We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little gem of a hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Manor House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Manor House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Penarth
Certificate of Excellence
Devon UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A little gem of a hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2009

We stayed here for 2 nights having been told on booking site that it was fully booked, persevered and rang direct to be told they did have rooms! The welcome we received was warm and relaxed which was just what we needed after a long, late drive. Dinner was lovely, room spacious and spotless and staff were so helpful. Even made my hubby some sandwiches to take on his fishing trip next day before we arrived! ( i had asked earlier in the week if this was possible).
Breakfast fairly basic but delicious and promptly served in wonderful conservatory overlooking a very pretty garden.
As an alternative to staying in a chain hotel in Cardiff itself this was not only less expensive, it has character, a warm welcome and a decent breakfast. A lovely spot to spend the day simply chilling out too.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gloria700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    45
    11
    4
    10
See reviews for
36
51
10
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
West Midlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2009

Stayed there due to the Ashes Cricket v Australia as couldn't find accomodation in Cardiff itself. Bit out of the way from Cardiff itself but for approx £10 you are there in 10 mins.

Had chalet room at back of hotel - very spacious and enough room for 3 grown men ! Room was clean and tidy and new towels provided each day and beds made. Breakfast was just about enough but very good all the same.

Best thing was the friendliness of all the staff - more than helpful and good fun too made it a very comfortable stay.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank andyb2274_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
warwick
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2009

I stayed at the manor house last tuesday,amidst the terrible snow we have beeen having,i arrived at around 6pm,very dar k but found it very well lit and welcoming,i was in a large van and the parking easy and spacious,which is a great plus for me,i checked in and was told i was having room 4,what can i say fantastic,clean modern and soo warm,after a stressful day this was heaven and an absolute bargain,beleive me,travelling around with work i have stayed in some terrible places which are a lot more expensive.around 7pm i decided to go to th main house for a bite to eat.2 courses 10.95,i thought i,d give it a try,absolutely fab,so good as i am writing this i have just booked again for tommorow evening,for me a women travelling away from home on my own i found this to be very comfortable and safe,unlike larger hotels where single travelling business men seem to congegate,i will now be staying here every time i,m in the wales area.

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank chezbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
51 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2009

Had a good stay here. It is about a 10 minute taxi ride from Cardiff city railway station - in the countryside practically which was nice.

We stayed in the new "stable" rooms at the back of the main house. Rooms were modern and new and well maintained.

Breakfast was standard (hot and continental). Staff were great.

Only thing to note is finding a late taxi (after 2am) in Cardiff is near impossible. You NEED a taxi to get to this hotel and hopefully a driver who knows his way around too - not easy to find we found on the Saturday night.

  • Liked — Modern rooms and cleanliness
  • Disliked — Location: too far away if youre looking at spending long nights in the city
  • Stayed November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vitz6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2007

Stayed for a weekend in 07 . It looks nice from the outside . When my family got there , there was a wedding in full swing . The language coming from the bar area was awful . When i said "Calm it down boys i have kids" . I was met with a bit of abuse . The barman said nothing .

The room was ok . Smelled a bit damp for my liking near the sink. The noise of the wedding was terrible .

Not helpful staff and the hotel was dirty the night after .

I would not stay here unless you 19 and single and like bad language . The owner seemed nice however .

  • Liked — The outside of the building
  • Disliked — The bad language my kids heard
  • Stayed January 2007, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bigbear01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penarth
0.5 mi away
Cefn Mably Hotel
Cefn Mably Hotel
#2 of 4 in Penarth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
1.1 mi away
Glendale Hotel
Glendale Hotel
#3 of 4 in Penarth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
2.4 mi away
The St. David's Hotel
The St. David's Hotel
#16 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff West Hotel
2.9 mi away
Travelodge Cardiff Atlantic Wharf
3.9 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Cardiff-Caerdydd
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Manor House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manor House Hotel

Property: The Manor House Hotel
Address: Sully Road, Penarth CF64 2TQ, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Vale of Glamorgan > Penarth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Penarth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Manor House Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Manor House is a family run business we pride ourselves on our friendly service and comfortable facilities. As well as accommodation we also cater for Weddings, parties of any kind, conferences and all family occasions. We have beautiful grounds and plenty of parking space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Manor House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manor Hotel Penarth
The Manor House Hotel Penarth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing