We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Weekend stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Manor House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Manor House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Penarth
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Weekend stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2012

An excellent venue for a quiet weekend away, set in it's own ground but close enough to civilisation this proved a perfect choice. Helpful, friendly and attentive staff with bar and food prices reasonable all in all a very enjoyable experience.

Room Tip: All the chalets were well sound proofed and suitable for family or friends sharing. Under floor heat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    45
    11
    4
    10
See reviews for
36
51
10
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2012

We stayed here whilst visiting family in Penarth. The hotel was difficult to locate as there are no signs and the road name was covered in hedges. We were allocted a chalet room which I requested be changed as the room smelt damp and the bathroom and showerhead were thick with black mould. A young lady agreed with us and changed our room to another of the chalet rooms at the back of a short corridor. The showerhead was slightly less mouldy but again the room smelt damp and the bathroom had a large amount of black mould around the bath and tiles. The TV was ancient and kept turning off. The bedding was clean. The room had a skylight with no covering, so the room was light at dawn. We had breakfast both mornings which was freshly cooked and served in the main hotel. I had let them know I needed gluten free bread, but they didn't seem to know what it was!! The grounds appear to be being refreshed but the hotel needs a good clean and update even if it is 2 star.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank judeandclive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2012

Stayed for 1 night for a friends wedding, Staff were very friendly and helpful throughout the day and morning after. A great wedding venue that can provide a hog roast, plenty of room for the ceremony, dining and disco. I stayed in a room at the back of the hotel, very large with a sofa, desk, ancient TV set, closet and tea and coffee making facilities. Also an extrodinary number of plug sockets. First impressions were very good, however the smoke detector in my room had been ripped out with wires exposed and the skylight window in these rooms means daylight streams in when dawn breaks. Price was good and more than adequete but I wouldn't stay for more than 1 night.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElleJayCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Manor House to catch up with some friends from Cardiff. It was an excellent base for visiting the area, lovely hotel with really friendly staff. Would definately stay again!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anni276
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2012

superb weekend,great hotel set in a great bit of welsh countryside with fantastic views.
very helpful staff with great local knowledge and advice,able to cater for all types of functions and provide food and services of an excellent standard,would like to visit again without a doubt.
5 STAR.

Room Tip: go for the cottage
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank woz0810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2012

My husband and I stayed at this Hotel for one night in order to attend a family wedding party. We stayed in one of the chalet rooms whilst my father stayed in the main building in a single room. We found both rooms to be very clean and comfortable. The hospitality from the owner and staff was excellent and even though the hotel was full they were still able to find time to be friendly, chatty and accommodating. Breakfast was served in the conservatory and was most enjoyable without being rushed. If you ever need a hotel in Penarth area of Wales the "Manor House" is the place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rita C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

we recently held our wedding at the hotel. the whole day was perfect. the proprietor and staff were very accommodating to all our requests. i would recommend this venue. there is full disabled access.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jane567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penarth
0.5 mi away
Cefn Mably Hotel
Cefn Mably Hotel
#2 of 4 in Penarth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
1.1 mi away
Glendale Hotel
Glendale Hotel
#3 of 4 in Penarth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
2.4 mi away
The St. David's Hotel
The St. David's Hotel
#16 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff West Hotel
2.9 mi away
Travelodge Cardiff Atlantic Wharf
3.9 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Cardiff-Caerdydd
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Manor House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manor House Hotel

Property: The Manor House Hotel
Address: Sully Road, Penarth CF64 2TQ, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Vale of Glamorgan > Penarth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Penarth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Manor House Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Manor House is a family run business we pride ourselves on our friendly service and comfortable facilities. As well as accommodation we also cater for Weddings, parties of any kind, conferences and all family occasions. We have beautiful grounds and plenty of parking space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Manor House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manor Hotel Penarth
The Manor House Hotel Penarth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing