We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favourite restaurant in Penarth”

El Puerto Restaurant
Ranked #10 of 71 Restaurants in Penarth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$67 - US$67
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Favourite restaurant in Penarth”
Reviewed 1 September 2014

Love this place we have been customers here since it opened and before that in St. Mary St. I like the food, the waiters-I would like the bill to be halved but hey life is short!!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    195
    100
    52
    46
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed 28 August 2014

I brought guests for business dinner. Nice ambience.
The food was good. You go to the counter where you select and order your food.
A good selection of seafood. I had the scallops as starter and steak for main course. Lovely food.
Will visit again.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jimmy Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“A special place”
Reviewed 27 August 2014

I've eaten at El Puerto on four occasions and have enjoyed the experience very much. Having bored my husband on the subject, I thought it only fair to take him there, so with two friends we visited for lunch on a Saturday in early August. We were given a warm greeting and shown to a table by the window with a wide view across Cardiff Bay. As ever the choice of food was amazing, everything looks so good, and it is always difficult to chose. We all opted for the special lunch which is exceptional value, especially considering the quality of the restaurant. Drinks were served quickly and we went to chose our lunch. The array of fresh meat, fish and vegetables is amazing. Everything we ate was so fresh, wonderfully cooked and presented, and utterly delicious. The service was attentive but not overbearing, and the surroundings are just beautiful. El Puerto is now a favourite of both of us, and our friends - it is a very special place. I just wished we lived closer!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Belvedere007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
“Food ok service shocking”
Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

The service was terrible!! The waiters there are arrogant and rude. Not once did they ask if we needed drinks and hardly payed much attention to us even tho we were a table of 15.

Food wise it was average. Would have thought for the price your paying it would be much better.

Very disappointed

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llanelli, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A great steak”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Recently ate here on a Friday evening. Booked via the internet before we arrived, although I am not sure that our booking was actually there when we arrived. It wasn't a problem as it wasn't too busy. We were given a table for 4 although we were only 2 which was great. We both ordered steaks which were excellent, salad bar was good, although it is very dark in that area, so difficult to appreciate all that was on offer. Good busy atmosphere, service was efficient and we enjoyed a great evening

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank franber38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Puerto Restaurant also viewed

Penarth, Vale of Glamorgan
Cardiff, Southern Wales
 
Cardiff, Southern Wales
Cardiff, Southern Wales
 
Penarth, Vale of Glamorgan
Cardiff, Southern Wales
 

Been to El Puerto Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing