We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely beautiful.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mill Valley
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Steep Ravine Cabins
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
42 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Absolutely beautiful.”
Reviewed 25 September 2012

These cabins are picturesque, surrounded by hiking trails and situated a short walk from the beach. We saw lots of wildlife: deer, rabbits, newts, pelicans, starfish. There is a town a short drive away if you need any supplies, and firewood is sold on-site. We would love to stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank halseyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    5
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
9
9
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

We had a fantastic three nights at Steep Ravine. Reservations are hard to come by and we reserved 6 months in advance--plan ahead! Cabins were very comfortable, especially since it was just two of us. It rained quite a bit during our visit, but we didn't mind with a dry roof over our head and a warm fire in the stove. When the sun came out, boy was it glorious. We will definitely be coming back.

They are cabins, but very basic cabins--think of it more like camping but with a cabin instead of tent.

A couple of thoughts/suggestions to echo what other reviewers have said:
1. Bring a squeegee to clean the windows so that you have a clearer view of the ocean.
2. There are mice and they poop all over the place, so secure your food and cooking supplies every night. Put them in a tub or container.
3. There are BBQs outside the cabins.
4. Bring sheets for the windows--some one had suggested this in another review and I'm glad we saw that. The cabins are close and there are windows on both sides, so if you want any privacy, you need to bring sheets. It was easy to hang them.
5. Bathrooms are two individual unisex bathrooms with a sink and toilet (with running water but no hot water). Very clean, private, and convenient.
6. There is firewood for purchase at the campground for $6/bundle but no kindling.
7. Stinson Beach is a very close drive away if you want to eat out or grab something from the store. Stinson Beach Market is very well equipped with yummy food, fire wood, propane, kindling, snacks, local/organic produce, ice, etc.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
32 Thank dreamtree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

We were lucky to book one night in February as these cabins are very popular. The weather was perfect and the views were amazing. We enjoyed the sunset from outside of our cabin.
My family was dubious about staying at a cabin with no electricity or running water in February but we lucked out on the weather and everyone had a great time. Great experience!

Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank CalifoniaMO4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roseville, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2011

I stayed in the cabins in early December, and even though it was cold, it was wonderful. The views from the cabins were absolutely breathtaking. There are about ten charming, rustic cabins there that were built in the 30's. Inside each cabin is a few sleeping platforms that would probably sleep 4-5 people (depending on their size), a kitchen prep area, a small picnic-style table, and a wood burning stove. With a fire going in the stove the cabin got so hot I was sweating. I found the space perfect for a long weekend with friends. There are plenty of trails nearby for hikers of all abilities. The only thing I can think that would have made it not so great would have been if it was foggy (it was very clear the weekend we were there). Very tough to go wrong staying at steep ravine!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank cgazzolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2011

We weren't sure what to expect in December, but this campsite was spectacular. The views are amazing, the cabins are wonderful (4, 7,8) and the wood burning stove kept us fairly warn all night.

Room Tip: Cabin #4 has the best views and is the most secluded.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 12345jen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2010

I stayed here a few months ago on a solo trip up the coast from Long Beach and I wasn't disappointed at all. I had camp #5, probably the furthest away from all the rest of the tent sites and it was great. The campground didn't turn up to be full as the reserveamerica site said, so there was plenty of peace and quiet around. Bathrooms were super big, clean, and didn't smell at all. Oh, did I mention that you're right on the cliffs facing the bay? It is simply breathtaking and hope to someday come back and stay longer.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
Helpful?
10 Thank 102210d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Rafael, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2010

Pretty much sucks. Better off staying in Stinson Beach.

Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank DAnders07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mill Valley
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area
3.5 mi away
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
#1 of 5 in Mill Valley
529 reviews
6.3 mi away
Casa Madrona Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Cavallo Point
Cavallo Point
#2 of 4 in Sausalito
952 reviews
6.4 mi away
Hotel Sausalito
Hotel Sausalito
#4 of 4 in Sausalito
283 reviews
7.0 mi away
Waters Edge Hotel
Waters Edge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Tiburon
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Steep Ravine Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steep Ravine Cabins

Property: Steep Ravine Cabins
Address: 801 Panoramic Hwy, Mill Valley, CA 94941-1788
Region: United States > California > Marin County > Mill Valley
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Mill Valley
Number of rooms: 17
Also Known As:
Steep Ravine Cabins Hotel Mill Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing