We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Daughters Wedding”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Manor House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Penarth
Reviewed 7 December 2013

I cannot fault the hotel and all the staff, everything was perfect from start to finish,we stayed the night before in a chalet room at the hotel and it was spotless, it had every thing we needed and a good nights sleep, the breakfast was lovely and the morning of the wedding was so relaxing, the hotel staff pulled out all the stops to make Karen and Glyn have the perfect day, they arranged everything throughout the day and all Karen and Glyn and their guests had to do was enjoy it, the day was perfect absolutely nothing went wrong, the owner and his staff can be very proud of themselves and we are so grateful to them, weddings can be a stressful time but at this wedding there was no stress at all. Thank you so much for making their day so PERFECT.

Room Tip: Chalet rooms are quiet, spotless, patio, car parking outside the chalet rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank welshlady467
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandiliz, Owner at The Manor House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2013

Thank you so much for this fabulous review and all the lovely comments, I have passed them on to the staff! We are all so happy that everyone enjoyed the day! xx

Best wishes,
Sandra at the Manor House Hotel, Penarth.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (157)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 157 reviews

Reviewed 8 November 2013

I stayed for one night on a cold wet night in November whilst visiting friends who live nearby. The chalet was warm and inviting and quietly situated at the back of the hotel with its own patio garden and car parking outside. I slept really well in a very comfortable bed and the room was spotlessly clean. I was very impressed with the 'Full English' breakfast the next morning and the staff were friendly and attentive.

Room Tip: If you are offered a chalet instead of staying in the hotel then don't hesitate. Although I have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandiliz, Owner at The Manor House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2013

Thank you for your very kind and generous comments I shall pass them on to the staff xx :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We were a party of 10 adults who booked several rooms for one night after attending a 40th birthday "do" at another location. Can highly recommend this hotel for its great value for money and spot-on attentiveness and service. The rooms were in chalets adjacent to the main building; they were warm, clean and very quiet. We slept well and then had a great cooked English breakfast the next morning. Loved the bacon which the waitress said was sourced locally. Thank you to Fran and Pietro for organizing a minibus for us, too. We look forward to booking again, for our next family reunion!

Room Tip: All members of our party were pleased with their rooms in the chalets. Very roomy and warm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnClarissa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We stayed at this hotel on our way from Aberaeron to Torquay, we wanted to have a look at Cardiff. We loved this hotel. It is a family run hotel and the Italian influence is everywhere. The rooms were really comfortable and most important of all - the bed was very comfortable - our no 1 priority! We had such a good nights sleep - after having a lovely dinner too. It was a good location, staff told us about a nearby railway station, Cogan we could park at and two stops we were right by the Stadium. We wished we had allowed more time for Cardiff, it really has a lot to offer and we did not even get to the Bay. Before we got to the hotel we had a coffee at Marco's at Barry! Very Gavin and Stacey!! Good coffee and amazing cakes too.

Room Tip: You wont go wrong with any room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosemary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Had booked a meal for 1.00pm. Arrived for pre drinks at about 12.30pm and refused entry. We were told they were not ready and to stay outside (lucky it was not raining). Not offered a drink or apology. Aggressive owner who needs to learn some manners. My partner was very upset. We are locals and we will never go there again or recommend venue.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Service
3  Thank Clinton50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandilizmanor, Owner at The Manor House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2013

In fact you arrived at 12.10 and it was explained to you that we were not yet open.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Went for a wedding, the rooms were lovely and spacious and clean although TV was a bit small and far away! Service was exceptional. Breakfast was also very nice. Would definitely go back. Really nice place.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeighM1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013

We went to a friend's 50th birthday party and this hotel was a great choice for the venue. Service was excellent and staff friendly. Hog roast dinner was very tasty and the breakfast was good. It was also very good value for money. We had a great time.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Will R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penarth
0.5 mi away
Cefn Mably Hotel
Cefn Mably Hotel
#2 of 4 in Penarth
6 reviews
1.1 mi away
Glendale Hotel
Glendale Hotel
#3 of 4 in Penarth
103 reviews
2.3 mi away
The St. David's Hotel
The St. David's Hotel
#16 of 74 in Cardiff
3,927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
The Mount Rooms
The Mount Rooms
#4 of 5 in Barry
73 reviews
3.7 mi away
Lincoln House Private Hotel
1.2 mi away
Holm House
Holm House
#1 of 5 in Penarth
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Manor House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manor House Hotel

Address: Sully Road, Penarth CF64 2TQ, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Vale of Glamorgan > Penarth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Penarth
Price Range: £70 - £173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Manor House Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Manor House is a family run business we pride ourselves on our friendly service and comfortable facilities. As well as accommodation we also cater for Weddings, parties of any kind, conferences and all family occasions. We have beautiful grounds and plenty of parking space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Manor House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manor Hotel Penarth
The Manor House Hotel Penarth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing