We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location and friendly staff, but rooms dirty, dated and in need of refurb”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Glendale Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Glendale Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Penarth
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Good location and friendly staff, but rooms dirty, dated and in need of refurb”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

The location of this hotel is good: walking distance to the shops, Penarth pier and it only takes you ten minutes to get to Cardiff central by train (the train station is conveniently closeby).

Although the restaurant has undergone renovation and looks appealing, the rooms are very dated. We stayed in a room that was dirty (big cobwebs coming from the ceiling) and looked tired. The decor looks very outdated and why they have not invested in duvets (they only provide bedsheets and a spread on top of that), is a mystery to me.

Neither the lamp above the mirror in the bathroom nor the bedside lamp worked. The electric shower did not work properly: the first morning I had a cold shower with hardly any water coming out; the second morning was slightly better but the shower kept switching on/off with the result of either cold or scalding hot water coming out.

The breakfast is ok, but the eggs and mushrooms lacked seasoning, the sausage was undercooked and the bacon was very fatty. All in all not great.

I could have a lived with all of this where it not for the whopping 115 GBP a night I paid. I have stayed in far better hotels that were less expensive. I would not recommend this hotel and I do not plan to stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edddyhotelinspector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    25
    14
    19
    14
See reviews for
22
29
1
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lake District, England
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

Having stayed there for 1 night I would not again. The room was very unclean and outdated nothing had been wiped or hoovered the shower was mouldy and had no pressure at all. The TV was about the best thing. Although the radiator was on all night room was very cold so cant blame hotel for that. Breakfast was ok and the young employee was helpful and gave us a discount. Would be an ok hotel if was given a full clean top to bottom but wont choose to stay here again sorry

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ProHotelAdv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Penarth hotels

Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

Stayed here whilst doing a Wales rugby weekend in November 2013.

Positives:

nice area in penarth with a decent pub across the road
minutes walk from train station which in turn takes 10 mins to Cardiff central.
good breakfast.
was allowed to check in from 1 p.m which was an hour earlier than advertised.
room was big, warm, clean and airy.
nice staff.
plenty of street parking

Negatives:

walls were thin.
only 1 chap serving breakfast on the Sunday morning and he was forgetting to wait on us and we had to find our own cups, condiments, and cutlery.

All in all, a good stay and I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for room 7.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan99C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ammanford, Wales, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

Just come back from spending the weekend at Glendale and I'm glad I didn't read these reviews first...." I must have stayed in a different place we had a fab time tony was brilliant room was really nice and clean although it was a bit noisy early in the morning !!!!!!
Looking to go back soon

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jayne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llanidloes, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

POS. 1 helpfull staff, 2 Good breakfast. 3 handy position.

Against. 1 Needs refurb. 2 Pokey on suite. 3. Noise from kitchen extractor. 4. Room stuffy no window adjustment. 5. Had our meals and drinks in The Railway opp. better value! 6 Would not return again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rob E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

When we arrived at the hotel we were handed our keys and told that we would have been shown our room but the staff member was busy.
We were not offered any assistance with 2 big suitcases- a kind hotel guest offered to help us.
Room number 5 has a noisy exactor fan from the kitchen outside the window which makes the room very hot and difficult to sleep.
Overall the cleanliness of the rooms are poor, the windows are filthy and the hotel in general is not user friendly for those with less mobility.
The rooms have been partitioned with thin partition walls and I could hear the person in the next room snoring.
At breakfast on a Sunday morning with a full hotel there was one member of staff rushing around- we were told her colleague hadn't turned up.
The location is brilliant and the staff do try with what they have but don't expect much!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DXBconejita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

Stayed for just one night and was kept awake until the early hours from the noise from the pub across the road, the kitchen extractor and some flapping vent above the bed. The windows didn't shut properly, the shower was a bath tap mixer which was either scalding or freezing. The breakfast was good but not good enough to put up with the quality of the room. if you do book a room check that it is not on the front as the noise is awful.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank antony s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie a, Owner at Glendale Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
Sorry to hear you had trouble with your room. However if you had come to me or a member of staff at the time of your stay ,we would have done our best to make your stay more comfortable, moved you to a quieter part of the hotel for example. It would have been nice to correct what was wrong at the time as after your stay I have no chance to improve your experience. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penarth
0.6 mi away
Cefn Mably Hotel
Cefn Mably Hotel
#2 of 4 in Penarth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Manor House Hotel
The Manor House Hotel
#1 of 4 in Penarth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
1.7 mi away
The St. David's Hotel
The St. David's Hotel
#16 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
2.2 mi away
Travelodge Cardiff Atlantic Wharf
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glendale Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glendale Hotel

Property: Glendale Hotel
Address: 10 Plymouth Road, Penarth CF64 3DH, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Vale of Glamorgan > Penarth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Penarth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Glendale Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Glendale Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glendale Hotel Penarth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing