We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Manor House Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wynford Hotel(Cardiff)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (169)
Filter reviews
169 results
Traveller rating
92
50
12
5
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
92
50
12
5
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschalet roomunderfloor heatingpatio doorspot roastdietary requirementsa family run hotelon arrivalnice breakfastwedding partiesexcellent value for moneya small sitting areahis sonappointed bathroomvegetarian optionsenjoyed my staybreakfast was includedmain building
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
148 - 153 of 169 reviews
Reviewed 5 March 2012

Stayed in the hotel/chalet for 4 nights - The chalet accommodation was very clean and contained everything we could have asked for. The food was superb, the hospitality was excellent and I would thoroughly recommend this establishment. We will certainly return again.

Room Tip: The chalets are ideal for anyone who struggles with stairs as they are located in the grounds of the hotel with just a short walk across to the hotel and restaurant.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Monica T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

Three night stay, chalet room was clean and spacious. Breakfast and evening meal both great tasting and good value. Owner and staff very friendly. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Forestnutster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Stayed in the chalet, two bedrooms which worked well with a single bathroom. Rooms all nice and clean, central kitchen/lounge had two sofa's plus TV with freeview so a nice place to relax as a family when not out and about. High ceilings gave a nice feeling of space with underfloor heating. Owners were very helpful throughout, provided items not on the menu when we arrived as we simply need a snack not a full meal. Conservatory was very nice and Sunday lunch well priced, the rest of the family joined us so 10 of us were served very efficiently, staff very helpful. Main bar menu was also reasonable, £9 for a main meal with choice of starters and deserts. Nice location with field adjacent, mix of old and new. Will certainly be going back.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Simon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2011

We stayed here for one night for a family wedding and had a great time. The reception was in the conservatory which had a good atmosphere. Food was OK - mass catering is difficult but it was all acceptable apart from the vegetables which we all agreed were over cooked.

Breakfast was a good traditional cooked breakfast but just a little too much grease on the plate to be excellent.

The rooms were just what we needed - spacious with a double bed and a small sofa bed which is suitable for up to two younger children. Bathroom was well fitted and clean but lacking finer touches such as nice toiletries. There were patio doors onto a small patio which would be lovely in fine weather.

Altogether a decent hotel for a big family event

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sybil_Ramkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2011

Located on Sully Road, Penarth (which is the busiest country lane in wales) the hotel is a mixture of old country house and new extension and conservatory. We stopped in one of the chalets outside and although a little odd in setup they worked well. The hotel is not really geared for children aged 0-4 and the restaurant is once again very nice and food is outstanding but the other diners won't appreciate kids (it's that sort of place). Rooms are fresh, bar is a little outdated and drinks pricey. It's attempting to compete with de vere, Marriott and Hilton but they dont manage it.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WontyRamsell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandilizmanor, Owner at The Manor House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2011

Thank you for your reveiw, It would seem you enjoyed your stay with us but it concerns me that maybe you felt that we are not *child friendly* nothing could be further from the truth we are quite well known locally for being exactly that, we have a bouncy castle at the weekends during the summer months and often do charity events with various childrens activities including stilt walkers, face painting, spaghetti eating competitions etc. If any of the other guests made you feel that your child was unwelcome you should have brought it to our attention. I am sorry that you found our bar outdated and pricey, we are not a pub or a chain but feel we keep the public areas as nice as we can within our budget - we research drinks prices and we are more expensive than a pub but less expensive than some nearby hotels. Thank you for mentioning the food so positively, it's my husbands passion and he is very particular about every meal that comes out of the kitchen. Thanks for your custom and I hope we will see you again if you are in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews