there is a mix up with food sometimes but overall nice fish and chips. Reasonable price but it could use some cleaning up .

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank lily g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best fish and chips”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We love this fish shop although we don't live near we travel there as many times a s we can. Driving down to the sea to eat it.
Always fresh and lovely crispy batter.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Bessywales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penarth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Excellent Service and Food”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

This is probally the best fish and chips I have tasted and good customer service, the shop seems to be open early and late.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank JLG358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Poor fish but smashing chips”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

This establishment serves all the usual chippie type food. If you catch them at the right time the chips are the best you will ever taste, but sometimes, I think the lunchtime leftovers are revoked and served. The fish is ok, but you can't get it out of the paper without losing most of the batter. They cook delicious onion rings in batter, which are rare, and there are all the usual pies, pasties, sausages, save lots, mushy peas, gravy and two types of curry. Lots of soft drinks to choose from too. It's ok, but if you live in Penarth, I would strongly recommend the Chippie on Cornerswell Road - the fish is cooked to order and delicious.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jillabong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Plassey Fish Bar also viewed

Cardiff, Southern Wales
Penarth, Vale of Glamorgan
 
Cardiff, Southern Wales
Penarth, Vale of Glamorgan
 

Been to Plassey Fish Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing